We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hotel restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful hotel restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

In general we avoid hoitel restaurants as we have generally found them very expensive and of very limited quality,

Apex is the exception that proves the rule. Choice of fixed price menu or a la carte or a mixture of the two, Particularly memorable were the cauliflower soup starter and - even more so - the chocolate parfait desert which goes straight into the category of our top 5 restaurant deserts of all time.

Great food therefore combined with an attractive and very comfortable environment and excellent service - all from a hotel restaurant right in the centre of Edinburgh.

Very highly recommended!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tonybennett900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    962
    220
    68
    15
See reviews for
277
1,244
72
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (426)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

In the center of the city, in walking distance to the most prominent landmarks in Edinburgh. But that might be the downside - the Apex City is booked anyway, so they do not really care about the rest.
Actually, I'm hesitand to complain since I think it's always easy to find flaws. But it's the overall attitude which makes me write this rather negative review.
- Room service: Glasses in the bathroom not clean, overall cleaning so-so, Shampoo not refilled as I've seen in other 4 star hotels. Rooms have seen some guests; but overall still pleasant.
- Familiy room: the couch serves as an extra bed. Our 4 year old son is fine on it. But I would not ask anybody taller than 1.20 m to sleep on it - on the lower part there is only a very thin matress and you can feel the grate.
- Employees are not too attentive (breakfast buffet refill, service overall) or not able to help (e.g. access to public computer).
- Beautyful weather makes the rooms very hot. Unfortunately, there's no AC, and the fan provided is not up to the job.
- Hotel was repainted during our stay, so the smell of color was added to the heat in stairways.
- Gym and pool are complimentry, but are located in the Apex International, so you have to leave the hotel and walk a short distance to the other hotel.

Without being cynical: During the false fire alarm around midnight, the staff seemed to be up to the job and was very friendly.

To put it in a nutshell: We already stayed at the Apex City a few years ago, next time I would look for another place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zzxxyy, General Manager at Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex City hotel. I am sorry that we appear to have disappointed on this occasion. From your review I understand that you have stayed with us before and had an enjoyable visit, and as you can see from other reviews we do generally try hard to look after our guests and genuinely care if they are happy. I do hope you will still consider staying with us again the next time you are visiting Edinburgh and if you contact me directly I will ensure that your room is perfect and you have an enjoyable stay with us.

Lindsay Sturrock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with husband and daugher, and we had an enjoyable stay, staff very friendly and efficient, very efficient with breakfast, good breakfast menu. Convenient to everything. The only fault that I would have is the heat in the room and corridor. But I would go back to it and recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IrelandAnony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eire
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights. I loved this hotel. It was very central - we were within walking distance to everything. The staff were very effiecient and friendly. The rooms were big enough and very clean. We had breakfast included in our package and I couldnt fault it. Also we ate in the bar and the food was very good and reasonably priced. The only downside is that the staff in the bar are very slow. I will definately stay here when in Edingburgh in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2nights as we always try and spend a couple of days for the festival. This hotel is in a great location, very central and a superb view of the Castle if you get the correct room! Our room was facing an alley way/houses, this didn't bother us as we knew it could get quite noisy during the festival if you room was at the front with all the bars etc. The staff were very friendly and always happy to help and give information when needed.

The room itself was a decent size and plenty of hangers in cupboard! That is one of our pet hates 2 hangers per room! The bed was 2 singles pushed together and slightly on the hard side. The room doesn't have air-con but they provide a big desk fan which does suffice in the Scottish "summer". The bathroom very clean and spacious with a walk in shower and a bath. Only thing was no free duck as advertised on site, gutted! :(

The corridors were very warm and feel yourself sweating needlessly walking to the elevator.

The rooms are a little pricey but guess that is the fashion to hike the prices during the festival. No real complaints and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank McEwan1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

APEX is well situated for the centre of Edinburgh and is tidy and well decorated , although bed was a bit hard , breakfast was fine and service good , overall a nice hotel , although a bit expensive but it was Edinburgh festival

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thornabyfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2012

We have just returned from a fabulous 4 day stay at the Apex City and we had a fantastic time. Everything was exactly as promised and was perfect for out needs.

Location: right on Grassmarket, with easy access to pubs, restaurants and street acts! Only a short (uphill) walk to the Royal Mile - be prepared - this is Edinburgh and the city is built into, over and above hills!

General: the outside looks a bit foreboding - but the lobby area is cool and welcoming. We enjoyed breakfast (though would probably have liked more than 1 rasher of bacon!) and had a lovely dinner too. All the staff were welcoming and knowledgeable. The common areas allowed a view of the castle and grassmarket area - so we even enjoyed sitting and watching the fireworks after the Tattoo.

Room: we booked a city room and were lucky enough to get a partial castle view which was lovely. No there was no air con - but the hotel doesn't say there is. This is Edinburgh - sunshine is rare and the buildings were generally not designed 10 years ago! There was a fan provided which helped. The bath tub is a standard size (cruise ship? I've been on several cruises and you only get a shower!!) but there is also a massive walk in shower. The Elemis toiletries are a pleasant addition. The shower was hard to get hot with decent water pressure but otherwise it was fine.

Bed comfortable & not forgetting the chocolates and fruit on arrival - this place tries to have nice touches and it works.

Car parking at the sister hotel was very reasonable, though they tell me that this wont be available from next month so do check. Just remember to use the side door if you come back very late (and even then there will be a warm welcome). I wish we had had time to use the spa!

Overall we had a fantastic stay and would be back like a shot. I guess my message to travellers from abroad is to do a bit of research - air con and massive bathtubs are not common in British Cities and you can't judge a hotel purely on this - the Apex is well positioned, excellent service, comfortable, stylish and pretty reasonably priced. We would be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraBarton76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#83 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,168 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#50 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,017 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing