We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Quiet central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parliament House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Parliament House Hotel
Ranked #77 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Quiet central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

This hotel is located in a cobbled street so it is quiet yet very close to the centre - and amazing views of the city from the nearby Regent Terrace and Carlton Hill.
Staff friendly and responsive when I raised a query about my room.
Would stay there again

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, make sure you check when you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZOFIA D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    438
    142
    24
    15
See reviews for
108
451
48
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The hotel is lovely and very central (5 mins to station, 15 mins to castle, 10 mins to royal mile) the staff were polite, offering us free coffee and biscuits when we came to collect our bags long after checking out. The room (number 15) was nice with great views over the city and park. Would definitely stay again as i felt i got my moneys worth compared to nearby chain hotels which are a similar price.

Room Tip: Room 15 has two big windows with great views, lots of light although no lift so don't ask for it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AMP1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keynsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
293 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We would strongly recommend this hotel for a city break in Edinburgh.

It is in a prime location - 5 minutes walk from Waverley Station and a stone's throw from Calton Hill, from which we experienced one of the best 360 degree vistas in the world!

Attractions such as Edinburgh Castle and the Old Town are within 15 minutes' walk.

The hotel has a large, old-fashioned lobby, with comfy chairs, a roaring fire and free tea/coffee/newspapers.

Our room was spacious enough and the staff were very friendly & helpful.

An excellent find!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JulianFrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We got back last night from a very chilly few days in beautiful Edinburgh but one thing that was definitely not chilly was the warm welcome we got at Parliament House Hotel. The trip was booked as a surprise for my husband's 70th birthday and the room we were given (204) was just perfect. It was large, with a very large, comfortable bed, very clean and warm (it was freezing out, so that was very welcome!) The reception staff, Sheilagh, Jacquie and two other ladies who's names I didn't get, couldn't have been more helpful and obliging & the staff that brought our breakfast to our room each morning were polite & friendly, the dining room was closed for refurbishment, hence breakfast in our room. The full Scottish breakfast was very good, although I'm still not too sure about haggis!!!! The location is great, it's within easy walking distance of pretty much everywhere & the bus to Ocean Terminal, where Britannia is docked, is just around the corner. All in all a fantastic stay at a lovely hotel, with great staff.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LinR1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Although the hotel is situated in a back street up a steep road, there are other entrances to the hotel which do not require you to walk up any steep slopes. Upon arrival we were allowed entry to our room before the stated time, which was great, as we had some luggage to leave (there is also a drop-off area for this within the hotel). Reception staff were very friendly and welcoming, and were able to answer all of our questions. The manager was fantastic in dealing with and rectifying a problem we had discretly and professionally. The room itself was lovely - well clean, well-presented and comfortable. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh, especially those going to the Playhouse, as it's only a 5 minute walk away. I would definitely come back to stay here thanks to the friendly staff and comfortable facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulakx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cardiff
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Good location for all amenities,at the Waverley end of Princes Street, tucked away in a quiet side street. This hotel is a little gem, lovely rooms,beautiful hotel reception with a real fire. The staff were brilliant and extremely helpful. If I'm honest some of the public areas were a little worn but it didn't matter. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coral C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My friend and I booked this hotel, after reading good reviews, as a treat for our mothers as we were taking them to the Theatre for Mothers Day. I have to say we were all impressed by the standard of this hotel which certainly is a little gem tucked away down one of the many cobbled streets in Edinburgh. The location was perfect for the theatre, and the Omni centre with its bars and restaurants is about 5 mins walk. I would recommend taking the steps down as the cobbled street is rather steep. The hotel is perfectly located for Waverley station and Princes Street/George Street.

Upon our arrival our room wasn't ready so we left our bag in the little room and went for some lunch. When we checked in, i noticed a large dustweb in the corner of the room which should not have been there but after ringing reception, it was removed straightaway. The room (room 4) was of a very good standard, was extremely comfortable and quite large.

As the restaurant was closed for refurbishment we had breakfast in our room. My mam and I opted for the veggie breakfast and we asked for our quorn sausages 'well done' and that is exacty how they arrived. The breakfast was excellent.

In summary, if i am in Edinburgh again and require an overnight stay The Parliament House hotel will be my first choice and i would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 39Andrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#24 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 3,606 reviews
Old Town
The Inn Place
The Inn Place
#25 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Waterloo Place Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#43 of 151 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 stars 1,108 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Old Waverley Hotel
The Old Waverley Hotel
#100 of 151 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 stars 1,754 reviews
Old Town
Premier Inn Edinburgh Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parliament House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parliament House Hotel

Property: Parliament House Hotel
Address: 15 Calton Hill, Edinburgh EH1 3BJ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Parliament House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Georgian town house in city center; guest rooms have been tastefully furnished in keeping with the character of the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Parliament House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parliament Hotel Edinburgh
Parliament House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing