We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight for a two star hotel... roomy!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #63 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Our family stayed over at Ibis Edinburgh in May this year. Below is our experience during the stay:

Location: very centralized location, near to Waverly Station, Royal Mile, and Edinburgh Castle. Supermarkets are just within a stone throw's away. Souvenir shops are also nearby.

Room/amenities: room size is quite spacious for a 2 star hotel. Design is simple and nice. The bed was a bit to the soft side; otherwise nothing to complain about.

Staff: service is good; the staff were very friendly and able to assist us with the directions.

Breakfast: The all you can eat breakfast buffet was of pretty good standard. .

Others: bar fridge along the common area with complimentary drinks was a good touch. The coke and sprite were hot items..

Conclusion: recommended for its central location (most of the attractions were within walking distance) and the simple but spacious room(s)...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Royal Mile are spacious but not very quiet as late night dwellers may stir up a din...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guobins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review. I am glad you had a good stay with us.
See you on your next trip hopefully!
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,026 - 1,032 of 2,311 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2013

Right off the Royal Mile. Helpful staff. Rooms on the small side with soap dispenser. Secure facility where you can walk to almost any landmark. Good restaurants & near the starting point of a few tours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TequilaVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Ibis Edinburgh Royal Mile.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank billsvolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

We arrived at the Ibis, (it is 2 minutes walk from Princes Street so the location is very central indeed.) The Reception staff were very friendly and helpful, gave us a location map and let us put our bags in the luggage room so we could go off for the day, the staff checked if our room was ready (it was 10am so we didn't expect it to be) we went off for the day and came back to the Ibis at 4.30pm, we got our room key and went to our room. The room was great, very clean, very tidy, we were very impressed. We left our room at 10.30am and gave our room key back to the receptionist, the receptionist asked how our stay was and we smiled and said "it was a brilliant stay, we would stay again, the room was clean and tidy, thank you very much" - we asked the receptionist can we leave our bags in the luggage rooms for a few hours, the lady said yes but you have to pay £2.00 per bag......I was shocked that we had to pay, I said to the lady that we were not impressed that we have to pay £2.00 per bag, we took our bags with us - that is my only grumble about this place....in hind-sight it isn't much to grumble about, still a good hotel never-the-less!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KSurry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments about the charge for luggage.
I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This is great hotel just off the royal mile. I have stayed here twice before as its so handy for
everything, the sights the train station and the shops. The staff are friendly and the hotel is
clean and the beds are comfy. A good price too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alibobsManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review and your loyalty. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and I look forward to welcoming you again in your next visit to Edinburgh.
Yours sincerely,

Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank MBrettK
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is everything you expect from IBIS - clean hotel with adequate facilities - in a super location right in the centre of Edinburgh. Staff were friendly and efficient and there is a bar at the front and more improtantly free wifi. I didn't have breakfast as I had an early morning departure. Rate of £100 was good.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ursula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, Assistant Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Jose Gómez
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#60 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,738 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $59 - $207 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing