We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth staying”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #78 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth staying”
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Phoned ahead to ask for room with view,lovely room , comfortable bed, bathroom small but very warm and if window opened you can sit in bath and look out to river and Edinburgh....a bit like having a spa in your room!
Breakfast fine, a good value hotel near to theatre. We ate in Field restaurant which if you eat pre theatre again is very good value. Would definitely use again .

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Somany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    481
    156
    30
    16
See reviews for
122
506
55
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014 via mobile

A great location,5 minutes walk from the station. We were warmly welcolmed by Roderick ,which was a nice touch.
The room was fantastic , really big ,clean and nicely funished. (Room 8 ).
Breakfast was ok but over priced at £12.50 per head , it was nothing special.

My only bad experience was being woke by some homeless person being arrested at 3am by the Police outside. The screams and shouting were very loud and the old wooden windows didnt keep the noise out. I guess the building is listed so the wooden windows have to stay,not the hotels fault.

Overall,i would stop here again. I got more than what i paid for with the room. Well done.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank leesedder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We (3 couples) spent the weekend here and it proved a good choice, close to the station and an easy walk to all the sights. Calton Hill is very close and gives you wonderful views over Edinburgh, well worth the climb! The hotel rooms are clean and comfortable, ours were on the lower floor but were quiet. Staff were helpful and friendly and the lounge is a comfortable place to meet up and chat. A good small hotel.

Room Tip: We had 104 spacious on the lower floor with 2 large windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeen
Level Contributor
282 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good location for the train, bus station and Princess Street and the Playhouse Theatre. The staff throughout our stay were helpful, friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was very good, tasty, well presented and the staff were efficient and checked whether we wanted more, the helpings were so big already.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick Upon Tweed, England
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our second stay at this charming hotel. Everything was very clean and the staff were very accommodating. Very warm with copious amounts of hot water. Other reviews complain about the view but the rooms at the back, despite the views are very quiet - don't knock it. We never heard a sound and slept well. Location great, 5 mins from station, main shopping centres. and Playhouse Theatre. This hotel gets my recommendation and we will make it a regular trip.

Room Tip: Room 405 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Davylad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We asked for two rooms next door to each other ,one was down another corridor.Our's had a hole in the bathroom window which had been stuffed with a tissue and was cracked from top to bottom,none of the bedroom doors locked and the second bathroom fan ran continuously unless you removed the power tag.Maintenance men left access keys in on the floor the hallways and woke us up hammering at seven thirty am.The dining room has just been refurbished but the food is tasteless and mainly cold when it arrives from the kitchen on another floor and the staff are less than welcoming. Having read other reviews we expected better than this .Glossy pictures don't hide the tacky rooms and poor paintwork.Twin beds should not be short sheeted and covered with a throw.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at Parliament House hotel on Christmas Eve and Christmas during my girlfriend and I's first visit to Edinburgh. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the room was very warm and comfortable, albeit quite small, with a pretty lame view of a back alley. WiFi was free and worked well (contact reception for password), and our included breakfast included a thorough full Scottish breakfast with plenty of continental options. One thing to note, there is no free parking for guests here in the centre of Edinburgh, the options being to park on the street and risk a fine, or the very expensive nearby car park. We were lucky that we didn't get a ticket by parking on Princes St (parking inspectors must've had some Christmas generosity)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,394 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#23 of 148 in Edinburgh
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,253 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Princes Street and Gardens
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Princes Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Property: Parliament House Hotel
Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing