We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Looks great and staff really friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #40 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Looks great and staff really friendly”
Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Only downside, no hot water in morning so cold shower. And breakfast was a bit hit and miss. Eggs benaduct sent back twice and still sauce was cold. Staff were helpful but chef needs to impriove. The rooms are lovely and reception area great and really central to everything, just get showered early and avoid breakfast

Helpful?
Thank Janet R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. I am sorry you had a lack of hot water during your stay. Unfortunately we did suffer a minor boiler failure, which has since been repaired, and our hot water supply is now back to normal. I will also make sure my Head Chef is aware of your comments regarding your breakfast so he can make the necessary improvements.

Thank you again for taking the time to review the Apex City.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review

2,437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,113
    1,006
    231
    70
    16
See reviews for
297
1,300
79
220
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2012

We booked a last minute trip to see the opening of the Christmas Markets. Hotel staff were very helpful and we were given a Beautiful Room with a view of the Castle. Large room very clean, great bathroom with walk in shower & bath with Great mini products - Elemis which was a luxury bonus. As we had booked through the hotel we got a £10 voucher to use in the hotel. Excellent location for shopping, bars, restaurants & museums. Lovely Breakfast, great choices if full scottish isnt your thing - which was fab!!
I cant fault this Hotel & will be back soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2bHappy2b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindsay S, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2012
Dear Guest

Great to read that you plan to return to the hotel soon. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay and really appreciate your very kind review.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Just returned from a couple of nights and overall it is a very good hotel. We stayed on a Thursday & Friday night - paid £80 a room and felt that was decent value. Smart, clean hotel with friendly staff. Our room wasn't that big but it was comfortable.

Tip: if breakfast isn't included in your room rate, then you can pay £10 the night before or £13 on the day. The restaurant is fine but I wouldn't have breakfast here. There are loads of cafe's / bistros near by (within 5 mins walk) which will do breakfasts - saves you a bit of money and gets you out and about nice and early.

Best bit of the hotel was location - Grassmarket is a superb location for all the main sights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevesharpe86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Spent a weekend here for my birthday. When we came back to the room after a day spent in the city we found a personal birthday wish from the room cleaning supervisor. What a lovely thought, it really made my day. Breakfast was very nice and they try to fulfill your requests if you have any, they are very pleasant too. I must point out that the bar staff are very helpfull too. I noticed one group of guests thanking them for recommending somewhere to eat. It really is an excellent base for sightseeing Edinburgh too and we will definately be staying here again, and to the cleaning staff I would like to thank them very much for the birthday wish.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nealfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
342 reviews
160 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 547 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just back from a 1-night stay at the Apex City Hotel on Grassmarket. We booked this particular hotel due to its city centre location (especially proximity to the Museum of Scotland, which is a few minuted walk away), and car parking facilities, which is unusual for a hotel this central in Edinburgh.

We had no trouble finding the hotel and were able to park immediately outside on the road for a mew minutes while we checked in. The car park was very small (only space for 7 or 8 cars at a time), but we got the last space!

Our room on the 3rd floor was great, with a huge LCD TV equipped with dozens of satellite channels, queen size bed, complementary tea/coffee-making facilities and table and chair. The wardrobe is extremely small but cuited us as we were travelling light and just there for one night. No in-room safe and a/c was set to heat only (fortunately at this time of year that didn't matter). The en-suite bathroom has a separate bath (complete with rubber duck!) and shower area. Due to the design, it did seem a bit difficult to use the showeer without spraying water all over the floor.

The surrounding area is a well-known, lively party area at night, when the streets are thronged with young people out on the town vising the numerous pubs and bars up and down Grassmarket and Cowgate - some of which are pretty rough looking. Our room was at the back of the hotel, so we didn't experience any real disturbance, apart from when the bins were emptied in the yard at 6am.

The breakfast room was very busy, resulting in a 10-minute wait, but the numerous staff worked hard to clear tables and look after the guests with a smile. Reception staff were also very friendly and efficient and were able to give directions to the restaurant we'd booked.

Overall, a very nice city centre hotel that we'd certainly use again.

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back of the hotel to avoid street noise at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2012 via mobile

The Apex city hotel is a modern, clean, well equiped and cosy hotel in the heart of Old Edinburgh, the Grassmarket. The staff is the best and most friendly I've ever met. Only minus; the bathrooms need a touch up on maintenance here and there, although modern. Good breakfast facilities. Do not hesitate, this is a very good hotel. I will definitely be back.

Helpful?
Thank Lindusen
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
lincolnshire UK
Level Contributor
136 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2012

From start to finish this hotel did what it said it would. We got a really good deal and by booking direct also we were given a £10 voucher to use it the bar/breakfast/dinner. Very clean. Nice quality bedding. Iron and ironing board. Elemis stuff. Bath and large separate shower. Free water, tea,coffee and bikkies. Really quiet at night (it was November and wet though so no revellers about). Good location with view of castle from room. What more do you want?

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,307 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#45 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,068 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#49 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel is located in the heart of Edinburgh’s Grassmarket, just minutes away from The Royal Mile and famous Edinburgh Castle. All rooms and suites provide plenty of natural light, comfort, and space. You’ll also find complimentary luxurious Elemis toiletries, a 42” LCD TV and vanity area with hair dryer and mirror in your room. Upgrade to a City Plus Room and you’ll also find air-conditioning, bathrobes and your very own Nespresso coffee machine. Downstairs, you can relax in Agua Restaurant and Bar. This modern space is set back from the bustling Grassmarket and offers a wide selection of dishes through its all day dining menu including burgers, steaks and pastas. Afterwards, retreat to the lounge and choose from an extensive wine list or sip on an expertly prepared cocktail with Castle views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing