We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Apex Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$126
$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$167
$155
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$301
$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$227
$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$151
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$297
$271
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$184
$168
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Fraser Suites Edinburgh(Edinburgh)
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$136
$126
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,397)
Filter reviews
2,397 results
Traveler rating
839
1,085
355
72
46
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
839
1,085
355
72
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshunter squareroyal milegreat locationrooms are smallcentral locationtrain stationstreet noisetwin roombuffet breakfastpubs and restaurantsshort staycomfy bedprinces streetcastleearplugspoundshairdryer
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,152 - 1,157 of 2,397 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Going to Edinburgh means pleasure. Beautiful city and a fantastic atmosphere. Although it was very cold, the trip was fantastic. And part of that was the Ibis-hotel in the centre of the city. Direct to the Royal mile. The room was clean, the bathroom and the shower were absolute good, the bed was great and the breakfast was worth every penny. And most of all, a very kindly staff. It was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank ron f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review about your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. It is much appreciated and I can assure you that my team will be delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

The hotel is only a ten minute walk from Waverley Station and is just off the Royal Mile heading up to the castle. Be warned though it is uphill ALL the way. It is in a great location really and would be perfect especially for the festival. Plenty of bars and shops all near and Grassmarket is maybe just a ten minute walk away too. The hotel itself is ok too. Bar area not great though. Rooms - bare necessities but clean and comfortable enough. They are building another Ibis very nearby so I imagine this one is on the way out. Could perhaps be better as a boutique hotel and there is definite potential for improvement. I would say if you get a reasonable budget price the go for it.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonjam1888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent visit to Ibis Edinburgh. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we have noted your comments regarding the bar area. I do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future and can confirm this Hotel will remain.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The hotel is located just 6 minutes walk from waverly station. But I was a bit disappointed with the room. The room was quite small and the heater was very disappointing. I was expecting Ibis to have a air conditioner of some sort.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank Sanij1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback regarding your recent stay here at Ibis Edinburgh. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not up to expectations.
Our rooms are all fitted with air cooling not air conditioning.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

We really don't want to be paying a fortune for a hotel when we visit Edinburgh; there are so many sights, bar and restaurants to visit, that we spend little time in our room. This is where Ibis come in. A clean, comfortable hotel, in the perfect location, with good customer service and a decent breakfast. And the value for money, considering you are on the Royal Mile, is amazing. I can't recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CCammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The location of this hotel couldn't be any better! It's a short walk from a Waverly railway station and bang in the centre of Edinburgh Old Town, right on a Royal Mile, surrounded by places to eat.
The staff was welcoming and very helpful. Rooms are mordern, clean and cozy, comfortable beds and thick, light block-out curtains.
Would definately recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julija K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your visit. I look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Kind regards,
Joanne Green
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews