We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Ranked #62 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    939
    314
    63
    37
See reviews for
303
978
158
165
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level Contributor
129 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

The Hotel has an excellent location for the old town. Everything is a walkable distance. Princess street is 10 minutes walk which where the shops are there.
The Check in wasn't that good. Waited for approximate 35 minutes to check if our rooms ready although we arrived at 2:15 PM.
My double room wasn't has a view. Only concrete blocks. The room was very small and a very tiny place to walk through. On the opposite side, the twin room has a generous space and excellent view to the main street.
The beds are very comfortable and the staff was very helpful and friendly.
Totally, it was a good stay.

Room Tip: twin rooms on the street are big and having a good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Habib_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise that you were kept waiting , we do try to allocate rooms as soon as possible to keep waiting time to a minimum.
Thank you for your kind comments regarding the staff and our new beds and I do hope you will visit us again on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Enjoyed our short stay in edinburgh and the ibis hotel proved to be a great base for exploring the city and the royal mile. Staff were helpful and the hotel had a good overall appearance.

Only negative: Our room had a door that linked up with the one next to us. This meant sound from next door were more noticeable. Fortunately we had quiet neighbours.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mattfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Mattfal,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and do hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
228 reviews
223 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

10 Minute walk from Waverley station up a steep hill or steps.
Dropped bags off at 10.30am and checked in at 13.00pm.
Staff very polite and friendly.
The new beds are great and slept quite well, afterall it was saturday night and you are always going to get street noise.
All in all, great price and would stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank copleycop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Copleycop,
Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are really pleased you had good time and hope we will be able to welcome you back in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I booked this hotel online for a short break and managed to get a room for £60 per night (£30 per person). We weren't sure exactly what it was going to be like, but the reception was smart, and check in was very quick. Once we got to our room, it was a little on the small side, but generally ok. Bathroom was clean, the bed was super comfy (apparently they have used research to develop a bed that everyone will love - its based with foam, and very nice and firm, but soft) and the location was amazing for everything we needed.

I'd say the location is the main sell here, as well as the bed (My partner wanted to take it home) - the prices for food and on demand films are typical of a chain such as this - you can't really complain for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear Michael M,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us especially that you liked our new beds.
We do hope you will stay with us again in the future on your next trip to Edinburgh.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Excellent location near St Giles Cathedral and Tron Kirk. Near Waverley Station and Royal Mile, so halfway between Edinburgh Castle and The Palace of Holyrood House.

Staff very helpful and friendly. Breakfast excellent and plentiful. Bed very comfortable.
Decor a bit "tired", but it is a very busy hotel, so to be expected.

Overall, I can recommend this Hotel as a good budget choice.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fachie3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerIbis, General Manager at Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Dear fachie3
Thank you for your kind comments regarding your recent stay here with us at Ibis Edinburgh. We are pleased that you had a great time and hope to see you again in the future.
Kind regards
Joanne Green
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#20 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
Fraser Suites Edinburgh
#53 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,517 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile

Property: Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Address: 6 Hunter Square | Off Royal Mile, Edinburgh EH1 1QW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile hotel is located in the old town,just off the Royal Mile, Princess Street and its numerous restaurants are all within walking distance. 5 min from Waverley railway station and 12 km from the airport, the hotel has 99 rooms, including 6 adapted for disabled guests. It has a bar serving snacks 24/24 and Wifi Internet access for guests on a business trip. Public parking is 10 min on foot from the hotel, with reductions for clients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Agoda, Priceline, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Accor Edinburgh Centre
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing