We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“50th birthday bash from Bristol”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #21 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“50th birthday bash from Bristol”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013

All I can say FANTASTIC!!! There were 14 of us from Bristol for my husbands birthday, the hotel was absolutely spotless, the staff were so helpful. The facilities were very good, breakfast however had a little blip one morning but was sorted. Lounge and bar very pleasant staff yet again very nice. Very good location of hotel close to shops, Edinburgh castle only a short walk away but a bus stop very close if you needed it. Definitely thinking of going back again next year.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the park are light and sunny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tina t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear tina t
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased all 14 of you enjoyed yourselves and that you found staff helpfull. Happy 50th
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    826
    477
    84
    18
    6
See reviews for
231
681
71
215
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke-on-Trent
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Good, pleasant faultless service. Good location. Good breakfast, dinner average but good value. Very pleasant relaxing environment. Outstanding service from Grant the cocktail master in the bar. We will be back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike and Margar... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Mike and Margaret. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. Grant will be pleased with your kind comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

Have stayed here before hence the reason for staying again. Booked this hotel as it was only a 5minute taxi journey to the Playhouse Theatre. Went to see The Lion King. I was driving to the hotel and parking is very limited on the actual grounds of the hotel. But as it was after 6.30pm we arrived, parking was free on the opposite side of the road and did not charge on a Sunday. Very easy check in at reception and rooms are well sign posted. We had a Queen sized bed, which was very comfy and felt that you sank in it when you lay in bed! Went to the theatre and had a meal opposite it and hired another taxi back, (£10 to and £10 back…isn). Returning to the hotel at roughly 11.30PM was no bother. Entered the rooms and had a very good nights sleep. Breakfast was lovely although the staff didn't look to happy to be working. Plenty of choice on the continental and cooked breakfast menu. On return to the room we then showered. This is its downfall. The water pressure was poor, the bath looked very tired as the silicon seal around the bathroom was coming away and was poorly, as it looked like a top up. The temperature was fluctuating up and down constantly. This is my only complaint as the previous visit, the bathroom was excellent. Would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor and request a room either at the front or back of the hotel. If you get a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear fadders. Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased overall you enjoyed your stay. I have noted your comments about shower pressure and have instructed our maintainence engineer to check boiler and hot water pressure on a regular basis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
114 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed a four night stay here. At check in we were greeted very warmly and efficiently and immediately given useful info` about getting around,directions, buses etc.An excellent start.
Our room was on the first floor overlooking the park and was very nice; spacious, light, airy and with very adequate storage facilities. (the net curtain could do with being attended to as it did not cover the window....a minor point that caused us no problem).
En-suite was light, warm and very user friendly. Again a very minor "niggle" was the lack of power from the shower and it being at a fixed height made it difficult not to wet your hair when showering.
Toiletries were supplied daily.
The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean.
Even with the window open at night we were not disturbed by noise and the hotel seemed to be well sound-proofed.
Breakfast ; excellent choice and service and cooked items cooked freshly to order. Lovely coffee from the machine too! A special mention should be made of Jean/Joan? the breakfast waitress.....she was a lovely lady who greeted us so cheerfully each morning and always wished us an enjoyable day.....thank you for serving us so well.
The shortbread biscuits in a jar at reception were delicious and rounded off each day nicely, with tea/coffee in our room!
Having parking at the hotel was a real bonus. Buses stop right outside and are frequent so the car had a good holiday too.
I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
We ate at the Bisque Brasserie once and I have reviewed this separately.

Room Tip: Room 114 was at the front overlooking the park and was extremely comfortable, light, spacious etc. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Py M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear PY M
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your four night stay
and have passed on your kind comments to Jean. I look foward to welcoming you back at a later date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Hotel much improved since our last visit there, but this was more than 20 years ago. Excellent accommodation and quiet -looked over towards Fife. Friendly and attentive staff. We even got parked! Parking is limited, but free with a permit from the hotel. I can honestly say we did not have even a minor cause for complaint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Carolyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
garryfield, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Carolyn H
Thank you for your review following your recent stay. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope you will not leave it another 20 years before returning.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,235 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#22 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,217 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
BEST WESTERN PLUS Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing