We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the little touches!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #43 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Loved the little touches!”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We just got back today, 15th after a 3 night stay. I have to say I didn't know what to expect as was a present from my boyfriend. I couldn't have been happier.. Brilliant location, friendly staff, clean open and fresh decor. I especially loved the little touches like the galaxy hot chocolates in the room, still and sparkling waters, selection of teas.. Really good hair dryer not the usual tiny ones I normally get in hotels.. Walk in shower aswell as a bath and my favourite.. A rubber duck! We ordered room service for breakfast on two mornings.. Great selection of food and plenty of it too.. The young lady who came up with our breakfast was incredibly friendly also it was only a pound or two for this service altogether which is amazing compared to other hotels. The rooms were immaculate, great big tv and lovely big heated towels.. All in all I can't say enough, couldn't have been happier.. Would definitely stay here again and again.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Grainne-car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review of the Apex City hotel. I am glad you had a great time in Edinburgh and hope you are looking after Bobby - our little green duck? Please remember that Bobby gets lonely without friends and you can always pick up a little brother or sister for him when you stay at any Apex hotel (I have heard that Bobby has a particular fancy for Shirley - the little red duck from our Temple Court hotel in London).

I do appreciate you taking the time to review the hotel and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,135
    1,034
    242
    71
    18
See reviews for
309
1,331
89
223
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Armagh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

Booked my room in March 2013 for the highland show booked the city double because had the same room in 2011 and the differences were vast. The 2011 room was very spacious with a very big bathroom and a great view of the castle. Whereas in 2013 the room was half the size with slanted roof and my partner kept hitting his head when he got out of bed and the bathroom was tiny there was no room to swing a cat and our bags were delivered to the wrong room and the worst thing is I paid more for a tiny corner room

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Dear Kristen

I was disappointed to read that you did not like the room you were allocated for your stay with us last summer. I am just sorry you have taken so long to let me know as I would have been pleased to have had the opportunity to change your room during your stay. Our policy, should a guest be unhappy with their room, is to offer an alternative at the earliest opportunity. Within the hotel we can offer rooms in varying styles and sizes as well as particularly quiet rooms or rooms with a view of the Castle. If you stay with us again please let us know your preference and we will do our best to accommodate.

If you plan to return for the Highland show this year please contact me directly so that I can ensure you receive a similar room to the one you were allocated in 2011. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk.

I do hope that you will stay with us again and afford me the opportunity to ensure you receive a room that is to your satisfaction.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Had a wonderful weekend stay in the apex.
Staff were helpful and very friendly especially the young lady serving us breakfast.
The breakfast was lovely and a huge choice.Rooms a great size and very clean.
A huge plus was being able to use the sauna,steam room and swimming pool at a sister hotel free of charge.
would stay here again in a heartbeat.
Highly recommend this hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Fiona

Thank you for leaving a 5***** star review - postings like this are always great to see as I know our guests have truly enjoyed their stay. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to return again soon and enjoy another break in Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

2 night stay with my daughter on a rugby weekend. Firstly have to commend hotel for not charging sky high prices for that reason. Excellent central situation, easy friendly check in. Our room, 3rd floor, 3129, was large and comfortable. Decor slightly faded but all v clean with large shower, bath, huge towels and v comfortable beds with excellent quality linen. Didn't eat in hotel but had nightcap both evenings. Bar area spacious and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Had a problem with toilet flush late Sat pm. Phoned down, had a call back in 5 minutes and the Manageress was up & had it fixed within 15. Have access to pool I believe in sister Apex also on Grassmarket. Complimentary newspaper. It was service with a smile all the way. Great stay. Quality of service makes the difference.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank scottishtraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for leaving a great review following your stay at the Apex City hotel. I was pleased to read that you had a comfortable stay and found my staff welcoming. My apologies that there was a problem with the flush in your room, however I am glad that the Duty Manager was able to respond quickly and get it repaired.

I do appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at the Apex City Hotel in Edinburgh in Jan 2014 for 5 nights to attend a family wedding. From the moment we arrived we were made feel very welcome. Checking in was quick and our room was warm and spotless. There was a good selection of teas and coffees along with hot chocolate and bottled water which is not available in more expensive hotels. The bed was comfortable, and the room was of an acceptable size. We ordered room service and the staff who delivered it was extremely polite, nothing was too much bother for him. I looked forward to getting into a warm bath following my days sightseeing and shopping which had a heated rail and fresh towels daily. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh and i would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the front of the hotel as the room we stayed in had no view at all of the street bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 336Monkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for "highly recommending" us. Positive reviews like yours are really important to me and I appreciate you taking the time to leave feedback.

Hopefully we will see you again in the future; perhaps in the summer when we do occasionally get a warm and sunny day!!

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at apex city from 4th February for three nights with friends. The rooms were clean warm and comfortable all the staff we came in contact with from when we walked in until we left were lovely and very helpful. Nothing was too much troubled even went over to the shop for semmi skimmed milk for me at breakfast. Thank you to the man on the desk who did this sorry I didn't get your name.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Karen

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and found my staff to be friendly and helpful. I'm also glad that Jacob was able to assist with your request.

I do hope that you will come back and stay with us again soon, and trust that your friends enjoyed their stay as well.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
inverclyde
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Had a pleasant stay at this hotel recently. Staff generally friendly and helpful. Location is excellent,
Had dinner on our first evening which was generally disappointing.Freshness of ingredients could be questioned ? Room was good with all you would need and clean. Breakfast was fine, complimentary am newspapers, and the bright star of service was Angelica from Spain who was soo efficient and genuinely such a lovely person - a credit to this hotel !

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crerand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service you received from Angelica. I will make a point of passing on your praise.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us but have noted that you did not enjoy your meal in Agua. This is disappointing as we normally receive favourable feedback and have been awarded a rosette by the AA. I will ensure the Chef is aware of your comments and if you stay with us again please let me know so I can personally make sure you have an enjoyable meal.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#86 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,407 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,134 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,431 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#51 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,599 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing