We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel & location!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great hotel & location!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night on 29/03/13 and we had booked through hotels.com! We arrived early and we were aware that we wouldn't be allowed into our room before 2pm however staff were great and said there was a room available. The check in process was very pleasant and staff were very kind and welcoming.

Our room looked over the grassmarket and Edinburgh castle which was a nice surprise, there was a massive bed, nice decor, large flat screen tv & DVD player as well as a dressing area and massive wardrobe space.

We were a room only basis so did not take advantage of the restaurants but I did notice you got some sort of discount for dinner?

There was also free wifi in the hotel.

This hotel is a great location, beautiful inside and out, 5 min walk from old town and about a 15 min walk from waverly train station.

Rooms had to be vacated by 12pm however we were not going home until later that night and we had plans to go to the zoo etc during the day therefore did not want to carry cases around. Staff at reception offered to keep our luggage in a safe place and gave us a token to retrieve it without hassle - free of charge.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank welovetoparty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very nice review of the Apex City hotel. Your rating and comment that we are “highly recommended” is very pleasing to read. I am also glad you found our location perfect for all the attractions that Edinburgh has to offer.

Please do not leave it too long before you come and stay with us again.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,026
    241
    71
    18
See reviews for
306
1,321
86
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed for three nights and couldn't have asked for a better location.
Within walking distance of all the main sights and the local train station so was absolutely perfect.
The Hotel was exceptionally clean and tidy and the staff could not do enough for you.
Friendly and professional staff throughout which helped make our stay perfect.
Location is perfect for the centre of Edinburgh and would definitely recommend staying here for either a short stay or long stay.
Will definitely be staying there again and will definitely recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneC849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for recommending us to your family and friends. Personal recommendation is worth more than any advertising. I am glad you had a great stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renfrewshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this hotel from the moment we arrived. The reception staff were friendly and efficient , the room was spotless and the bed comfortable .
The location is excellent everything within walking distance yet got a great nights sleep as couldn't hear any outside noise.
We were staying here to visit the theatre and when we returned to bar afterwards again staff were friendly and efficient, sitting in the bar looking out on the grassmarket was a lovely end to our day.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEMIMA-D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surbiton, London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for one night whilst on a business trip and got the room for less than half price via booking.com. Even at half price I (on behalf of my employer) felt a little ripped off and probably would have been better off at the Premier Inn!!

The hotel advertises that it provides luxury toiletries but all this turned out to be was the little bottles of shampoo and shower gell. No toothbrush and no disposable shaver, both of which I would expect to get in a 4 star hotel of this cost and very inconvenient having to go out to the shops!

The bed was sprung and lumpy but overall the room was nice and clean, quiet and well equipped with the usual stuff. Wi-Fi was fast.

My room was not facing Edinburgh castle, (the rooms that do cost a lot more) but I feel I should warn travellers that you will only get a partial view due to the buildings on the other side of the road. Not worth the extra $!

Breakfast was expensive, tiny and poor quality... The fried egg had very runny raw white and had to be sent back. It then came out nuked and dry after I had finished the meagre portions of everything else! The small sausage was cheap meat, the beans were Tesco value or worse and the mushrooms were over cooked! Finished off with dry chewy bread roll!

Would not recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R_Winbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was very sorry to read that you were disappointed with your stay. The bathroom toiletries that we offer are all from Elimis and are of a high quality. We can also provide a toothbrush and toothpaste if required and they are available from reception should you need them. We do not place them in the rooms as most guests tend to bring their own. I am sorry you were not made aware of this facility.

As far as I am aware I do not have a record of you requesting a Castle view, my apologies if I am wrong. As you were staying at the hotel for business we automatically placed you in a room to the rear of the building to ensure you had a quite stay. If we had been aware of your preference we would have been happy to move you to the front of the building, subject to availability, where we do have rooms with a full Castle view. These rooms do not incur any additional charge. We also have suites at the front of the building - which are indeed more expensive, and this may have been what caused the confusion.

I am glad you found your room to be clean and the free Wifi to be fast and easy to use, but am sorry you did not enjoy your breakfast. When booked in advance, or upon arrival, breakfast costs £10.00 but you are welcome to have as much as you like from the cold selection of fruit, meat, cheese etc as well as your choice from the cooked menu - which if delivered to your table. There is certainly no limit to the quantity of hot food available and we are more than happy to offer larger portions or additional items when requested. My sincere apologies that you had to return your eggs as they were under cooked.

If you have a moment I would very much appreciate it if you could take the time to send me an e-mail with a note of a phone number so that I may contact you. I would very much like the opportunity to discuss the problems that you experienced further and try to encourage you try us again the next time you are staying in Edinburgh. My e-mail address is lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk and I do hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Friendly & comfortable hotel with a very central position, parking is a bit of a problem but once there was a space the staff were very helpful, the pillows were a bit soft and it was a good job I took my body lotion! but the staff were great made our holiday much better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BridgetEvon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found my staff to be friendly and helpful. If you stay with us again and need body lotion please just let Reception know and they will arrange for it to be sent to your room. We always hold a complimentary supply just in case a guest requires some.

I do appreciate your kind review and hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Perfect for short stopover visits. Pub and general store opposite. Restaurants a-plenty nearby. Good, simple own menu. Not overpriced like many other Edin hotels!
I have stayed here a couple of times on business, and I will rebook.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg_7Oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

It's great to read that you have used us before and plan to keep staying here. Repeat custom is really important and it is always good to hear that we have satisfied guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great room with a view of the castle in the Grassmarket area. Highly recommend this hotel. Staff very welcoming, rooms very clean. Cracking walk-in shower room. Cost £150 per room per night unless you book with Trivago - got the room for £64. Bargain.

Room Tip: Request a castle view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mazza_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed the great view from your room and found the hotel to be good value for money. Next time you stay with us please remember to check our own website as well as we offer a price match guarantee and also include a complimentary £10.00 food and beverage voucher for direct bookings.

I do appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,379 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,101 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,573 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
312 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing