We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #76 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Horley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Really nice Hotel!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights having read good reviews on trip adviser and it didn't disappoint, staff were friendly and helpful, ,rooms were clean and comfortable, breakfast was great and location was perfect for seeing the city sights. Very good value for money and would def stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SharonC1807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,013 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    474
    153
    28
    16
See reviews for
121
497
54
76
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Panama
2 reviews
Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

The staff was really friendly and helpful. Our room was clean and comfortable. The hotel is a block from the heart of the city. The wifi was free! All in all it is a great choice. The lobby is especially inviting with nice sitting area and a wine bar.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here on business during the week. Quick and friendly check in. Lounge area was traditional but lovely and quiet. Room service food was excellent and so was the breakfast. Room temperature was great and lots of hot water. Clean, quiet rooms and a comfy bed. Will be visiting again. The hill it's on would be a challenge to walk up and down if elderly but there is an alternative route. Close to all amenities.

Room Tip: Room no. 5 was lovely and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lori_millard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

stayed here in september and loved it!
close to shops and everything else you need, but out the way so nice and quiet
room had a very cosy feel and we loved it
staff were helpful and we got into our room earlier than expected which is always a bonus
would definately come back

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank just_the_two_of_us_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Firstly for the money I paid this was a nice hotel. Very central which is probably the best thing about the hotel. My room was comfortable and a really good size. I was in a J room meaning it was upstairs to go down and had no view but was nice enough.

My friend was also staying and in comparison her room was tiny. For same price I would been disappointed- again comfy enough but so much smaller.

There is no bar which was a surprise and I voted against the expensive breakfast.

Overall nice hotel, great location- if you can get good rate then I would go back. Recommend but you got hope for a big room...

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Abzlra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

I booked through an agent website (i'm not sure we are allowed to mention company names on here so I won't!) and got a reasonable rate of £90 per night for a twin room midweek - much better than some prices I have seen mentioned on here! I specified via email that I would prefer not to have a J room after reading some of the reviews and my request was accommodated but a very friendly reply from reception.

We were warmly greeted on arrival and given all the information we needed regarding restaurant times etc. The room (307) was clean and spacious, with all the facilities advertised - though you might have to hunt for them: previous reviews have mentioned no milk but we found it in the fridge of the mini bar rather than with the rest of the coffee/tea/sugar so I think those without it might have failed to look there! Beds are very soft and the pillows seemed new. The bathroom was stocked with plenty of toiletries for two which were replenished as necessary over the course of our stay. TV worked fine, basic channels.

We did not need to contact reception at all but whenever we encountered them the response was friendly and helpful. Breakfast is very expensive (£12.50 for full scottish or £8.50 for continental) but this is made clear on their website and in person upon arrival and you are not obligated to eat there - there are several restaurants close by offering breakfast. My son was disappointed with the range of foods available with the continental and I thought they could have offered children's prices considering the amount they eat, but what was there was tasty.

The only real downside we encountered during our stay was a loud & persistent dripping noise when the room next to ours showered (at anti social times unfortunately), got a bit annoying! Aside from that a pleasant stay in a good central location, within walking distance of everywhere we wanted to go in the city.

As others have mentioned, Calton Hill is steep so enter from the top end off Princes St, far easier.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cally1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

My Wife booked this Hotel for our Wedding Anniversary 3 weeks in advance after reading good reviews, we booked train tickets from Carlisle to Edinburgh as well. When we got to the Hotel we were told that they had double booked us and they had found us another Hotel down the road. Not a good start to our weekend. The Receptionist told us that this does happen unfortunately, why ? we didn't get an answer ? 3 weeks they had to contact us and we could have made a change in Hotel but they waited till we arrived . The Hotel they sent us to was a far less quality Hotel and we would not have chosen this Hotel. When we got to the second Hotel it was 3 o'clock, we were told the room was not ready and should have a walk around for an Hour before returning.Not a good start so be aware these people let you down

Room Tip: Find another Hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Solway C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#33 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,329 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#22 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 301 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,243 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#79 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Property: Parliament House Hotel
Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing