We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“superb location IBIS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #57 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 10, 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank jim_lincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,195)
There are newer reviews for Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

777 - 783 of 2,195 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2014

This hotel was a bit spartan and the room was small, but it was clean and has a great location right off the Royal Mile. Tiny twin beds for what an American is used to. Good breakfast buffet except for the usual mass produced scrambled eggs.




  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank susanmc_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review, I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile. I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2014

If nothing else, this hotel is ideal for a tourist with its location right in the middle of the Royal Mile with all the attractions within easy walking distance.

The staff were really friendly and very efficient, and the hotel itself is clean and modern. While the rooms are not huge, but they are big compared to other Ibis standard rooms and are quite comfortable. The free Wi-Fi was not of great quality alas, but was more than adequate.

We did not eat here, so we cannot comment on the food, and given the location in the tourist heart of Edinburgh restaurants nearby are mostly tourist traps best to avoid, so head to the New Town for better choices and is only 10 minutes away on foot.

Given the good value you can get at an Ibis and its excellent location, this hotel is definitely recommended if you are in Edinburgh as a tourist.

Room Tip: While we had a quiet room at the back of the hotel with not much of a view, out friends had a room i...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ExplorerIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

dear guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit.
I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in late June, 2014. We picked this hotel because of its proximity to the Royal Mile, and we couldn't be happier. The room itself is no more or less than one might expect of a chain hotel. Of course we spent very little time in the room, but what time we did was comfortable and quiet. The small lounge was a great place to enjoy a beer and watch people pass by.

We spent our arrival day and the next day roaming the Royal Mile, then rented a car to visit St. Andrews, Falkirk, and Sterling. One of the attendants alerted me that I might find a parking space on our street around 5:00 p.m. and told me how the meters worked so that I wouldn't be over parked before we were ready to leave in the a.m. It worked perfectly. Each of the two nights we had the car in Edinburgh we were able to park across from the hotel.

I would recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KenfromKansas38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay in Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile and I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Room Tip: Rooms are basic but clean and confortable. A better wardrobe and perhaps a minibar would be plus p...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Ibis Hotels
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. It is very close to the Royal Mile, shopping and many restaurants. It was a simple walk to the hotel from where we took the bus to city center.
The staff at the hotel were super nice and very accommodating. They helped me a few times to figure out how to get different places and which bus lines to take.

We knew we would probably hear music and things from outside, but the scale kind of blew us away. Although we were on one of the higher floors we could still here everyone outside on the ground floor. The real shocker was the layout of our room. The bed we against the wall nearest the hallway. Every time someone would walk past our bedroom, our bed would shake like a mini earthquake. We would probably not stay here again if we came back due to the fact that we are light sleepers.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 5, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Your feedback is very important to us. Please note that we have quiet rooms to the back of the hotel and these can be allocated upon request.
I will pass your nice comments to my team and I hope you give us the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We enjoyed our stay in Edinburgh, much in part to our stay at the Ibis. You cannot get a better location in the city center. Everything is walkable. Plenty of restaurants nearby. We also had breakfast at the hotel and everything tasted well. The rooms are average size for an Ibis. I wouldn't complain that they were small, as most hotels in the areas are. The beds were comfortable and the wifi worked great.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Becca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience in our hotel. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you during your next visit to Edinburgh.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,537 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#58 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing