We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #9 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We, along with another couple, stayed at the Dunstane House for 3 nights. When we arrived, we were warmly welcomed by the lady at reception (sorry I can't remember names). We were surprised and delighted to find out that they had upgraded our room to a "deluxe", as the "classic" room that we had booked was not available. I don't think this should be expected but were we ever happy to get it. The room was quite large and exquisitely designed, and super clean. I would highly recommend the splurge to the deluxe room if you can swing it. Location was a short walk to the city and train station with a bus stop right outside the front door if you needed it. This is a boutique hotel in the truest sense of the word. As this was the last 3 nights of our trip in Scotland I can tell you that this is a bona fide 4* hotel according to North American standards. We had stayed at several so called 4*'s prior to Dunstane House which did not always live up to their rating. In my personal opinion, they have exceeded their rating in our case. Breakfast was elegant and tasty, and the gentleman that served us was dressed in a suit each morning. Very classy and super service. I really hate to gush as I often disregard the 'overly' excellent reviews on Trip Advisor, but I cannot say enough about this hotel and our experience. Fabulous staff, super helpful, and cheerful!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sleeper19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi there,

Firstly, I would like to thank you for posting such an outstanding review of Dunstane Hotels!

All of the staff work hard year round to provide an excellent service. I know that every single person will greatly appreciate your kind words.
The deluxe rooms were part of the refurbishment that was finished this year. They have proven to be very popular with our repeat guests who enjoy the extra space. Each room was individually designed by the owner, who tried to keep the original charm of the hotel, whilst combining the ultra modern boutique style finish.

We thank you for posting this review and hope to welcome you back to Dunstane Hotels in the future.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

951 - 957 of 1,398 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

We have just returned from Edinburgh having stayed in this great hotel.
The hotel is quiet, although on the main road ,and has a great restaurant.
The staff we all very friendly and professional, both in reception and the restaurant.
The airport shuttle bus stops right outside, very convenient.
A 15 min. walk to the city, or a short bus ride.
We will be back to stay in the new year.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 & 3 have four poster beds, very nice !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GTS01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hello there,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review on Tripadvisor.

I am glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay here at Dunstane Hotels. We have a very experienced staff base in both properties that are always on hand to help with any enquiries. Dunstane Hotels is located within walking distance to the city centre, but slightly off the loud and beaten track - which is something that all of our guests enjoy!

We look forward to seeing you again in the new year. Remember to contact us directly to hear about all of our special promotions on offer.

Thank you again,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

We've just come back from a 4 night stay at the Dunstane House Hotel - and it lived up to its hype. All the staff are friendly and helpful, making for an enjoyable, relaxed atmosphere. The breakfasts are good, with a flexible menu allowing for a pick & mix approach. We found the room and ensuite slightly on the small size, however the bed was comfortable (kingsize), and the room was quiet - no banging doors, or water pipes - meaning a good nights sleep! The location is great making for lovely walks into the centre of Edinburgh - with lots of lovely independent coffee shops on route. We loved Edinburgh and plan to come back for many more visits - Dunstane House Hotel will be our first choice for accommodation.

Room Tip: We were in room 105
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Benita_and_Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night 67.50, we were downstairs, nice, clean room, freeview, wifi, comfy bed, walking distance to princes street,close to haymarket train station, would recommend this hotel for your Edinburgh trip

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank begakins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

The room we had was gorgeous, massive and impeccable in every way. The staff was incredibly helpful, we arrived from a long overnight flight from the US first thing in the morning and they were very helpful and glad to keep our luggage safe until our room was available later in the day so we could leave and go sightseeing without concern.
We dined in there and though it was our first night of a 12-day UK trip, it was the absolute best fish & chips I had the entire trip, and I ate fish & chips a lot. Don't feel as though you are missing anything, dining at the Dunstane is well worth it and convenient. The breakfast was lovely as well.
It is conveniently located to the center of the city, an easy walk, or there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel if you'd rather. When I return to Edinburgh someday, I'll definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hazasaem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi there,

Thank you so much for posting this lovely review.

Our rooms have recently been refurbished in both properties, which I think all of our guests are enjoying! The front of house staff will be thrilled to hear your fantastic comments, as will our Head Chef who has been working on the new menu for several months. Edinburgh is a great city to visit, and we wouldn't want you to waste any valuable exploration time. We are very lucky to be located on such a predominant bus route which offers over 10 buses per hour in to the city centre.

Hopefully we will see you again soon!

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Best hotel I stayed in during my short vaca to UK....

Pro's

1. Friendly staff
2. Amazing breakfast... All hot foods made for you fresh while you wait, goodbye buffet scrambled eggs anyone?
3. The restaurant chef is amazing, ordered meals to room and it was great
4. Really large rooms, high ceilings, beautifully decorated, amazing bathroom
5. Because it was exceptionally so, cleanliness...

My idea with my trip was to sight see and use the room/ hotel only as a place to put my head down. For once I was convinced to actually spent an afternoon in the room,

Location..... Hay-market station is a hop away if train is your way into Edinburgh... The 12, 26 and 31 take to city and back right outside the hotel - the 100 to the airport. Taxis too can be called for you if bussing around is not your flavor.

Best value for money

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownswekile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We have used both Dunstane House and Dunstane City. The Dunstane City offers good value and good car parking (vital near the centre of Edinburgh). Very comfortable rooms and good breakfast but limited bar facilities although they are available across the main road in the Dunstane House. Courteous and helpful staff make you very welcome. Wsalking distance from events such as the Tattoo even for a 74 year old!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lower ground floor are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2013

Hi Tom,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review!

I am glad that you enjoyed the Dunstane City so much.

We are fortunate to offer a free car park at both properties. It really is a rarity when you are so close to the centre of town. Edinburgh's ongoing construction makes it extremely difficult to find spaces once you are in the city. Most of our guests tend to park their car and hop on one of the buses from the end of our drive, or take the fifteen minute walk.
I hope you enjoyed the Tattoo as much as you enjoyed the hotel, and we hope to welcome you back this year again.

Kind Regards,

Jamie Trousdale

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,866 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,003 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#16 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $153 - $308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing