We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definately recommended.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #22 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Paisley, Scotland
Level Contributor
128 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Definately recommended.”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

My wife and I returned from a mini cruise to Amsterdam and went straight to Edinburgh to see the Lion King and therefore stayed over night at this hotel.

I had my doubts prior to arrival, as I had contacted them 2 weeks previously to request booking in an hour earlier than the advertised time. I was advised at the time that I could either pay for another night or take my chance that the room would be ready upon arrival. As it was, the room was ready and we were able to get to see the Matinee show (unable to book later due to the popularity).

The room was very spacious, well equipped and had a great view of the Castle. It had a massive bed, both in width and height and was very comfortable. The staff were all very courteous and welcoming.

We had decided to eat in the city centre after the show, so did not see the Brasserie until breakfast. It had a very warm atmosphere and the next time that I stay here I would probably have my evening meal at the hotel.

There is parking on site, but is limited, so you may have to find alternative parking if it is too busy.

It is a relatively short walk to Princes Street and it is very close to the King's Theatre and the National Museum.

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter and may offer a view of the Castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allangilmour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear allangilmour.
Thank you for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. With reference to your early arrival, we do try to accommodate these requests but it all depends at what time the departing guests leave in the morning.
Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    844
    489
    84
    18
    6
See reviews for
239
693
74
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I booked online based on other reviews, but one can never be sure...My reservation was part of a Delta Vacation package, and as n older woman traveling solo I wanted to stay in a safe, centrally located place. I was absolutely delighted with the service and accommodations at The Bruntsfield. It is a Five Star hotel in the old European style....the Concierge will arrange your taxis, cleaning services, recommendations for dining and museum tickets and reservations. All this plus fluffy duvets, spotless rooms, excellent free wifi in room, daily complimentary tea service with homemade shortbread, and a good french cuisine restaurant located in the lower level. I was even able to order a delicious pastrami sandwich and beverage at 11 pm, when jet lag struck, which was delivered with a smile by the night Concierge! Honestly, I plan a return trip to Edinburgh, and will definitely stay at the Bruntsfield again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the park out front, but bring ear plugs. There is a bit of traffic on tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovetofly727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 28, 2013
Dear lovetofly727
Many thanks for your review folloeing your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for all your kind comments. Best wishes for New Year
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times as we love Edinburgh at Christmas.
As always the hotel was faultless clean, warm and very cosy.
The staff are friendly and attentive, the breakfast's are lovely they offer everything you could wish for, for breakfast.
Great location the food in the restaurant is excellent and if you want to have an explore the area where the hotel is located is great for other restaurants and independent retailers always great for those stocking fillers.
Overall I would totally recommend this hotel and we will be back again next year

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Checkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Dear checkett
Many thanks for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your visit and look forward to welcoming you back next year. Best wishes for christmas and new year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Retford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2013

We have stayed at the Bruntsfield Hotel on quite a few occasions in the past few years, and it has never let us down. The staff on the reception desk have always been very friendly and helpful, and even though we are there only twice or three times a year to visit family, they do remember us, which is amazing considering the number of people who must stay there. This personal touch is important. In addition, the manager, Garry Field, is regularly to be seen around the building, so he is obviously interested in how the place is running. The rooms have always been very clean and well furnished. Sometimes, however they are somewhat over-heated for our liking, but that is easily corrected by adjusting the radiator, and/or opening a window slightly. The staff always try to accommodate our preference for a quieter room by placing us at the sides of the hotel, which is located on quite a busy road through Bruntsfield.
The hotel is well served by buses into the city centre and the bus stop is no more than 150m away. I doubt if we've ever had to wait longer than five minutes for a bus.
Car parking can be an issue on occasion, especially is you don't arrive early, but there is on-street parking opposite which costs £1 per hour. We buy a ticket and wait in the car, and have never had to wait very long before someone vacates a space and then we can just nip in!

Room Tip: If you like quiet, ask for a room on Leamington Terrace, or over the garden at the back. If you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston72911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear Winston79211
Many thanks for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 19, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for one night as part of our annual Christmas treat and would happily have moved in! It was faultless. Pristinely clean, comfortable, friendly, and welcoming. We had a pre-theatre dinner which was delicious and fantastic value, and were able to choose from a selection of wines by the glass or half-carafe (when one glass isn't quite enough), as we both have different tastes in wine, and we didn't need a Wonga loan to pay for it!! The breakfast was great with several "set" cooked full breakfast options, or you can basically choose from anything that's available. The staff are all great. Well-trained, friendly and ready to go the extra mile for the guests. There is a display of a number of awards behind the reception desk and they are all clearly well-deserved. I'd happily recommend this hotel and we'll be going back soon. The location is directly opposite Bruntsfield Links, a short bus or taxi ride (or easily walkable on a nice day) from Princes Street and its surrounds, and if you go in the opposite direction from Princes Street you are immediately in Morningside with all its wee interesting shops and lots of good eateries. definitely a hotel to consider for a short (or longer) City break.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marilynrEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Dear marilynredinburgh.
Many thanks for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and will apss on your kind comments to all staff concerned. Thank you for choosing BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel served its purpose. We wanted a night away and that is what we got. The rooms were clean, well decorated and the restaurant served a wonderful meal. The breakfast which was included was tasty and ample with a varied selection. I did find that for the price there was no little extras that would have given the night a little wow factor. Very limited toiletries, no hair dryer in the room, limited tea and coffee. It is handy to sight see and it does have parking which is rare. It would meet your needs but no more. I'm sure you'd get more for your money elsewhere.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Saltychip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Dear saltychip
Many thanks for your review following your recent visit. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay but was disappointed that you could not find the hairdryer which is usually to be found placed in the desk top drawer. I just wish you had contacted reception who would have been more than happy to help.
Once again thank you for chooing the BEST WESTERN PLUS Bruntsfield Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 148 in Edinburgh
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing