We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very disappointing”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had high expectations but left feeling very disappointed.

To start with, the double bed in our room was just 2 singles pushed together. I can understand if this was a room sometimes used as a twin, but it was in a double bed frame. Made our night sleep very uncomfortable as it made the balance uneven

The room was really hot with bed facing the windows so we had light coming in too even when the curtains were closed.

Finally when we arrived the lady on reception said 'you can have breakfast till 1030'. After paying a decent amount to stay there we were very surprised that they then try and charge 12 pounds extra each for breakfast!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OzTrek04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    474
    153
    28
    16
See reviews for
121
497
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Breakfast is kinda good, considering the fact that I stayed at Novotel before. Rooms are generally not too big, but also, not small. It is cozy and nice, clean and the staff is always more than ready to support you in all your needs. Although I rate it as a 4 star hotel, the staff managed to find me a fan, once the room was really hot and as even by opening the window it was still a little bit hot, they somehow, managed to make it! Do not recommend for those who have problems on the knees or to climb streets, once there is NO elevator in the hotel (just an old and really fancy one but that works only for pictures if ya want!) so all you ways to your room must be made by going up the stairs and the street which is also on a street that goes way up a little bit but nothing too rough.

Room Tip: Ask for a fan in the reception if you are the type of person that likes a cool place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sylvio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagnes-sur-Mer, France
Level Contributor
287 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Stayed here during a business trip to Edinburgh. What I like about this place is its originality - it's certainly not one of your standard chain hotels. This historic hotel is also superbly located at the foot of Carlton hill, towards the end of Princes street.

A word of warning though - my room wasn't serviced by an elevator. And it's not the most comfortable hotel you'll find, it is kind of old-fashioned.

But I'd rather take originality and character over convenience and practicality!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teturtia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2014

Welcoming, near the centre and the staff were helpful. It was economical especially as it was booked last minute, but my only complaint was the twin beds in the room were very close together, you could not walk between them. Other than that (which is minor) this is a reasonable place to stay if you are going to enjoy everything Edinburgh has to offer and are not looking for a hotel with loads of facilities. It does cater for wheelchair users as there are peepholes in the door at both eye level and wheelchair user level which I had not encountered before which it why I noted it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WhiteLightinX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

If you are looking for a good hotel within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh, this is the one. It's good value for money, brilliant location to get to Edinburgh castle, dungeons, train station, big shopping centres and an amazing variety of bars and restaurants.

I stayed here with my girlfriend for 3 nights and had a great time, we had the luck to stay in a room on the top floor, room 15. The room has an amazing view over the Firth of Forth. I strongly recommend giving this one a go.

Room Tip: Top floor room, definitely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamuelJWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We spent two nights at the Parliament House Hotel in Edinburgh on June 3 and 4, 2014. We lucked out and stayed in their suite. It's room 8. This is positively the largest room we have EVER enjoyed. It includes a table set up for 10, a fireplace and gigantic windows. Excellent king size bed. Beautiful bathroom. The lobby staff is quite helpful. Location is excellent. Easy walking distance from the train station. A very manageable walk to the Royal Mile and Edinburgh Castle. No more than a 5 pound cab ride if you don't want to walk. The city bus #22 is a block away and it ends at the Royal Yacht Britannia for 1.5 pounds. Large shopping center a block away. We really didn't have any traffic noise issues and we left the windows open a bit. Their web site does not mention an elevator because it doesn't go all the way up to some rooms. The suite requires you to go up 8 steps or so, for example. If you can afford a few extra pounds, I highly recommend the suite. It will knock your socks off. We ate in the restaurant part of Café Royal which is a very short walk away. The venison was excellent. The pub part was crowded so I think it would also be good.

Room Tip: The suite is room 8. WOW!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gardog46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. The room was spacious and the bed was cosy and it was very comfortable to sleep. The view from our window was not good as it was on the ground level and pointing towards some other building's kitchen.

The bathroom and shower was okay as we noticed that the water from the overhead shower spills to the floor very fast. And the longer you take shower chances of water filling up the floor will be higher.

We found the breakfast to be a bit expensive. £9 for a continental breakfast and £13 for a scottish breakfast. The front desk staff was very pleasant and welcoming.

The hotel is just 5 mins walk away from Waverely station and very close to Calton Hill.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mahe333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,330 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Property: Parliament House Hotel
Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing