We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hotel & The Staff make it” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hotel & The Staff make it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our second stay at the Edinburgh Apex City. The staff are great and so attentive so keen to help you out, find you places that you are trying to locate, giving advice. The breakfast is really good with a lovely choice I'd be surprised if anyone struggled. Sadly I didnt try the pancakes.

The rooms are very comfortable and clean. My only disappointment was that there is no air conditioning which did leave me awake all night due to the heat in the room. Then I opened the window to let in some air and the noise was pretty noisy all night long from people going home after drinking. At one point there was a man urinating right outside our window (We were just at the side of the hotel). If you dont like noise a rear room would be better but you wouldnt get the lovely view of the castle.

Fantastic stay though overall thanks

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel may be quieter as the hotel is very central and it does stay noisy th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jessoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Jessol,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding our hotel and staff and very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the variety of breakfast that we off. I have got to say that the pancakes and crispy bacon are my favourite. I do take on board your comments regarding the air conditioning and hopefully this is something that we might be addressing in the near future but I'm sure you appreciate that we very rarely need this in our climate. You are quite right in that the rooms at the back of the building are indeed very quite but you do miss out on the view.
Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the Apex City in the near future.
Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,320 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,058
    959
    220
    67
    15
See reviews for
277
1,240
71
207
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (425)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
TOWLAW
Level Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Love this hotel, great rooms excellent location.Not far away from Royal mile, Princes Street,although you are close to all the attractions, I find the location of this hotel tranquil. It has some excellent restaurants & bars on it'r doorstep. The breakfasts are excellent, loads of choice, Full Scottish lovely, last time I stayed I had the smoked haddock & poached egg really good. Hopefully I will stay hear again very soon :) I have stayed in this hotel 4 times, I really recommend it :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisatowlaw1821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Lisa,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City and I am pleased to see that we met your expectations again. I have passed over your positive comments regarding breakfast to our chef's, it's always great when guests take the time to tell us when we are doing things right.
Thank you again and hopefully we will see you in the near future.
King regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

We booked this not really knowing Edinburgh. It was in a great location and we could walk everywhere so it saved us lots on transport. A wee bit noisy from outside but no more than you would expect for a city centre location.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Dear Peter B,

Thank you for your review and I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Apex City, hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind regards
Lisa
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiel, Germany
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

It is very good hotel. We are stay here with two children's. It was a comfortable rooms, very friendly personal and a good atmosphere inside. It also the swimming pool and gym that include in the price, but it in the neighbourhood hotel. Very good location. The manager with the glasses ( Sorry I didn't see the name) was very friendly and help to us a lot. Thanks...

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DimaKadima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Dear Dima

Thank you for posting a very nice review following your recent stay at the Apex City hotel. I was really pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found Vinni, my duty Manager, to be helpful. I know he will be pleased you mentioned his name and I will make a point of passing him a copy of your review.

If you return to Edinburgh in the future I do hope you will come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and found the rooms far too stuffy,should turn heat down, also staff not interested. breakfast good, but could be more veggie frielndly.
won't stay again prefer air con rooms and friendly staff.

Room Tip: a bit noisy and rooms over heated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lynne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Lynne

I was very disappointed to read your recent review of the hotel. I am sorry you found your room warm. We have now turned the heating down to minimum levels as the weather appears to have improved. Of particular concern to me was your comment regarding my staff. If you have a look at the many reviews complimenting the friendliness of my staff you will, I'm sure, understand my concern that you did not receive the same level of service. If there was a particular member of staff that let me down I would be very interested to know. Should this be the case please be so kind as to drop me an e-mail with their name. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk.

Thank you for taking time to leave feedback and I will make sure that my staff are aware of your review.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Great service, great location, friendly helpful staff, breakfast was excellent and had good choices.
We ate in the hotel restaurant at night and the menu selection was very good. The room was clean and tidy and had a very comfortable sleep.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abduljalil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a positive review following your recent stay at the Apex City hotel. It was good to read that you enjoyed your meal in our restaurant and found plenty of dishes to select from. I'm unsure whether you managed to sample our 2 for £30.00 menu offering the opportunity for two people to eat 3-courses for just £30.00? If not hopefully you will return in the near future and find the time to give it a try.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had a nice three night city break staying here. Conveniently sited hotel within minutes of the Royal Mile and most tourist attractions. Lovely, friendly staff who were only too happy to make our stay more comfortable. Our only grumble would have to be the rooms decor was perhaps a little slapdash (smears of paint on some varnished surfaces and glass) otherwise it was a great place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Jason

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review following your stay. I do appreciate your kind comments about my staff and will pass on your praise. I have also noted your comment regarding the painting smears in the bedroom you occupied. If you have a spare moment it would be very kind if you could drop me a quick e-mail advising which room you stayed in - that way I can ensure my Maintenance Manager carries out any remedial work required.

My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk and I look forward to hearing from you.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,160 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#21 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,515 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing