We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“old town modern hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #42 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Shanghai
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“old town modern hotel”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

This is a great hotel to stay in if you are in Edinburgh and want to explore from a central position. It's in the Old Town, so be prepared to taxi or climb if you trun up by train at the Waverley Station, but if you arrive by car there is a handy car park. The City and the International are close together, but if you've parked and unpacked by the time you realise you are at the wrong Apex, staff are accommodating - we left the car in the bigger car park at the International and walked the few doors along to the City branch. Rooms are pleasantly decorated and comfy for business or a short break.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZhuAnYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City hotel following your recent stay with us. I am glad that you had a good stay and found our location handy for visiting the many attractions Edinburgh has to offer.

I do hope that you will get the chance to visit Edinburgh again in the near future and will consider staying once more at this hotel.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,127
    1,026
    241
    71
    18
See reviews for
306
1,321
86
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2013 via mobile

Myself and my husband are just back from a 2 nyt stay here and I must say this hotel is fabulous!! The staff are very friendly and the rooms themselves are very clean and tidy! Breakfast was delicious both mornings and set us up for the entire day! We will be staying here again next time we visit edinburgh!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauramcl99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your very kind review of the hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and am particularly pleased that you plan to stay with us again the next time you are in Edinburgh.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I stayed here for the weekend and highly recommend it. Staff were friendly, room was modern and spacious, used the £10 voucher on room service which was good but the most importantly the location is fantastic. Close proximity to several good restaurants, pubs and clubs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brosna_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and found time to spend the £10.00 food and beverage voucher we gave you for booking directly with the hotel.

I'm glad you found our location excellent and hope you will come and stay with us again soon.

Lindsay sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I booked this hotel for a weekend away with my Mum. The location is fantastic, but there is a price to pay for the Grassmarket location, particularly at the weekend...and that is the noise!

The twin rooms are all on one side of the building and on our first night we were at the end of a corridor where at least two hen parties were also staying, add this to the noise from the people leaving Grassmarket and it meant I probably had about two hours sleep on our first night. First thing the next morning I went to ask reception whether they had another room we could swap to & they were so, so helpful. They put us on a twin room on the fourth floor, so the noise from the street wasn't so bad and also gave me two sets of earplugs, which tickled me!

The hotel itself does seem to need a spruce, in our first room on the ground floor there were patches of wall that were bubbled from damp and the seal had all come loose around the bath. In both rooms there was such a draft through the closed window that the blinds moved. Had it not been for the central location & the high level of service from the staff I would have said this was a three-star hotel, certainly not a four.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammylou100084
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to reply to my request for information regarding the room you stayed in. As I explained I was unaware of the bubbling paint behind the full length curtains, however I have now investigated fully and discovered that an external pipe was leaking into the wall. This has now been repaired and the bedroom wall painted. I am sorry that we had not picked this up sooner.

It was good to hear that you really enjoyed your stay and found my staff friendly and I do hope that you will return soon.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed here for one night. I emailed the hotel prior to arriving to check if I could leave our bag at reception as our train arrived early. They emailed back to say this was OK. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised that our room was ready at 10.30am and it did have a view of the castle which we had requested. The room was OK, the bathroom was a good size especially the walk in shower. The shower did leak from the hose, but it was adequate. The only criticism is that the room is a little tired - chips off the furniture. Also the carpet could do with a good clean. The bar was nice. We didn't think the drinks were overly expensive although the glasses of wine were more expensive than normal. Can't comment on the food as it was a room only rate. The location of the hotel on Grassmarket was good. The worst thing was the noise, if a large group of people were in reception making a lot of noise this seemed to carry up the stairs and it was like a whole group of people were outside your door. The hotel did provide earplugs on each bedside cabinet so that should have given us a clue! Would I return? Not sure. Maybe, but take my own earplugs.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SASYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I was sorry to read that you found your room to be quite noisy. Unfortunately some of the rooms at the front of the hotel can be a little noisy at the weekends due to our central location. The Grassmarket is a very popular area thanks to the many pubs and restaurants.
Reading your review I am unsure whether you let us know you were unhappy with your room. It is our normal policy to offer guests a room move to a different part of the building if they are not 100% satisfied, as we have many other rooms that are particularly quiet, but don't offer the same views of the Castle.

With regard to the chips on the furniture in your room; if you would be so kind as to e-mail me with a note of your room number I will arrange for my maintenance team to have the furniture repaired immediately. My e-mail address is - lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk

Thank you again for your review and if you stay with us in the future please let reception know when you arrive that you would prefer a quiet room and we will make sure we allocate you a room to the rear of the building.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights to attend a wedding. Receptionist was very friendly and helpful on arrival. Rooms are spacious, clean and well serviced. Location of hotel is excellent and within minutes from many major attractions, as well as the shopping streets. I only had breakfast here the first morning. Choice of continental or full Scottish, which is served at your table. I can highly recommend this hotel for its value for money, friendly staff, clean and spacious rooms and excellent location.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Apex City hotel. I am really pleased you marked us with 5-stars and would highly recommend us. Compliments are always very welcome and I do hope that you will find the time to come and stay with us again in the near future.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, Scotland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here 2 nights whilst attending a course at the sister International hotel just a few doors down.
Good location-10 min walk from train station.
Hotel is nice and modern. Friendly staff at check-in.
Was booked in a twin room which I was going to have to share with another colleague. The beds were pushed together - I was able to move them apart but only about a foot as not a huge room but we coped.
Beds a bit too soft for my liking but I slept well - nice bedding and pillows.
Big wall mounted tv and plenty of storage space.
Loved the bathrooms - nice walk in shower. Elemis shampoo & shower gel but no conditioner or body lotion - I did manage to get a conditioner from reception at the International. Like another poster I suggest popping these items into the room.
The duck is a novel idea - gives them a USP but I would have preferred the body lotion and conditioner to be provided.
Nice selection of teas, coffees & hot chocolate and biscuits.
View wasn't great out the back but didn't mind as it was quiet.
Used the pool and gym at the International hotel. Was very nice and the 3 times I used it I had both to myself.
Only ate at the International whilst attending the course so unable to comment on food served in City. Breakfast was £10.50 or you can order a grab and go bag from £4.50 with a selection of filled rolls and hot drink. I just had my breakfast bars as didn't feel like a big breakfast.
The cost was £80 a night which is not bad for weekday and good to be able to use the leisure facilities at other hotel.
I would return with my friends or family if I got a good deal.

Room Tip: If you want the view then opt for front of hotel. If you want quiet the back I would imagine is best...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luxsey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to make use of the leisure facilities at our sister hotel just down the street. As you quite rightly highlighted some of the rooms to the rear of the hotel sacrifice the view that the front facing rooms enjoy, but do offer an exceptionally quite stay - particularly considering our very central location.

If you would like to contact me by e-mail with your details (lindsay.sturrock@apexhotels.co.uk) I can update your profile to ensure that when you stay with us the next time we ensure that body lotion and conditioner is placed in your room ready for your arrival.

Kind regards

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,379 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,101 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#50 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,573 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
312 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing