We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect location”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Apex City Hotel for 3 nights for a weekend city break. Firstly, the Hotel is in a perfect location, right on Grassmarket Street which is packed with pubs, clubs and restaurants and less than 5 mins walk to The Royal Mile and Castle. The staff were so friendly right from the minute we checked in. I had contacted the hotel in advance and requested a room with a view of the Castle and although the hotel was fully booked they accommodated us no problem. It was also my boyfriends birthday and they had left a birthday card for him in the room which was such a nice touch. Just to note if you want a room with a view it means that you will be to the front of the Hotel which is on a busy street so you will have a lot of noise.
The room was spacious and had the most comfortable pillows! I was a little disappointed that there was no in-room safe or mini fridge though.
If you miss breakfast Billy Mulligan's across the road serves a full fry all day!
I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again if I ever return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jess19811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on the Apex City and I was very pleased to hear that you had a good stay and you enjoyed the Grassmarket. We are very lucky to wake up to such a great view everyday.
Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    1,022
    239
    70
    18
See reviews for
304
1,318
83
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (433)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
northern ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Really liked this hotel. The staff were all really friendly and efficient, bar prices no higher than you would expect and as everyone says the location is great. Bedroom was stylish and spotlessly clean and the bed was the most comfy ever - blissful pillows too! However one thing spoiled an otherwise great stay - it was SO hot. The restaurant was hot, the corridors were very hot and even with the window open all night the bedroom was so hot I barely slept all night - despite the comfy bed. My colleagues said their rooms were the same. However the Edinburgh weather was unreasonably warm so maybe the heating was set for colder weather and as winter descends it will level out. Otherwise I would happily recommend this hotel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank she1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you found your room too hot. As you quite correctly mentioned our heating had been adjusted due to falling temperatures, however there was a short period of nice weather which caught us out. My apologies that you were kept awake by the heat.

I am glad however that you are still happy to stay with us again in the future and If you let me know if you make a booking I will personally ensure you receive an upgrade with my compliments.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed in Sep'13 for four nights as part of a golfing trip. The hotel is simple, functional and centrally located. The rooms are simple yet nicely decorated in a modern style, spacious and clean, and bedding is excellent. Housekeeping is discreet, so you can sleep yourself out! Breakfast service is good. The staff is competent friendly and careful. I couldn't find anything to fault this place, so I recommend it, especially, as in our case, for large golfing parties.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JezzonHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review - I clearly remember your party and do hope you enjoyed the golf, even though it was raining!!

Your kind feedback is most welcome and if you are thinking of returning to Edinburgh again for a 'round or two' please keep us in mind as there are many more courses close by for you to try.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We have stayed in the Apex a few times and each time they just get better and better. Stylish, modern, tasteful rooms. Nice bathroom toiletries that you really want to use, they smell great. Good mixture of teas, which is nice because I normally have to take my own teas. comfy beds,lovely big towels, nice snacks, so much more...

The staff are so helpful and happy! It is so nice to have people around that really do want to make your stay a nice one.

The location is great. When we were there there was a medevial fair on in the grass market, it was lovely. We were down for a special birthday and meeting up with family and the fair just made the days even more special, it helped the weather was really good!

Room Tip: Higher up and you will not get the street noise from the pubs in the Grass market. It is not the lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaCameronDGM, Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to complete such a positive review on our hotel and I am very pleased to hear that you had a good weekend and you enjoyed all aspects of the services and facilities that we offer at the City.
We had fun at the Medevial shows over the weekend with our duck Bobby, check out Twitter and you'll see what I mean.
Thank you again and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back to Apex in the near future.
Kind regards
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel is just perfect. The position is just amazing opposite a whole load of very nice bars and restaurants. The room was an excellent size with a huge double bed which was comfy! I could lie on the bed and gaze out at the castle it was that close.

Staff very friendly.

£10 voucher is a great idea - we put it towards a bottle of bubbly on our last night. There is only a bout 10 spaces in the car park but we had no trouble getting one and it was never full during our stay.

The room and bathroom were very clean with good quality towels.

TV huge flatscreen and with full freeview channels.

If I have to give a couple of developmental points:

*A little more of the complementary shampoo as we ran out - I'll take the blame for one day as I overslept with the DND sign still hanging!
* Our kettle didn't work and wasn't replaced. Not a massive issue as we didn't really bother with tea/coffee anyway.


I really can't fault this place and will definitely stay again of we revisit this amazing city. Location, service and cleanliness second to none.

Room Tip: A side room has an excellent view of the castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGB601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for a really nice review - it is very much appreciated. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and have also noted that your kettle did not work. Please accept my apologies for the inconvenience and I have already asked my Head Housekeeper to double check all the kettles are now working.

I am also pleased that you managed to take advantage of our £10 Food and beverage voucher for booking with the hotel directly - I hope you enjoyed the champagne?

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

It's worth paying extra for a city hotel. The beds were super-comfy, the room a decent size and the water pressure in the shower was excellent. Also, either the rooms are well sound-proofed or the other guests very considerate. My daughter and I stayed in room 4127 during the last week of August and it was wonderful. The included breakfast was delicious, but appeared a little too quickly after ordering to convince me that it was freshly made. I thoroughly enjoyed the abundance of pink grapefruit juice, my favourite. The location was prime and I've already recommended it to my nephew who's planning a visit. On the downside, was woken up prematurely one morning by a member of staff conversing and laughing VERY LOUDLY in the corridor outside our room. Perhaps it's nice to be able to speak with someone in your own language, but please do it quietly? Also, free wifi was VERY fast.

Room Tip: As advised by previous reviewers, I asked for a quiet room. Yes, it was high up and on the side, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superchickie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay. I am pleased you liked your room and found it to be quiet. I'm also glad you let us know you preferred a quiet room thereby giving us the opportunity to arrange a room away from the front of the hotel. I do however hope you will accept my apologies that you were disturbed by members of my staff talking in the corridor. I can assure you I will talk to my Head Housekeeper and get her to remind her staff of the importance of working quietly.

I do appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I stayed here mid July but have just recently joined Trip Advisor, I thought I should leave some feedback as it was such a lovely place to stay for a weekend break. The staff were very helpful in all departments of the hotel. Our room was huge, very clean and the bed was so comfortable - one of the best night sleeps I've had. We had dinner which was lovely couldn't complain about a thing. My favourite part of the hotel was where breakfast was served as the views are stunning. Would stay here again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear Guest

I am so glad you took the time to leave a review now that you have joined Tripadvisor - particularly as you appear to have had such an enjoyable stay. It was also good to read that you would happily stay with us again and I do hope that you find the time in the very near future.

Thank you again for your review.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,373 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,094 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,567 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
308 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing