We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but not much parking”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
Ranked #23 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 17, 2012

Nice hotel, friendly staff in a great location near the centre of Edinburgh. My room was perfectly fine and well equipped. Minor gripe however is that the parking is fairly limited and when I arrived at about 6pm the only space available was a disabled spot which to be fair the hotel allowed me to park in. If you are taking a car, you may have a problem if you turn up and the car park is full as the surrounding residental streets are chocker. That apart no problem recommending this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rheindahlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russell_Imrie, Managing Director at Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 23, 2012

Dear Rheindahlen

Thank you for your review following your stay with us. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel comfortable but note your comment about our car parking. Free parking at city centre hotels is rare however we are lucky to the the closest hotel in Edinburgh to the heart of the city with free parking. We find that 26 spaces for our 67 bedrooms is normally sufficient as not all our guests arrive by car. Our staff will always assist every guest to park their car, even if it is a temporary parking space until a permanent space becomes available. Thank you for your constructive comment and we will ensure that we continue to manage our parking for the satisfaction of all guests.

Your sincerely

Russell Imrie
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,486)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,057 - 1,063 of 1,487 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

Fantastic hotel in a prime location with fantastic staff who are friendly/courtieous and recognised us on our second visit to the hotel. The hotel was spotlessly clean and and our room was cosy and equipped with tea/coffee facility which all made for a perfect stay. Beds too are really comfortable. Thank you for another wonderful stay. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 4ladies_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

My first visit was back in November, I was made to feel so welcome & at home at this hotel that it is now my first choice every time I visit Edinburgh. The rooms are very spacious and the decor is of a high standard, not the usual straight lines & neutral colours you find in some of the modern hotels. The restaurant & bar staff was helpful & friendly, the overall experience was one to make my stay there a very pleasant one.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

Stayed with friends recently and I cannot say anything bad about this hotel at all. It just about warrants a four star rating, its not luxurious, modernistic or even rustic or romantic. It does what it says on the tin. Its friendly, clean, warm, serves up good food in real time, and has a really good well stocked bar without inflated prices. Room was large with plenty of wardrobe space, modern tv, touser press, iron, hairdryer, kettle, modern bathroom, fluffy towels, wi fi and a nice comfy bed. The area around it reminds me of Notting Hill with little Bistro's and independant shops. £6.50 in a taxi to Princes St, regular bus services, and the theatres are a stroll away down the hill. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wornoutbootsCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was a good choice for our 3 days in Edinburgh! Our room was comfortable and well appointed and was situated to the side of the hotel, so traffic noise was minimal. The restaurant and bar were very friendly and had very good staff in them. The car park is not large, so recommend once you have a space, leave it there during your stay.This city has probably got one of the best bus services in UK and you can get into town, or any of the main siteseeing places from bus stops close to the hotel. If you have good weather the walk into town through the park is highly recommended, and don't miss the whale bone arch as you get to Jawbone Walk, which will bring you the back way to the Royal Mile. We were enjoying ourselves so much that we forgot to check out on the correct day, and had to book another night, which was all handled very well by the reception staff. We will definately come back to this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor at the side of the hotel, and the only noise on one occasion was from an...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

My sister and i are just back from Edinburgh. We stayed here for 3 nights. Overall we had a very pleasant stay at this hotel. Location wise,its about 15mins straight walk along Lothian Road into Princes St. There is a bus stop right outside the hotel,but we never used it. The hotel is in a lovely quiet area and by the looks of it,very safe area too.
We only ate at the hotel on the day we arrived as it was early morning time. Breakfast i would say,was maybe the only thing we didnt like. It was just a little bit dry and not very hot. The waiting staff are lovely though so really couldnt fault any of that.
The room we had was lovely. nice big room with a lovely big bathroom. huge big floor to ceiling mirror which was really impressive. The shower was lovely and hot and the heated towel rails were a nice touch too.
The beds were the comfiest beds that i think i have ever slept in.
The staff are all lovely and friendly in this hotel and helpful aswell. One chap suggested a lovely pub down the road where we went for few drinks before dinner,and it was really nice.
I would definetly recommend this hotel and would not hesitate to stay here again if we visit Edinburgh again. Edinburgh itself is a fantastic city and really hope we will be back.
Thanks again to the staff and keep up the good work!! :)
Amy and Ashley from Ireland!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bubbles24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights, warm friendly staff in all areas, good sized room and bathroom, brilliant breakfasts. Very quiet and even though our room overlooked the road we had no problem with noise.Couldn't fault it at all. Bus stop into the city a couple of minute walk from the hotel and buses every few minutes, direct bus to the Royal Yacht from this stop. Would certainly stay again. Thank You.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villagefolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,384 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
558 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Residence Inn Edinburgh
Residence Inn Edinburgh
#38 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel

Address: 69 Bruntsfield Place, Edinburgh EH10 4HH, Scotland (Formerly Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $115 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A traditional Edinburgh townhouse style hotel with contemporary touches overlooking a park near the city centre and all attractions. High quality and tastefully designed individual bedrooms. Relax in the comfortable lounge and enjoy casual gourmet food in Bisque Brasserie. Free guest WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Bruntsfield Hotel Edinburgh
Best Western Edinburgh
Edinburgh Best Western
Best Western Plus Edinburgh City Centre Bruntsfield Hotel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing