We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great weekend !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great weekend !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just spent a couple of days there and i can say this location is about 15 minutes walk from city center , Rooms are clean although the windows are a bit small and the heating was a killer , had to open a windows otherwise would cook :D : D. They have free wi-fi not always working thou and cable tv. Price is not bad . Staff were really nice and help full. In the end it was a good experience im not really bothered about the heating and the wi-fi :D :D i liked it!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alexandru85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel following your recent stay, I was sorry to notice that you experienced problems connecting to our wifi, I can confirm that our engineers have investigated this and our wifi is now back in full working order.
As high levels of customer service is something we pride ourselves on, I am delighted to see that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful.
Thank you once again for your review and I hope to see you again soon.
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    428
    141
    54
    19
See reviews for
90
432
63
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dunbar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Room comfortable but very small. Breakfast OK. Bus stop outside is out of commission - catch bus near Tesco Express. Service friendly. Better to stay here for an overnight than a holiday.
A lot of noise from street traffic

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dzerbene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012

Double room but luckily I was on my own! There was so little space negotiation and forward planning would have been needed to move around the room. It was also dark as only 1 small window which didnt let in much natural light. Room felt quite tired and not the same standard as other Apex's I've stayed at - so probably a bit disappointed. Reception staff lovely & v helpful, if too busy to fulfil requests

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retreatScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Dirty, layers of thick dust, ground in dirt in the carpet
rundown, the whole place needs painting and I've never had a room with a toilet that flushes properly
, horrible service with sick check in staff sneezing and coughing over everything

noisy and insanely hot with all heating turned off, handy location though

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Squirrels-are-cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex European Hotel, I am most disappointed to see that your stay did not meet your expectations or indeed the high standards I expect from the hotel. Please be assured that the feedback you have provided has been fully investigated and re training carried out with my housekeeping team.
I’d be more than happy to discuss any further feedback regarding your stay, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at the hotel at vicky.rigby@apexhotels.co.uk
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
286 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is a decent hotel that is quite central. If you are planning to travel to Glasgow it is very handy for Haymarket station.

The breakfast was good and the room clean, if on the small side.

There was a number of extension leads and an electric heater in my room, It didn't look right or safe. This wasn't the case in other rooms.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gisUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed in the Waterloo Place Apex twice in the last year but stayed in the Apex European this week as it was almost half the price for the night I stayed, which at £54 which was tremendous value for an Apex in Edinburgh. The room layout was pretty much the same as the Waterloo Place hotel except smaller but it wasn't cramped, just fine for a short stay and comfortable and clean as always. Only difference with the bathroom was the shower was in the bath rather than the wet room style they have at Waterloo Place but it was completely fine and adequate. Staff friendly and proffessional. Location a lot better than I was expecting after reading some of the reviews. I don't know how slow some people walk but Princess Street isn't 20 minutes away unless you stopped somewhere en route for a 10 minute break! We found walking at a leisurely place that it was about 3 minutes to Haymarket Train Station. 10 minutes or less to the Lothian Road junction of Princess Street and also around 10 minutes to the Odeon filmhouse on Lothian Road if you walked along Morrison Street. Good value hotel which I would stay at again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoveHolidays081
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corryton, Tennessee
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is small, but comfortable. The staff is very friendly and helpful; they make a real effort to assist in every way possible. The location is very good, although a bit of a hike to Edinburgh Castle and the Royal Mile. It has a restaurant on the ground floor facing the street which serves good food, but a bit pricey-it seems that all meals cost 10 pounds regardless of what one eats. The neighborhood around the hotel is quiet , but there is some street repair in front which sends the traffic up Magdala Crescent and adds to the noise factor. Taking everything into account, I would recommend this hotel to the budget-minded traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Norman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Apex European Hotel, I was very pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay and found the staff to be very friendly and helpful.
As you noticed, there are some diversions in the local area due to the ongoing tram works and I hope these didn’t cause you too much inconvenience during your stay.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
West End
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing