We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, good rooms.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, good rooms.”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I liked the location, good restaurants nearby and parking for hotel residents. We had 3 rooms and they were all comfortable with modern furnishings. The suite was very good, with a nice shower and a bath. I liked that there was a door separating the bedroom from the lounge (in the suite) and that there were large screen TVs in both rooms. There was a reasonable nespresso type coffee machine as well and plenty of electric sockets to charge all our devices and batteries etc. All this is to be expected in a 4* hotel anyway, but what impressed me most was the service offered by the hotel staff. From arranging taxis, to information about local events and keeping our luggage on the last day while we roamed the city - all excellent.

Room Tip: Choose the suite if they're available. Well worth the upgrade - and cheaper than at the sister W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pranay M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

I really appreciate your very complimentary review and the fact that you have marked us so highly in all areas. I would also like to thank you for your very high praise of my staff - I know they will be delighted.

Please keep us in mind the next time you visit Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,112
    1,003
    231
    70
    16
See reviews for
296
1,298
79
219
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
137 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a coach trip. The location was great for exploring the city. Can't remember the name of it, but there is a wonderful Italian cafe across the street. The staff was always cheery and helpful. The breakfast was very good. The rooms were spotless and modern and well appointed. I would stay there again without hesitation.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BlackLabMom_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit to Edinburgh. I do hope you enjoyed your tour round Scotland and managed to get some decent weather?

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and it is great to know that you would not hesitate to stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The hotel is in a great location to explore Edinburgh, its close to the castle and all the shopping area's and there are loads of good pubs and resturants in the Grassmarket. All the staff were friendly and helpful and the meal we had in the resturant was the best we had in Edinburgh.
All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DoveIpswich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. The quality of food in our restaurant is important to me and we are proud of our AA rosette. I'm glad that you not only enjoyed your meal but found it to have been the best you had during your visit to Edinburgh!

Next time you are in Edinburgh I do hope you will stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I think they upgraded our room, because our bed was massive. We were impressed with the large bathroom with the open shower AND bathtub. The room was clean, bright and we liked the modern decor. The staff at the desk were very pleasant, and we got chummy with the great staff at the bar during the three nights we stayed there. Our favorite part of staying here was eating the scones with clotted cream and jam and drinking tea at the bar/restaurant. The location is great; we were able to walk to the National Museum of Scotland, Surgeons' Hall Museum, and up and down the Royal Mile during the day, and at night there's so many pubs across the street that we lost count of how many pubs we bounced in and out of (but that might have been all those pints that made us lose count).

We liked this hotel so much that we actually visited the front desk during our stay to look into booking another night later on in our trip when we knew we'd be back in Edinburgh, but the date we were in need was unfortunately fully booked.

We chose this particular hotel because it seems that the Apex hotels in Edinburgh all have great ratings here on Trip Advisor, but this hotel was the cheapest of them. It certainly didn't feel like a cheap hotel and we would recommend this hotel and stay here again if we ever find ourselves back in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review about the Apex City hotel. I'm glad you had a good time in Edinburgh and appear to have managed to visit a lot of the local attractions, including the bars!! Having read all the nice things you had to say about the hotel I was sorry to read that the date you wanted to stay with us again was fully booked. I do hope you managed to find a suitable alternative?

Oregon is a long way from Edinburgh but hopefully you will return again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

I had a room on the 3rd floor for one night on a business trip.

The room's key card lock was broken so the lock was a traditional key. The staff were anxious that this was OK and the door needed a bit of a wiggle to close, and not only phoned to check I was happy but had left a bottle of wine in the room too.

The room was large, a modern room, very clean with lovely comfortable bed, great bathroom with separate walk in shower and bath and a little rubber duck. The view of Edinburgh Castle was great and it was only a 10 min walk to Wavely Railway Station in the morning.

The biggest surprise was the evening meal. The food was great, wonderfully well presented and well cooked; scallops with apple puree and apple crisps were lovely, the pork belly with prawns was intriguing but delicious and more jus was quickly brought when I asked for it, and the citrus vacherin, a lemon parfait topped with lime sorbet, garnished with kumquat, meringue & syrup was brilliant. Breakfast was fine, but not as good as dinner. Service was excellent with the waiters, especially in the evening, being friendly, polite and helpful.

I enjoyed my stay at the Apex and would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased that you liked your room and hope you took your duck home with you?

I have already pointed out your kind comments regarding your evening meal to our Head Chef and he has asked me to thank you. When away on business we appreciate that a comfortable room, good service and quality meal are very important and I am glad we appear to have ticked all the boxes.

Thank you again for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to being able to welcome you back to the hotel the next time you are in Edinburgh.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london, england
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

This was a very pleasant weekend! Loved the bar and restaurant, which had an excellent menu. Couldn't fault the room. The staff thoroughout the hotel, particularly in the bar, were most friendly and helpful.
The Grassmarket is an excellent base for exploring the city. Booking direct with the hotel by telephone was much better than booking on-line. I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tafwys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm pleased you had a "very pleasant weekend" with us and particularly enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. I will make a point of passing your praise to my staff. I know they will be glad you found their service and food "faultless".

I do hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heerlen
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My family and I stayed in this hotel over the marathon weekend.

Having stayed in the sister hotel next door (Apex International) we had high expectations and were not disappointed. The check-in was smooth and within minutes of arrival we were in our room. The only gripe I have was the view from the window was of a patch of grass in need of cutting and the building across the way. Obviously this was at the back of the hotel and proved to be quiet, apart from the empty bottles being emptied into a skip during the night. That was so loud that it nearly scared me (and my wife) to death.

The room was very well equipped although there was no safe in the room. The beds were very comfortable, although the pillows were a little soft for my liking. I am sure had I requested a firmer pillow, one would have been provided. The bathroom had a lovely walk-in shower and a separate bath and to top it all, there was an apex duck. There was a duck shortage when we stayed in the International!

On our first night we decided to eat in the restaurant and opted for one of the special deals (2 adults, 3 courses and children eat free for just £30). The waitress (sorry I can’t remember her name) was superb and her recommendations were spot on. She even noticed an error on our bill and had it corrected (in our favour!). Breakfast on marathon day was on early for all marathon runners and supporters which I thought was a nice touch!

Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly, professional, approachable and very helpful if needed. Out of the 2 Apex hotels in Grassmarket, I would have to say the City is better that it’s big sister the International. I would have no hesitation in staying here again the next time we are in Edinburgh, although I would ask for a room with a better view.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Guest

It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and particularly liked your meal in our restaurant.

The next time you stay please let us know if you would prefer a room with a front facing view and that you would like firmer pillows and we will make the necessary arrangements.

I also noted your comment that when you stayed at our sister hotel next door your room was missing a duck. I would like to rectify this for you as I am sure 'Bobby', our green duck is missing his sister, and if you let me know your address I will arrange for 'Austin' to be posted to you. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

Thank you for your kind review and I do hope you will stay with us again next year for the Edinburgh Marathon.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,304 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing