We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #8 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed in Dunstane House for 2 nights and thought it was a lovely hotel. Our room had a real wow-factor with an extremely comfortable four poster bed. The Molton Brown toiletries and a complimentary bottle of water each night were nice additional touches.

It's a 15 min walk into town which means it's practical (easily accessible by bus and taxi if you don't want to walk) but also quiet and peaceful. The airport bus also stops right outside the hotel.

Breakfast was great - a good buffet selection as well as a very tasty cooked menu and the bar with its many whiskies made a nice end to each evening.

Would definitely recommend this hotel to others!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MB1177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Hi there

I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us recently. If you liked that room we have a number of other deluxe rooms you could try on your next visit! We are very lucky to be able to provide Molton Brown toiletries and we do feel that this is a lovely touch for guests. Thanks again for your feedback

Kind regards

Samantha Wright

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,418)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,418 reviews

Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband booked this trip as a surprise weekend away. The hotel was nicely decorated, tastefully furnished and nice and clean. The best thing about the place is the food! The restaraunt hotel specialises in seafood, if you don't normally go for seafood this is the place to try it! I can reccommend the salmon and the mussels. The staff are also super-friendly, polite and very helpful. The hotel is a 15-20 minute walk from Princes Street (centre of Edniburgh); we took the bus which was reasonably priced and the bus-stop is right outside the front door of the hotel.
All in all we had a wonderful stay. I really can't think of anything negative to say about this hotel :)

Room Tip: We were on the ground floor right near reception, so we could hear some foot traffic outside the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avywil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 2, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed the restaurant in particular. We have just launched our new season menu so come along again and try the new dishes!!

Kind Regards

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

Great hotel, with an excellent upgrade due to bad weather cancellations. We were looking for a new location to stay as our normal B&B has closed. This fits the bill and some. Good breakfast too. Short distance for buses into the city. The sister hotel opposite also does great evening meals.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KEVIN1961_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hi there

Thank you so much for your nice comments about our hotel. I am pleased we fit the bill as your new accommodation in Edinburgh! Looking forward to seeing you again soon

Thanks

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We selected Dunstane House from reviews on Trip Advisor, and we were not disappointed. We wanted somewhere within walking distance of the City, and this was just under a mile out. It was an easy walk in, and the bust stop was right outside the hotel (literally).

It really was a character hotel, in a lovely old stone building. Not a good pick if you have trouble with stairs or are disabled (there was no lift), but otherwise good. The rooms were very individual (though could have used a touch up in places) and quite spacious compared to other hotels I have stayed at. It was always clean, and the staff were really helpful at all times during our visit.

The food in the restaurant (for dinner & breakfast) was good quality, and we enjoyed eating here.

There is just about enough parking between this and the sister hotel over the road, and we managed to find a space at all times during our stay.

The price was reasonable given the quality of the hotel, and I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: All the rooms are good here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stabler12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hello

Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments on here for other future guests! Just a follow up from a few of your points, we are undergoing another refurbishment at the moment so 6 more of our bedrooms are being re-done. That is 9 rooms now in 12 months so we are going at a good rate! Hopefully you will find the rooms fresher next time you visit!

With regards to lift, we cannot put one in unfortuntely due to building regulations but we are aware of the luggage problem and we always offer help with bags on arrival and departure, hopefully avoiding the lift issue!

I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay, please feel free to contact me directly should you wish to stay again and I can organise you a new room to try!

Thanks

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

on arriving for our 4day package as we booked extra day i was immediately dissapointed that we had to cross avery busy main road to use the restaurant,i didnt make a fuss as girl on reception very pleasent,went to our room & straight away the bed was full of hairs i should of complained but we were exhausted after travelling on the trains alday so my own fault for not saying anything,but i also noticed in the book it said complimentry shoe shine,i left anote for the cleaner as the staff seemed so nice i didnt want to be a moaner so now im having my say,cleaner never did leave a shoe shine,toiletries only replaced after 2 days when i also left a note,( i have always had toiletries everyday anywhere else) anyway we had 3 meals in the restaurant food ok but not the same menu that was in room & no i dont mean the sample menu it was the actuall menu for that night then when we got to restaurant no scallops or mussels on,i did say to the chap & girl working & the reply was well you know what chefs are like!! anyway come new years eve we really didnt want to pay for freezing on the street so opted to stay in hotel,had our meal but no music or entertainment in hotel,(how dissapointing) we went back over the road to the city hotel only to sit & watch the new year with jools holland!! i could have done that at home instead i ended up paying £224 a night,i did not have a very good stay, dissapointed infact we couldnt wait to get away,it was far to expensive for lack of facilities!!! having polite staff is all well & good but you need the rest to make a good run hotel!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hello

Thank you for leaving your comments about your Hogmanay. I am terribly sorry you were disappointed with you stay and I would like to address a few points that may help future guests with a few of the issues you faced. With regards to the fact that the restaurant is across the road, this was clearly stated on booking and is in your confirmation. Rooms were also available at Dunstnae House but I think you wanted a Superior Room which is why you booked the City if I remember rightly. We dont have a restaurant at the City but guests are invited to the restaurant at the House for Hogmanay dinner and of course dinner any other night.

Hogmanay this year is different from previous years as since our refurbishment we have not got the function space we used to have. Therefore, as you were informed on booking, there was just the meal with ourselves and guests were sent information regarding other activities in Edinburgh on Hogmanay and there were also brochures in your room. All other guests either retired to bed if going out was not their 'thing' or went into town or to a organised event. We have received no other complaints about our package from any other guests.

With regards to the Housekeeping issue, hairs inthe bed is absolutely unacceptable and really should have been reported to reception so we could firstly rectify the situation and then have some evidence to contact the laundry company with... The Housekeeper who serviced your room has been thoroughly reprimanded and re trained on the sheet inspection before making the beds. Again, this is unacceptable but I wonder why you did not report this to reception if it was as bad as you say? Surely if the staff were as nice as you say this would have been the easiest option and given us the oportuntity to rectify the situation.

On the point of the lack of scallops in the restaurant, this was due to a supplier letting us down on the 30th. They arrived with Frozen, farmed Scallops instead of the previously advertised fresh ones. Our chef, being concerned with not skimping on the quality of the food served to yourselves, refused to accept them and instead replaced them with Fresh Loch Duart Salmon. Thus preserving the quality of the menu and making sure you got your value for money. Unfortunatley circumstances like these occur in restauarnats and we count ourselves lucky that we have a chef that would notice the quality of the produce he was receiving, as so many would turn a blind eye.

Thank you again for your comments, thank your husband for the tip he left our restaurant staff. And I hope this has alieviated some potential guests' worries.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We had a super stay in this hotel. From the minute we went in we were made to feel very welcome. The staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. The rooms were very clean with lovely molton brown toiletries in the bathroom. We had a large double delux room that was very spacious and beautifully furnished. The hotel has a modern theme throughout but still has the wonderful original features such as beautiful cornicing and fireplaces. The food was great. We also particularly liked the Orcadian theme with the lovely old pictures on the wall and produce. We will definately be back!

Room Tip: Spash out and go for a double delux room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calderk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Hi there

Thank you for your lovely comments on your stay and I see you are booked in again with us very soon! That is excellent news. Hope you enjoy your next stay as much.

Best Wishes

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We booked the Dunstane House Hotel for a night in Edinburgh on a driving tour of Scotland. The staff could not have been more helpful or pleasant. We received a complimentary upgrade to a spacious room with a four poster canopy bed. Loved the Molton Brown toiletries in the bathroom. We didn't eat at the restaurant, but we did have whiskies at the bar, and the barman was quite knowledgeable! The hotel is located close to the city center with a bus stop right outside the door. There is also free parking, which was a huge plus for us. We will definitely book here on our next trip to Scotland!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glamtart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DunstaneManager, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2013

Hi there

Thanks so much for leaving your comments here for other readers. I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I really hope you think of us again on your next trip to Scotland! Perhaps you can sample the restaurant next time. Just get in touch with us directly for our latest deals and special offers.

Thanks again

Samantha

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,875 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#14 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,921 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $126 - $319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing