We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #57 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Porto Alegre, RS
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

The positive point about this hotel is its location. We were five minutes by foot from the Royal Mile and less than 10 minutes from the New Town, Arthur`s Seat and all the touristic points of the city.

The hotel is like all the others european Ibis but little bit old fashioned comparing with the londoners. The breakfast was good but expensive and the rooms could be better structured. For example, the view through the window of my room was a huge wall less than one meter. The last complain it about the internet.. Its unacceptable that there is a hotel in 2013 without free wi-fi.

On the other hand I`d stay there again. The staff was very helpful, polite and contributed very well to make my holidays incredible.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucasPithan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear Lucas Pithan,
Thank you for your kind comments about your stay with us at Ibis Edinburgh. I am sorry we were unable to meet all your expectations but I am very pleased that you will be returning. Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,075 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    694
    961
    319
    64
    37
See reviews for
318
1,007
158
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (238)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

Was a lovely little hotel, the staff were very friendly and extremely efficient. The room was nice, and had a bath in which we weren't expecting! Not a single problem during our stay, will definitely recommend.

The only thing i would say is the staff didn't seam interested in helping us with were to visit and we were a little clueless. I looked through the leaflets many times, but sometimes its nice to have someone suggest something and i asked a few times.. and got very little back from the them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyG141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear HollyG141,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay here with us. I was disappointed to read your comment regarding the helpfulness of the staff and can only apologise as this is not the impression we like to give and not their normal behaviour.
I do hope you will return in the future and we are able to help.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This is my 2rd stay at this hotel. Service & staff were brilliant and helpful with directions. The location could not be better for the price. We had a lot of early hours noises in the corridor which was annoying but not the fault of the hotel as this was other guests.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LoulouChed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 22, 2013
Dear LoulouChed,
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. Thank you for your kind comments and we look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dällikon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I've stayed in a lot of IBIS hotels and I have always enjoyed my stay (see my reviews for Sion and Heidelberg), but this one was horrible. Disgusting. The rooms were filthy, the bed stank and there was more foreign hair in the shower, bed and rug than I care to remember, not all of it long and straight if you know what I mean.

We stayed over New Year 2012 and they ran out of towels due what they said was a delivery issue. This would have been ok, but that day we had piled up our used towels on the bathroom floor, which resulted in towels literally stained black (imagine how dirty that floor was). The thing that angered us the most was that they simply hung the towels up again with no note informing us, so I almost dried my face in the black greasy dirty stained towel before I realised the towel was filthy. Gross!

I still give them two stars though because the staff was excellent. They appeared to be understaffed (obvious cost savings), but they remained very helpful hard working and friendly. I felt very sorry for them and that is not the feeling I can imagine a hotel would like to instil in their guests.

We planned on a seven night stay but after four nights we moved to another hotel (Radisson Blue, which was excellent!!). We could not stand it anymore. We found out later that friends had received a 50 pound room cost reduction (they also left after four days) because they complained. I guess the squeaky wheel really does get the oil. We will definitely not be back.

Room Tip: Go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sybil37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your comments and feedback. I am sorry to read that we did not meet your expectations during your visit. This is not typical of the service we offer at Ibis Edinburgh.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#48 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,555 reviews
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing