We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Good location for the train, bus station and Princess Street and the Playhouse Theatre. The staff throughout our stay were helpful, friendly and the rooms were clean. The breakfast was very good, tasty, well presented and the staff were efficient and checked whether we wanted more, the helpings were so big already.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aberdeenvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,046)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

457 - 463 of 1,046 reviews

Reviewed January 12, 2014

This was our second stay at this charming hotel. Everything was very clean and the staff were very accommodating. Very warm with copious amounts of hot water. Other reviews complain about the view but the rooms at the back, despite the views are very quiet - don't knock it. We never heard a sound and slept well. Location great, 5 mins from station, main shopping centres. and Playhouse Theatre. This hotel gets my recommendation and we will make it a regular trip.

Room Tip: Room 405 is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Davylad72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2014

We asked for two rooms next door to each other ,one was down another corridor.Our's had a hole in the bathroom window which had been stuffed with a tissue and was cracked from top to bottom,none of the bedroom doors locked and the second bathroom fan ran continuously unless you removed the power tag.Maintenance men left access keys in on the floor the hallways and woke us up hammering at seven thirty am.The dining room has just been refurbished but the food is tasteless and mainly cold when it arrives from the kitchen on another floor and the staff are less than welcoming. Having read other reviews we expected better than this .Glossy pictures don't hide the tacky rooms and poor paintwork.Twin beds should not be short sheeted and covered with a throw.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Iona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed at Parliament House hotel on Christmas Eve and Christmas during my girlfriend and I's first visit to Edinburgh. The staff were very welcoming and helpful, and the room was very warm and comfortable, albeit quite small, with a pretty lame view of a back alley. WiFi was free and worked well (contact reception for password), and our included breakfast included a thorough full Scottish breakfast with plenty of continental options. One thing to note, there is no free parking for guests here in the centre of Edinburgh, the options being to park on the street and risk a fine, or the very expensive nearby car park. We were lucky that we didn't get a ticket by parking on Princes St (parking inspectors must've had some Christmas generosity)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rory L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

The main reason to stay here is the location - 5 minutes walk from Princes St, Waverley Station and the Playhouse Theatre. The hotel is warm and clean but lacks in many simple things which would make it so much better. There were 2 of us, they knew that - so why only one dressing gown? There is wi-fi but they don't give you the code at check-in. There is a tea tray but no milk either 'plastic' or fresh unless you ask for it. The (fairly old) TV requires a Ph.D to work unless you phone reception for guidance. The breakfast is boring but adequate and not helped by the waitresses giggling together and loudly comparing how many hours of their shifts are left. These are all small issues but wouldn't take much to put right and give a much more professional feel. We waited for someone in reception to ask if we had enjoyed our stay in order to give feedback directly, but the standard question never came. All in all, if you are there for a night at the theatre or en route from the station, it is handy. Longer, find somewhere where you get the feeling they are more interested and less amateur.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flying_rugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

We stayed at the Parliment House, for 2 nights, to celebrate girfriends 50th birthday. I contacted the Hotel and mentioned it was her Birthday and requested a " nice" room. We were given a suite ( Room 8), complete with full length dining table !
The staff were very frienly and helpful, especiallythe girl who grreeted up, sorry, didnt catch your name.
People complain about the hill, bit it easily avoided by walking along along the main road an turning left to the Hotel Entrance.
The Hotel is is an ideal spot for Waverley station and all the attractions and is very quiet.

Room Tip: If you are going to eat in the Bistro, take advantage of the early menu, mich better value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from overnight in Edinburgh and I am glad to have made the right choice by staying in this hotel. Staff are extremely helpful and polite, room was great with comfortable bed and powerful shower, and breakfast was fantastic. Better than many 4 star hotels!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LukeMurray17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#32 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,546 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
890 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $104 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing