We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifully decorated boutique hotel with excellent food”
Review of The Dunstane Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Dunstane Hotel
Ranked #13 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautifully decorated boutique hotel with excellent food”
Reviewed April 29, 2011

A lightening visit to Scotland at short notice meant we need to find a place to stay with my husband and daughter. One phone call en route to Scotland and we were booked in! Loved the manager's wit and friendliness on arrival. Our room was samll but very comfortable. Downstairs we had a drink at the bar then wlaked to the Royla Mie (about 15mins away). Had an excellent dinner that evening with fresh local mussels and scallops on the menu: One of the best meals of our 3 week holiday. Beakfast i nthe dining room was a lovely experience. Beautifullky apponted orom and good choice of local delicacies (porridge, kippers etc0 included in price! This time cught the bus out side the hotel straight to centre of town (5mins). Free parking for our car behind the hotel meant we had no worries (And they allowed us to keep it there for the day even though we'd checked out.)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WLB_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    889
    325
    79
    25
    16
See reviews for
139
825
68
99
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2011

We booked a night at Dunstane House Hotel as a last minute decision to travel to Edinburgh and were not disappointed at all. We were greeted by a friendly staff member with a wonderful sense of humour - during our stay he was quite happy to make time to have a chat with his guests which made us feel very comfortable. Being new to the city, we were provided with all the information needed to experience the best parts of Edinburgh.

We enjoyed a fantastic dinner in the hotel restaurant which could not be faulted. A delicious green curry which was served from the foil package it had been cooked in right in front of you - when it is opened you get a hit of all the strong aromas. I highly recommend you enjoy a meal there.The breakfast was great too and there was a nice variety on the continental buffet.

Our room was reasonably priced and included breakfast. The bathroom was relatively small but was appropriate for the rate we payed. The only negative point was that the single bed I slept in was slightly uncomfortable. Ive definitely had worse but a mattress topper would add that extra bit of comfort to make the stay that tiny bit nicer! In comparison to the rest of our experience at Dunstane the mattress was almost insignificant.

The city centre is just a short walk away, but we also discovered that the buses are great for lazy people like us who can get there even quicker. The bus stop is literally out the front of the hotel.

The outstanding staff puts this hotel one step above the rest. They were friendly, helpful and relaxed - yet also professional and efficient. The personal touches and atmosphere created by the staff really added to the enjoyment of our stay.

If I ever head back to Edinburgh I will definitely be looking to stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeb1152
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, April 27, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments, I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you took advantage of our restaurant facilities. I will definately take your mattress topper suggestion into consideration and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2011

My partner booked this hotel mainly based on TripAdvisor reviews. The hotel is extremely clean, peaceful and the staff were very friendly. The rooms were nice and well decorated with a lovely bathroom, but we booked a standard room which was very small - which would be fine, but we were expecting something a little bigger, so perhaps book a superior room if you'd like some more space! Also our room was dark as it was in the basement and the view a brick wall, again, the superior rooms looked a bit brighter. We didn't eat, so I can't comment on the food. The staff were friendly and very accomodating, but weren't terribly helpful when I asked where the nearest pharmacy was and if we could have a late check out because my partner was ill during the night and wasn't well enough to travel. I was informed that the nearest pharmacy was 30 minute walk away and there would be a charge if we wanted to check out late. Despite that, I'd be happy to recommend this hotel but ask for a superior room if you want a bit more space.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank corral84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2011

Really beautiful and spacious room and the staff, particularly front desk, were very friendly and helpful - made me feel very much at home. The breakfast is great. I was able to walk to the castle and royal mile and leave the car parked in front of the hotel. There are nice public sitting rooms up and downstairs and a glassed-in porch.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarkBrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

My friend and I stayed in the hotel from wednesday to sunday. I wanted a hotelroom with breakfast included with the room. The information on net said it was included. When we arrived the frontdesk informed us that breaksfast was not included, because we had paid in advanced, and it was a cheap bargain. I paid about £ 350 for 4 nights and did not think that this was very cheap. We ordered breakfast one morning, and it was the most terrible breakfast ever. We ordered fried bacon, eggs and tomato. It did not taste good. We dont recomend it to anyone, and it was very expencive. The room was on the top floor, and it was very small, and the beds very hard. It is strange how they put their stars. The room was clean. From Norway

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norway1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CityHotel, Manager at The Dunstane Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2011
Thank you for your comments, which as always we do find helpful to refine our service. I am terribly sorry that your experience with us was less than satisfactory. With regards to the confusion over breakfast this is Expedias mistake in their online marketing of our hotel, I was not aware that they were not specifying that our advance purchase rate was excluding breakfast. I have since spoken to our account manager and the situation is being rectified.

With regards to your breakfast I apologise for the low standard of the cooked food, this is not usual for our hotel, we pride ourselves on our excellent breakfasts and sourcing the best local produce for it. I have spoken to the breakfast chef in question and he is being retrained by the head chef to ensure this does not happen again.

Thank you again for you comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here 24/25 march 2011 staff brill,hotel location fab,room brill,this hotel is only 5mins walk from the haymarket station,asked staff questions nothing was a problem.The room was lovely an clean with a great bathroom and a large double bed.Breakfast must be one of the best we every had,get full english well worth it.We had a meal in the sister hotel across the road lovely,definitely go back no probs we had a great 2 nights.

Sue/Steve.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sooteyHulluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2011

It doesn't have many rooms, being as it is a converted residence. What it does is concentrate all the good stuff into a smaller space.

We stayed here around our wedding and were quite delighted with our room. It was in excellent repair and spotlessly clean. We had a four poster and the other furniture was in period keeping with the whole.

Breakfast was very good and the hotel bar was very well appointed for it's diminutive scale.

Being only a 10 minute bus ride from the heart of the town it is also vefy conveniently situated.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkBegbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,820 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,769 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dunstane Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dunstane Hotel

Property: The Dunstane Hotel
Address: 4 West Coates & 5 Hampton Terrace | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH12 5JD, Scotland (Formerly Dunstane House Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dunstane Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a peaceful corner of Edinburgh’s West End, a short walk from Haymarket and 15 minutes’ drive from Edinburgh airport, The Dunstane Houses is an independent, 35-bedroom boutique hotel spread over two stately Victorian townhouses on opposite sides of the road: Dunstane House and Hampton House. Dating back to 1865, but inspired by the best of modern-day Scotland, the family-run hotel combines heritage good looks with warm, personal service and a fresh, contemporary outlook. The bedrooms and interiors throughout Dunstane House and public ares of Hampton House have been stylishly redesigned to pay tribute to the building’s neoclassical character and the owners’ Orcadian heritage, without compromising on modern comfort. The newly opened Ba’ Bar & Lounge specialises in food made with local, seasonal Scottish produce from small suppliers, and hosts relaxed but refined all-day dining, including daily afternoon tea. It offers a wide range of fine wines, craft beers, artisanal spirits and one of the most extensive rare-whisky selections in the city, with more than 70 varieties in its vintage wall cabinet. All rooms include free WiFi, large Samsung smart TVs, Egyptian cotton bedlinens and ensuites with Noble Isle products, and many Dunstane House rooms include Nespresso coffee machines, hand-made Vispring beds and Roberts digital radios. Five unique and spacious suites are located in Dunstane House, with dramatic features such as four-poster beds, freestanding copper roll-top baths in the bedroom, or sweeping views over the Edinburgh cityscape. Within easy reach of all the attractions of old-town Edinburgh, the Dunstane Houses is a stylish and welcoming city retreat with an authentic Scottish soul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Dunstane Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh
Dunstane House Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing