We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$268
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$511
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$275
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$152
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$248
$207
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$172
$165
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$180
$166
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$111
$101
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,229)
Filter reviews
1,229 results
Traveler rating
449
533
163
63
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
449
533
163
63
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrerubber ducktram stopmurrayfield stadiumminute walkprinces streetironing boardwest endwould stay againreception staffbooked this hotelbudget hotelcooked breakfastvisiting edinburghcomfy bedhaymarketbuses
Filter
Updating list...
744 - 749 of 1,229 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed here after staying in the other Apex hotel in the Grassmarket area of Edinburgh last year. Sadly there is little comparison. Our standard double room was small with awkward high windows which only gave in minimal natural light. Room contained a king sized zip link bed, one arm chair, small desk with plentiful plug sockets and desk light, kettle with tea/coffee, fridge with complimentary water x 2, small wardrobe space, small safe, iron + board. The light shades, bedding and walls were all suffering from stains and wear and tear.
Bathroom was of similar decor as rest of room - whilst modern it was beginning to show wear and tear including a chipped toilet seat. The bath was very short and the shower head not very efficient and had a tendency to be luke warm or scalding.
The hotel has free wifi which worked well although it didn't save your log in and you had to repeatedly log back in. The TV and DVD in the room worked well.
Our room overlooked the busy main road so the noise prevented us opening windows at night. The room did come with a table top fan which we did use.
One of the reasons we booked this hotel was the access to a car park but be warned the car park only contains approx 10 spaces at the rear lane and is used by staff as well as residents. The hotel is a short walk from haymarket station and will be near the new tram system once open in 2014.
The area has a number of decent cafes, restaurants, pubs and shops within 5 min walking distance.
We didn't eat in the hotel or take the breakfast so can not comment on food.
Staff at reception were polite, helpful and efficient.
Over all a hotel which is showing signs of its age and compared to other modern hotels in this price range you can find better accommodation in central Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Room to rear will be quieter but dark and have a poor view.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelling_pandas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel.
I appreciate your comment regarding the standard of your room and would like to assure you that the current maintenance and repair of our rooms is under review and improvements are being made.
I do hope that you will choose to stay with us again in the future and that this experience will not deter you.
Kind Regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here two nights as it was convenient for both Haymarket Station and a conference at the Hilton Grosvenor.

Recently built. Compact clean, comfortable rooms. Good walk-in shower.

Breakfast at £10 reasonable value for money.

No problems. Unlikely to stay at that end of Edinburgh again. Usually stay nearer Wavelet.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeremyMTS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Hi Jeremy,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex European Hotel, I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and was convenient for your conference.
There are 4 Apex Hotels located across the city, please visit our website for more information on their locations.
In the meantime, I do hope we will welcome you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the hotel in March 2012. The hotel is clean and modern. It can be accessed via a few buses. As two women (me and mom), we felt relatively OK in the area. However, the 2 blocks around are kind of dead after 6-7 PM, with very few choices of food. However, you can always get to the center and enjoy one of many food options there. This was my second stay in the Apex chain, and I'd stay at an Apex hotel again.

Oh, and we had breakfast in their restaurant, and it was pretty good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thedreamgl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review of the hotel, I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and will hopefully see you again very soon.
Best Wishes
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

My friend and i stayed here for 4 nights.
We had a good experience. The staff was friendly. The room and hotel in general were clean. And it was nice and quiet at night.
The only problem we had was the window, we couldn't open it cause it was broken, but the weather was chilly so there was no need to open the window.
But overall quite good.
I do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TorresMedina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent review of the Apex European Hotel, it’s always a pleasure to read such positive feedback about the friendliness of our staff.
The maintenance and repair of the hotel is an ongoing project and I’d be grateful if you could email directly at Vicky.rigby@apexhotels.co.uk with details of your room so I can ensure the window is repaired.
In the meantime, I will look forward to welcoming you back
Kind Regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

This hotel was in a good location on the fringes of the City Centre and provided good value for money, clean facilities and room and overall good experience.

The best part of it all was the ability to use their car park, which does not cost anything for guests. There are limited spots and definitely no guarantee of a spot, however if you plan your trip and are a little flexible is worth the effort if driving.

Would not hesitate to stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClaytonsReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the Apex European Hotel following your recent stay.
I was pleased to see you found the hotel to be of value for money and will look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.
Kind Regards
Vicky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews