We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in great location for walking the city (if you're fit)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire UK
Level Contributor
108 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good hotel in great location for walking the city (if you're fit)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We know Edinburgh quite well so mainly chose this hotel for it's price (including the car park) and location. I also like the Apex chain and would definitely seek them out again. Take the little rubber duck with you when you leave, to photograph all over the world :o) We stayed two nights - Sunday & Monday B&B.
The car park is fine if you arrive in the afternoon and park so you can drive out not back out.
We were on the top floor - 4, we asked to change from the original allocated room as it was overlooking the road and liked the back of the hotel better. This room, although small, had an armchair as well as the desk chair which was nice. Lovely clean & comfortable room and over bath shower en-suite. The towels could do with replacing to be more white & fluffy. Free wi-fi with secure log in (always an advantage).
Very friendly and helpful staff, gave us a map and explained some of the walks we wanted to make.
Breakfast is really impressive with buffet and made to order hot food. We also ate in the evening with the current 25% discount deal, plus £10 voucher as we booked direct with Apex. Very good steak and chips.
I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: I liked the chimney pot view from the back rooms on the 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hampshirelass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    417
    138
    54
    19
See reviews for
89
424
61
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

I came to Edinburgh for a weekend away with my boyfriend in October. We arrived a bit before the 3pm check-in time, so our room wasn't ready yet, but the helpful receptionist allowed us to leave our lugguage behind the desk so we could go sight-seeing. The hotel is quite a long walk from the city centre (25 minutes from Waverly Station) so the receptionist told us which buses we could get to the centre from near the hotel. When we returned in the evening, we were told that we could have a discounted meal at the hotel restaurant, so we booked a table for 8pm. When we went for our meal, we were sat at a table in the corner of the room behind a wall, so it was really difficult to get the waiter's attention. My boyfriend ordered the salmon, which when it arrived was a bit rare on the inside. He asked for it to be popped back into the oven for another 5 minutes. We had to wait 25 minutes for it to be returned, at which point the waiter informed us that it was 'proper' to have salmon a little rare, which made my boyfriend feel awkward about asking for his food to be cooked to his preference. We also didn't get the discount we'd been told about because it was after 7pm.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel, but I advise you avoid the restaurant!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AL21London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VickyRigby, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, I am pleased to see that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our Guest Services team to be helpful and informative. I am however, very sorry to read about your experience in our Metro West End Restaurant, this is certainly not the level of service I expect from my team and your feedback has highlighted an area for re training which I can assure you has already been carried out.
I am glad this will not deter you from staying with us again in the future and I look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind Regards
Vicky
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

I've stayed here 10-15 times for work, the rooms are nice although a little small.
The restaurant is excellent and all the hotel staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, particularly Slawek on the night shift.

The big let downs in the hotel are the Car Park is tiny and always a problem getting parked, although the staff are always very helpful when this occurs
The other problem is the room doors shut very quickly so you often here doors slamming shut which can be annoying while trying to sleep.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

The Apex European hotel is good price, quality hotel fare in a great location in the Haymarket area of Edinburgh. Prime location between Murrayfield and Edinburgh City Centre this is a perfect location for a six nations or European rugby cup weekend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came to Edinburgh early in October so I could take part in the Bupa 10k Edinburgh race. We arrived at the Apex European hotel where the male receptionist was very efficient and friendly, got us checked in no problem and very kindly booked us a taxi for later in the evening which was very helpful!

The room was small but very cosy, clean and all you need for a city break. At night it was very quiet, warm and the bed was very cosy! Had a great nights sleep!

All the staff are very friendly and accommodating, they were aware that I was taking part in the run on the morning of departure and allowed us to have a late check out which was great so I could have a much needed shower afterwards!!!

We received a £10 food and beverage voucher for booking online and the bar staff went out of their way to give us an excellent experience that you want to enjoy during little breaks away!

There is a train line just at the end of the road which takes you into the centre of the city in a matter of minutes for just a couple of pounds. We really enjoyed our stay and would defiantly stay again when we return to Edinburgh!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stayed there for a weeked. Unfortnately work was going on in the restaurant so a bit dusty at breakfast time. Lift was very small so never used it. Otherwise room was pleasant and faced rear car park so was quiet. Staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Small negatives first - as mentioned in previous reviews yes the reception area and rooms are small and the lift bouncy but apart from these small issues we had a very pleasant stay.

The room facities were very good - plenty of towels, tea and coffee as well as bottled water and a dvd player with the TV as well as freeview channels. There were 3 windows which allowed plenty of air in but when shut there was no street noise at all in the room - excellent for a light sleeper like myself.

The location was excellent - about a 20 minute walk to Princes Street or a 5 minute bus trip. There is a bus stop directly outside the hotel where you can also get a bus to the Zoo in approx 10 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nlouisew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing