We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free Upgrade to the best suite in the hotel - Brilliant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 6, 2007

After debating what hotel to book, I arranged to stay here with my Fiancée on the 3rd and 4th March 07 for her forthcoming birthday. I was delighted to have been told that we were given a free upgrade to a suite, which we subsequently found out was probably the best room in the hotel.

The suite was very spacious and clean. We received bottled water each night, which also came in useful after a few alcoholic beverages. The best thing about having a suite was access to the 'library' which was a designated room for guests staying in suites only. Here, breakfast was served as well as afternoon tea and cakes and champagne in the early evening.

The restaurant was nice and modern with great food served. The wine list was also very extensive which came in handy.

We also used the swimming pool, sauna and steam room which were all very good.

Overall, we had an excellent stay and with the addition of very good staff, we would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to stay in Edinburgh.

Stayed: March 2007
4  Thank JD_Chaplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,926 - 2,932 of 3,104 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2007

Stayed here over the weekend of 17-19th Feb. Hotel is very clean, and our room was of a good size for the amount of time we spent in it. Fresh towels evey day, and complimentary water given each night. We did not have dinner in the hotel, but the breakfast was very good with an excellent selection of cold buffet style meats etc, or you could have cooked Scottish breakfast, or kippers or haddock. One complaint however was that on the Saturday and Sunday the dining room was very busy and we had to wait about 20 mins before we were shown to a table. There was orange juice/ coffee/newspapers you could enjoy during your wait. All staff were friendly and helpful. The gym and swimming pool looked very inviting, unfortunately we did not have the time to try them. Very limited car parking, and at £15 per night, we parked in the NCP car park 300 yards up the road for £10 per night. The hotel is at the bottom of the Royal Mile, right next door to the new Scottish Parliament building, which you can visit without having to pay, I would recommend you pay for a Tour guide (£5 pp), as you are limited to what you can and cannot see if you dont. I would also recommend climbing Arthurs Seat which starts just across the road from the hotel and takes a couple of hours, of fairly strenuous effort, and you are then rewarded with spectacular views of both the city and the surrounding area. In summing up this was an hotel we would have no hesitation in making use of again.

Stayed: February 2007
6  Thank AliBScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

Stayed for 3 nights in a double room. Very clean and well decorated room. Room service was excellent. Breakfast was great and would recommend the kippers. Staff extremely friendly and predominantly Scottish. Great location at the bottom of the Royal Mile close to Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament.
Since I have been before I can say that the hotel gets better each
time and of course I will be back and would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank STY40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2007

we stayed at the holyrood in jan 2007 after booking it on the internet after searching through reviews for hours, we werent sure what to ecxpect but we were very pleased with the hotel excellent rooms service and food. would certainainly go back there, only down side the hotel is slightly out of the centre but walkable within ten minutes which didnt spoil our stay, you could always get a taxi which cost around £3.00. also the pizza express & the thai restaraunt near the hotel did fab food, the drinks in the hotel were expensive but there are so many places to eat in drink in edinburgh you were spoilt for choice, a must at the hotel is the breakfast first class

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank venizia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2007

We stayed in this hotel overnight on 20th January 2007. We were very impressed by the courteous and helpful staff. Our room was on the ground floor, and the view from the window was into a stairwell of the flats next door, however we were unconcerned with this as it was only an overnight stay.

The room was extremely comfortable, good size, imaculately clean. The bathroom was large and even had a speaker from the T.V in the ceiling. Hairdryer, iron and ironing board and bathrobes were provided.

We did not have dinner, but the breakfast was excellent, a very good choice, something to suit everyone. I would definitely return to this hotel, although it may be a bit pricey.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2007

Just returned from weekend at the Holyrood in Edinburgh, after lots of consideration and reading mixed reviews about various hotels we decided to go for a special offered by the hotel.

We stayed on the sixth floor in an executive suite and were well looked after by all the staff - from entering the hotel to departure all the staff were extremeley helpful and nothing was too much trouble.

Good location, a 10 minute walk from the station just off the Royal Mile. Hotel overlooking the Dynamic Earth and is around the corner from Holyrood Palace and the Scottish Parliament Building.

Excellent evening meal and breakfast although a bit pricey if not included in package.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank crayjacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2006

Stayed at this hotel in November 2006. It was a short winter break and great value for money. As part of that was a complimentary bottle of champagne.
The rooms were adequate although the view not inspring. Excellent clean large bathroom.
Leisure facilites were also very good, only down side was that the steam room was closed for refurbishment.
Other problem was being woken at 4am due to a false fire although that's something outwith the hotels control.
I'd certainly recommend staying here more so given the location of a ten minute walk to the Cathedral and other tourist points.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank givemeaclue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,727 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#82 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,448 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,612 reviews
Leith
Malmaison Hotel
Malmaison Hotel
#94 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $112 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing