We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place to Stay - Great Service”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Westwood, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful Place to Stay - Great Service”
Reviewed September 15, 2011

I found this hotel online and it was a great choice. We had one of the deluxe 4 poster bed rooms (#2 maybe) and it was spacious and well appointed. The staff was so incredibly helpful (in particular Sam and Allen, thanks again!) and knowledgeable. Our stay included breakfast which was wonderful and one night we had dinner in the hotel and the food was delicous and reasonably priced - great service too! The hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk into town and there is a bus stop right outside if you don't want to walk. The train station is also relatively close for any day trips. I would absolutely recommend the Dunstane House Hotel!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmalloy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Hi there

Thank you so much for your recent comments on your stay at Dunstane House. I am delighted that you enjoyed your room and your meal with us. We do change our menu seasonally so there will always be something new for you to try.

I hope we can welcome you again to Dunstane

Best Regards

Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    325
    79
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
825
68
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Congleton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2011

We had a large superior room at Dunstane City Hotelwhich was extremely comfortable and spacious.
Staff at Dunstane city and Dunstane House particularly Alex and Sam were extremely pleasant and helpful. We ate at the Dunstane House Hotel and found the food good.
Bus stop so convenient into city centre as we could simply park the car for the duration of our trip
Would stay again if in Edinburgh

Room Tip: Large superior room very spacious - at the back of the hotel and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, October 10, 2011
Hi there

Thank you so much for posting your review for others to read. I am delighted that you enjoyed your experience with us at Dunstane. I agree that the Large Superior Rooms are definately worth the extra for the extra space and luxury.

I do hope to welcome you again to Dunstane in the future

All the best
Samantha Wright
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice modern hotel, friendly staff, good breakfast. Conveniently located voor a city trip. You can easily walk to the centre and take buses for the more distant parts of Edinburgh.
Free parking !

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronald1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarkesville, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We actually had two different experiences. The ladies stayed while the guys went to St. Andrews to play golf. We had a deluxe room - fantastic. When the fellows got home we all moved to standard rooms - still very clean, but not the same experience. However, the staff was so kind, so attentive, so professional. The breakfast was very good. A bus stop was right across the street. If you eat at the hotel restaurant don't miss the Sticky Toffee Pudding - yummmmy!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbarabug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2011

This was our best hotel on our recent trip to Scotland. Our room was the largest in the Hotel, at the front and simply fantastic. The location was great for us. It was about a 25 minute walk to Princess street and Edinburgh Castle, but even closer to what became our favorite restaurant at Haymarket Square, Merkat Bar. The airport bus stop is right in front. We ate dinner at the hotel one night and the food was good, but not great. Breakfast was very good, however. The bar was cozy. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay at the Dunstane again, especially if we could get the same room.

Room Tip: The large room on second floor at front was fantastic, with four poster bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2011

This hotel has excellent serice and is very well decorated its very modern, which is great! However there you can here everything what next door is doing even what there conversation is about. The walls or obviousley not sound proofed which in my eyes is not acceptable at 140 a night. It takes everything good away an made us very disapointed. Also its a fAir walk to the main attractions, which we wudnt of minded but the noise from other people in their rooms made our stay very disapointing an we stayed in two differant rooms after the first night requesting to be moved!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilydraper1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2011

Me and my partner stayed here recently on vacation.
The room we were allocated was small but was perfectly adequate and just as described so we had no complaints at all. It was beautifully well appointed with lovely toiletries. Some of the feedback provided previously indicated that the rooms were too warm and although we found the same on arrival during the 2 days we were there the weather turned colder and the warmth was very welcome.
Its about a 20/25 minute walk to Princess Street so if you are not physically fit then you may prefer to be nearer the centre.
Breakfast was fabulous and I reccommend the Haggis, not your standard offering.
Had a brilliant nights sleep as the beds are luxurious.
Also need to commend the very limited no of staff (2) who made us very welcome during our stay.
A big thumbs up for the Dunstane City.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonic_Boom_Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,821 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,771 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,086 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing