We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #54 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Faultless for the price”
Reviewed March 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Ibis in Edinburgh for a short break, we visit the Scottish Capital almost every year and have never had such a great stay. Perfect location. Immaculate room. Friendly & helpful staff.

You get so much more than what you pay for, we couldn't find ANY fault or criticism with the Ibis and would recommend it without hesitation. Perhaps in time it will become tired & standards may slip, but as work & improvements continued throughout our stay this appears highly unlikely and we'd certainly risk it!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RandLStaffs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for your kind comments and compliments. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time here in Edinburgh and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    724
    994
    325
    64
    38
See reviews for
332
1,040
162
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Very good location, right in the thick of things. Plenty of bars and restaurants near by. Only complaint would be that we were on the street and it was a little noisy on a night time! But my boyfriend didnt wake up so maybe it was just me! Even still, we had a lovely pleasant stay. Would definately recommend and we would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephnee881511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here with us. We are pleased to enjoyed your stay and do hope you will return in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2013

This is an excellent location if you want to have a look around the city centre; just a few moments walk from most of the landmarks we wanted to see, but not overpriced for what it is. The breakfast choice was good (although personally I would have liked some mushrooms with my scrambled egg!) and well priced. I would highly recommend for anybody wanting to make a short trip to do the obvious touristy things. My only problem was the car parking - Edinburgh is too expensive. the hotel has a deal with NCP which reduces the overpriced parking rate, but we couldn't find it in the dark and went nearer where it was both more expensive and not discounted for Ibis guests - so if driving do plan ahead and study the google map - watch out for roads going over and under each other though!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMcD368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know your thoughts about your stay here with us. We have noted your comments regarding parking , but unfotunately this is out of our control. However I do hope this does not deter you from staying with us in the future and we are able to welcome you back.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regensburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

We spend 5 days in this hotel (with a group) and were all very happy, especially with the location of the hotel right off the Royal Mile. You need only a few minutes to walk there from Waverly Station.
The rooms were big enough and very friendly. And you could not hear any noise from the street (at least not in our room). There is WIFI in the rooms, but quite expensive (15 Euros for 10 hours). I was impressed with the service. The staff were extremly friendly (e.g. offered to print something out for me), the room was cleaned every day and the breakfast buffet was well looked after. The breakfast itself was really good: eggs, bacon, croissants, fruit salad, yogurt, ...
I would stay there again any time.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank --Regensburg--4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time both in Edinburgh and the Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

I have stayed in the Ibis on numerous occasions and it is just ideally located for everything that edinburgh has to offer. Everything is within walking distance. It is a budget hotel so rooms are basic but very clean and breakfast is good. What more do you need in such a beautiful city! I would definitely recommend the Ibis and I will be back again. There is no beating its location.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LC_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments and compliments about the Hotel and your stay. I do hope we can welcome you back on your future trips to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed February 23, 2013

My wife and i decided to have a couple of nights in Edinburgh with my parents, we decided to go for more of a budget option and chose the ibis.
First of all the ibis is in a great location right in the heart of the royal mile. the rooms were clean and comfortable and we didn't get any disturbance from the noise outside as stated previously in some reviews.
We didnt opt for the hotel breakfast but just next door there was an american style cafe/diner that served up a good cooked breaky for anyone whose looking to eat outside the ibis.

all in all a good stay, clean comfortable and friendly staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comments about your recent stay here with us. We are very pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#24 of 149 in Edinburgh
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#46 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,487 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing