We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Ranked #38 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Cosy hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

This lovely hotel is located in the Grassmarket area of the city which is very central for most tourist attractions and shops in the city. The staff were friendly at reception and the rooms were very comfortable and clean. There was free internet access on our floor which we really appreciated. Breakfast was a little expensive but there were plenty of options around the city centre at more reasonable prices. There are good choices of bars opposite and restaurants nearby. There is also a restaurant at the hotel itself. This is a great hotel for a sightseeing trip and we would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Nice view of the castle in the front or quieter rooms in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Galesa7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,090
    983
    226
    68
    15
See reviews for
287
1,275
76
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (427)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

I bought a 2 night package which included an upgrade to a superior room if one was available. As I was visiting with my daughter we wanted a twin room and unfortunately there aren't too many in the hotel so we didn't get our upgrade.
Our room was on the second floor at the side of the hotel and was rather small. As the hotel is on a hill this meant we were actually at street level and the only way we could glimpse the castle was by pressing our noses right up to the window and looking sideways!
Apart from this disappointment the hotel was good. The staff were very friendly and helpful, the room was spotless and the beds and pillows very comfortable. Complimentary bottles of water and oat biscuits were provided as well as tea and coffee making facilities.The bathroom contained a bath and walk-in shower. The breakfast was included in the package and was very good although I don't think I would pay £13.50 for it.
On the second floor there was a small seating area with 2 laptops and a printer for the use of the guests. Brilliant for printing out tourist information and restaurant vouchers.
The hotel is in the Grassmarket and very well placed to visit the Castle, the Royal Mile and the Lawnmarket. We also made several visits to the shops in the city centre. The walk back from Princes Street and the shopping area is pleasant but mainly uphill and quite steep. There is, however, a bus stop right opposite the hotel. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Snow-Wight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Subic, Philippines
Level Contributor
157 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

Not the cheapest but also not crazy prices. Perfect location, directly across the road from Grassmarket bars and restaurants, view and very close to the castle. Room was good, bed and pillows very comfortable. Car parking was cheaper than most city hotels. We paid £8 per night where as most were between 12 and 20. Only downside was no mini bar or even a fridge in the room.

Room Tip: Castle view. The side castle views are ok too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S35owl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fife Scotland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012 via mobile

Hospitable staff, lovely rooms, excellent manners. Loved the hotel loved the location. Breakfast was an art form. Staff coudnt do enough for us. Well done to a hotel which has so many rooms but still can make you feel special..x

Stayed February 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank NIcola D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2012

Decided to use Park & Ride, so to find this hotel a 5 min walk from the bus stop was a good start.
The hotel staff were courteous & polite and offered to store our bags on the final day so we could sight-see before our trip home.
The hotel was in a superb location in relation to the 'old town' being a 10 min stroll from Edinburgh Castle. The room was modern and had an upmarket feel. It was clean, warm & well appointed. Being towards the back of the hotel, it was also fairly quiet.
Breakfast was superb and filling to the point that lunch was not required. We did not try the restaurant as we ate out every night.
Recommended.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryDUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

We have recently returned from a short break in Edinburgh stopping at the Apex City Hotel, we would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.The staff were brilliant, very friendly and helpful in anything we required.Nothing was ever too much trouble.The bar staff were excellent in the way they served us, as were the staff in the reception area.They looked after us from the moment we arrived until the time we left, even when we were leaving nothing was too much for them.The room was fantastic, it was clean and well maintained.The in room service was excellent aswell.We could not fault any of the staff or the cleanliness and we will certainly be going back, especially as you were all treated by smiling happy faces that if one person didnt know an answer they got someone who knew. A big thank you to the staff and management of this hotel.One small drawback was the limited number of TV channels, butt if that was our only complaint I can certainly live with that.The location was also brilliant and had a view of the castle, looked lovely lit up on a night.10 out of 10 from us.

Room Tip: We had a view of the castle on the second floor, the superior rooms really are superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crusher1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2012

Couldnt have asked for a better location. Right on the Grassmarket, near to restaurants and bars and shops. Check in was friendly. I had a room on the second floor which was clean but much smaller than I expected. Probably paid more for the location rather than the room. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank yesmiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,238 reviews
Old Town
Grassmarket Hotel
Grassmarket Hotel
#48 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,042 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#30 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel

Property: Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Address: 61 Grassmarket, Edinburgh EH1 2HJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#30 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Edinburgh's Old Town, this contemporary hotel has 122 stylish rooms. Designed for comfort, rooms include HD widescreen LCD TV, large desk, free Wi-Fi and local calls, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board. Facilities include Agua Bar and Restaurant, event space for up to 80 delegates, use of leisure facilities a few doors away at Apex International including pool and gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex City Edinburgh
Hotel Apex City
Apex City Of Edinburgh Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing