We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with faultless service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with faultless service”
Reviewed April 21, 2009

This is a lovely hotel in a great area.One of the best we have stayed in in Edinburgh.
Our room at the back was very clean and quiet with a great shower as well as a bath.
The Scottish breakfast (including for once a vegetarian option)is cooked to order,and after years of eating buffet breakfasts it made us realise how inferior they are.
The Freeview box and DVD player were a welcome addition to the usual TV options offered.
We will definitely return to this hotel on one of our many visits to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gardennat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,022
    239
    70
    18
See reviews for
304
1,318
83
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 17, 2009

My husband and I spent 10 days in Edinburgh at the Apex. The location is great, in an area that is very close to the castle and near some great restaurants. The room was very comfortable and clean. A room in the back of the hotel is probably best because the area in which is located can be a bit noisy at night .

The one complaint is that the continental breakfast is too expensive and one day there was very little food left by the time that we got down there. There are so many other places to eat in the area that you should skip the hotel breakfast for another venue.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yoga-lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,094 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 603 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2009

As everyone else has pointed out this hotel is extremely well located in central edinburgh..I was on my own and i was given a double room.For me it was fine but for a couple might have been a squeeze.I did not like the fact that there was a curtain drawn along three quarters of the outside wall to hide a blank wall.This meant that if you were given Room 2140 you had to keep the lights on whenever you were in it.The bathroom was fine save that there is a large shower and small bath whereas i prefer it the othjer way around.The buffet breakfast was ok,for some reason cooked breakfasts are served by waiter.On one day i got no toast the next day it was not cooked

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Apex City Hotel for two nights at the beginning of April 2009.

The location is the best selling feature of the entire hotel. As stated by other reviews, it is in walking distance of the Castle, Royal Mile, bus stops and even the train station (if you are willing to endure a long uphill trek). The staff was extremely friendly and willing to answer all of our questions and give recommendations for dinner. We were also able to check-in early (11:00) which was greatly appreciated.

We booked a standard room. The room was small (as expected), but was more than sufficient. My one complaint is that the room had not been dusted in quite some time and the sheets were very scratchy. The room seemed to have fairly new furnishings and complimentary bottled water. Our view was of a parking lot, so we kept the drapes closed the entire time. Fortunately, we did not experience any noise from the parking lot or street. Also, the room had complimentary WiFi.

Overall, I would highly recommend this hotel based on the prime location.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Great hotel right next to the buzz of the city. Contemporary design;room not huge but sufficiently clean, excellent service, and great view of the castle!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimspil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Stayed for 3 nights for city break with wife. Excellent choice. Couldn,t fault the location on Grassmarket within easy reach of most sights and a multitude of eating and drinking establishments. Staff friendly and helpful, restaurant, particularly the buffet breakfast very good and the room was clean and comfortable. Would recommend without hesitation and return ourselves in the future.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Herbert-Travels-Well
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2009

Stayed at this hotel with friends for 3 nights and we all agreed this was a great hotel in a great location. The room, breakfast and service were excellent.
There are plenty of bars and restaurants within a few hundred yards all serving good value food and drinks. The best pub in Edinburgh the Bow Bar is only a a short distance away which serves real ales and a cracking selection of single malts. Also try the OINK OINK take away opposite the Bow Bar for a wonderful hogroast roll. One last thing, don't miss out on visiting the Royal Yacht Brittannia, this must be the best attraction in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnnyHarpenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,372 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,095 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Hotel.de, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing