We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff fine but hotel needs updating” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Apex Haymarket Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Seaham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Staff fine but hotel needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2011

Location is fine - just a couple of hundred yards from Haymarket station. Plenty of cafes for breakfast nearby. Bus stop just outside has several buses taking 5/6 mins into centre. A walk will take 15/20 at regular pace.
Staff are fine, pleasant and helpful. But the hotel is let down by its fixtures and fittings. Very 70s furniture and a plumbing system that sounded like a military engagement (really really loud and banging when someone nearby ran their water/shower.)
Small lift, but we were on the 2nd (212) floor so used the stairs a bit.
There's a restaurant on site but frankly there are loads more and better quaility in the centre of the city.
If you're a sound sleeper then you'll probably be fine.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank philbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your review, I'm glad to see you enjoyed your time with us. I am happy to report that we are currently working on updates for the hotel. We are about to complete a bathroom refurbishment and will shortly embark on a redesign of our bar and restaurant area. i hope to welcome you back in the near future to view the results!
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    417
    138
    54
    19
See reviews for
89
424
61
199
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2011

Cannot say ANYTHING bad about hotel and my visit. Everything was perfect- location, front desk help, breakfast, room, cleanliness and service. Hope I will be lucky enough to go back here!! Don't consider anyplace else in Edinburgh!! AND great value for the money.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen8151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel very soon.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2011

Although the rooms were very comfortable but they were very small and expensive specially during the end of December when we stayed for Hogmanay.
It is a good 15 - 20 mins walk from the princess street and you might end up taking a taxi / bus if tired.
the internet at the hotel was free but sucks, i could hardly log on to any of the websites.
Overall good hotel, but book only if you get a very good deal, not worth spending a lot of money.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gauravgangwani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 24, 2011
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your stay with us back in January. Our hotel is ideally positioned at the West End of town, within walking distance of the New Year festivities, yet far enough away from the parties to ensure a peaceful night's rest!

Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2011

Fantastic service the receptionists are very helpful & so pleasant we even got shown to our room. The room was very clean and the decor was very modern it was perfect. Our shower had jammed and couldn't get it turned off so we contacted reception the lady got someone to fix it straight away & extra towels were left in our room by the end of the night when we returned from our night out. The hotel was quite we never heard a sound until morning. We opted not to have breakfast as we thought £10 pp was abit exspensive. Overall a first class experience in a top class hotel

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davinastuart09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirsty-Cowan, General Manager at Apex Haymarket Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards
Kirsty Cowan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

I read the reviews on trip advisor and wish I had taken note! The 4th floor rooms are very dark and cramped compared with the other floors - you do feel like you are in someone's attic. Also we had a room on the road side and it was very noisy with traffic even 4 floors up!
So would ask for 3rd floor at back end of hotel in future.
The bathroom is the best feature as it was quite spacious, nice tiles and modern basin etc. I guess the opaque glass door to the bathroom is toughened glass. The bed and TV were huge but although the room has just about everything in it that you need, it is very difficult to move about - there just is no space. Also the vanity mirror is off to the side and it's very awkward to dry your hair whilst sitting sideways and trying to see the mirror. The bed was very comfortable and clean as was the bathroom. Toiletries were a bit mean but they did fill up the tiny bottle of shampoo each day. Coffee, tea etc was filled up every day too.
The walls were a bit scuffed but no suprise as you couldn't avoid banging into it.
The dining room was very clean and tidy but the stairs carpet and lift area were needing a good hoover.
Plus points are that ALL the staff were really lovely, helpful and friendly. The waitress that served us breakfast deserved a medal as I requested specific things for breakfast and how it was cooked and it returned perfectly as I'd asked and piping hot both mornings of our stay. She didn't grumble or make me feel I was being difficult but seemed happy to oblige. Good service and good food.
We ate out in the evening and would definitely recommend the Cafe Andaluz on George Street - wonderful but completely packed with people so pre-book. Didn't have dinner at the Apex so can't comment on it.
The bus stop is outside the hotel and train station quite near so no problem really to get about.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazel91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2011

We recently stayed at the Apex European and had no complaints. The rooms were compact but adequate for the time we spent in them. The bed was huge and comfortable. Breakfast was included which was good and the service friendly. Also had the "taste of Scotland" meal on our first night and this was tasty and good value.
Reception staff were very friendly on our arrival and gave us good advice on how to get around. 15/20 minute walk into town and bus stop outside with very frequent service. (Ensure you have the correct fare as no change given).
Only negative comment is that the tables are a bit tight in the dining room - if sharing a table with friends it is a bit cosy!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ackyflyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel for a pleasant and relaxing weekend away for my partner's birthday.

I booked the whole thing as a surprise and hoped I'd made the right decisions and I had! The staff were friendly and efficient on check-in and for the rest of our stay. We had a wonderful breakfast on both mornings and a lady int he restaurant was especially helpful on advising us of the best way to get to the zoo. The highlight of the lovely room has to be the bed which was huge and immensely comfortable after our busy days of walking.

The hotel is in an excellent location; 5 minutes from Waverley station on a train and within walking distance of the centre of Edinburgh. There are plenty of buses though which can get you there much faster so you can save your legs for all your sightseeing! Murrayfield and The Zoo are also in walking distance on a pleasant day but buses are regular there also. We had a wonderful weekend; I have already made a recommendation to family and I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for your next stay in Edinburgh... we'll hopefully be back for the festival!

Room Tip: Petit Paris, Grassmarket, lovely meal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank materialteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#57 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#26 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex Haymarket Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex Haymarket Hotel

Property: Apex Haymarket Hotel
Address: 90 Haymarket Terrace, Edinburgh EH12 5LQ, Scotland (Formerly Apex European Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Apex Haymarket Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small, friendly hotel situated at the west end of city center; minutes to the main shopping streets and entertainment district. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotel.de, LateRooms, HRS, Reservation Counter and Despegar.com so you can book your Apex Haymarket Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex European Edinburgh
Hotel Apex European
Apex Haymarket Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing