We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Tauranga, Bay of Plenty, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

What a great Place, Fantastic Food & Staff! All the furnishing are very luxurious that makes your stay feel even more special. You can walk into Princess Street or to Edinburgh Castle or catch a quick taxi ride into town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hi there

Thanks so much for your lovely comments (especially the title!) that is what we aim for!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future!

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,093 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    711
    271
    73
    22
    16
See reviews for
112
667
50
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The title to this says it all. This is a great hotel. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The location is great, the building and its interior and furnishings are first class.

So my quibbles are just that but would uprate/update the experience for only a small effort. A hair dryer in the room is not a luxury at this level. I would consider replacing the unsightly trouser press with more versatile ironing kit, which could be stowed unobtrusively. However, the largest gripe is on the breakfast (however pleasantly served). Breakfasts must be cooked to order - pre-cooking and holding items will at least reduce their enjoyment and may, as happened to my wife, make elements inedible.

However, as I say, this is an excellent hotel and I would be delighted to return on my next visit to "Auld Reekie"!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mikemackey52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst visiting family in Edinburgh. Staff absolutely great, polite and helpful even to family members who were not resident. Room was fabulous with a HUGE four poster bed. No bathrobe or hair dryer was a bit if a disappointment but otherwise just great. Big choice at breakfast but the bacon and potato scone were dried out and so a bit of a let down. Might have been because we were later in the sitting bit shouldn't really have been served. Would happily return as we really liked the smaller, more personal but quality room and service, might just need to get up earlier to enjoy breakfast!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Hello

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your stay. I am pleased you liked the hotel overall. Just a small correction, we do indeed have hairdryers in all of our bedrooms (in both hotels) in the drawers. I am sorry you didnt spot yours, reception would have been happy to help. If you would like to come back again please let us know and I will make sure we have a lovely four poster room for you again!

Thanks

Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Dunstane House in March 2013. Hotel is between airport and city center. 15 pounds by cab to airport and 8
pounds to old town. On bus line but with trolley construction it took 20 minutes by bus. Although advertised as walking distance it is clearly a 40 minute walk. All that said staff was great. Well stocked bar
and wonderful breakfast. Upscale feeling but reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Creston206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hi there

Thank you for your lovely comments on our hotel. I am pleased you had a memorable anniversary and you are correct, if only we could pick up the building and move it 5 minutes closer! We do benefit slightly from the car parking and peace and quiet for being ten minutes away so I suppose there is a silver lining! If there is anything I can do in the future to help you arrange your stays in Edinburgh please let me know

Thank you again

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed for the weekend 15th - 17th March to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. Everything about the hotel was great - close enough to walk into town (if you feel like a bit of exercise), lovely decor, our room was great, bed comfortable, breakfast good, whisky bar (and late night service) exceptional, staff really friendly. We really liked the hotel. I've never actually been back to a hotel before, but I reckon we'll be back to this one.

Room Tip: We went for one of the deluxe four poster rooms as a treat and we weren't disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richroom101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for the 2 day Whisky tasting break. We enjoyed a wonderful stay in a fabulous hotel.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
It was extremely good value for money and our meal in the Skerries restaurant was fantastic.
The food was really excellent .
Would very much recommend to friends
And would definitely stay again.
Thank you very much to all the staff

Terry and Cath McGrath

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrymcgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. I am delighted you enjoyed your Whisky Break and should you wish to come and see us again we do have a variety of other breaks available for you to sample the best that Edinburgh has to offer!

Please contact me should you require any information about this

Thank you

Samantha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We booked the hotel due to reviews on trip advisor and they didnt let us down. Only checked in today for 2 nights but we already love it. Room is spotless, bed is huge and comfy, staff are helpful and friendly and the decor in the room is amazing! Only a 10 min bus ride to the zoo and to the heart of the city! Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emilyandsteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 stars 1,625 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#23 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,517 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#20 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#7 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,129 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JQ, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dunstane dates all the way back to 1852 to a design of William Playfair, one of Edinburgh's most famous architects. Now a boutique hotel privately-owned and managed by Derek and Shirley Mowat, each of our bedrooms offers a fresh take on country house charm. You can look forward to restful nights in four-poster beds with subtle accents of current style. Or stretch out king-size and enjoy all the period details and in-room features. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing