We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$860
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$148
$136
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
$169
$124
HotelIndigo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Old Town Chambers(Edinburgh)
$255
$187
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$249
$194
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
$166
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Travelodge Edinburgh Central(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
$82
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (3,218)
Filter reviews
3,218 results
Traveler rating
1,466
1,124
394
160
74
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,466
1,124
394
160
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdynamic earthroyal milescottish parliamentparliament buildingarthur's seatlovely hotelspa treatmentssauna and steam roomcooked breakfastgood sizeper nightexecutive roomleisure facilitiesbreakfast servicebooked this hotelweekend breakenjoyable stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,040 - 2,045 of 3,218 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2014

Myself and my husband stayed here for our anniversary on Sunday, this was our second time at this hotel and again we were not disappointed with our choice. All of the staff are very friendly and extremely helpful, we had an evening meal in the restaurant and the food was excellent and could not fault the service, a special mention the restaurant staff that evening. Once again had a great stay here and will definitely be back in the future. Good location, very good facilities and rooms are very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank IanG94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear IanG94,

Thank you for offering such a glowing review of your return visit to us here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

The team will be so pleased you enjoyed your anniversary and that you found it to be exceptional. It’s very rewarding for us when we hear that our guests have a memorable stay especially given that you have stayed with us before and that we continue to offer a great service. I will take great delight in passing your feedback over to them.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do look forward to you returning to us very soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Booked as recommended to us. Nice hotel, clean and pleasant room although not a lot to see from window. We pre booked the car park at £25 per night as it is very small, not sure where the nearest car park is. We ate in the restaurant one night, food was lovely. Breakfast was part buffet with the cooked breakfast made to order, only complaint here was didn't clear the tables of crockery as you finished with things! Had a pool and spa. Used the pool and sauna. Nice size, changing rooms and towels provided. It is located within easy walking distance to the royal mile and the old town. Uphill on the way there! Friendly staff. Would use again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Amanda L,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us.

I am glad you came to stay with us on a recommendation and that you enjoyed your overall stay.

We do recommend you pre book car park when bring a car as we only have limited space, where by it would be a first come first serve basis if not booked. There is a local NCP car park which is located over at Dynamic earth (across from the hotel), however its having the peace of mind that you can have it valet parked with us along with it being safe and secure under ground.

I will certainly review your comments with the Bar & Restaurant manager in relation to your breakfast experience as the team are generally have the eye for detail and clearing tables.

Once again thank you for your comments and we do look forward to you returning to us very soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed in Edinburgh for 3 nights at the Macdonald Holyrood. We did not have a car so relied on walking and taxis. The hotel itself was beautiful and the staff was very attentive. We had an included breakfast which was excellent, and we ate dinner there one night. We don't usually eat dinner in hotels, but I must say that the food was excellent for dinner as well. The room was large and comfortable and well-appointed. The only downside to the hotel if you don't have a car is that it is as the bottom of the city near Parliament. Although it is a nice location, walking is mostly uphill. So on each outing, we took a taxi to the highest point we were visiting and then walked down. It worked out fine.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Kristin b,

Many thanks for your kind review of the hotel.

I enjoyed reading your comments and am pleased that you enjoyed your over all stay. We are very proud of our new Rocca, it certainly is going down a treat. Our guests are certainly enjoying the fine Scottish dishes with an Italian twist.

We are known as the hilly city of Scotland and even though are location is very central in the old town, yes we are at the bottom of the hill being the Royal Mile.

Your feedback is very much apprieactied and I thank you for taking the time to offer it. We do hope you come back and visit us soon.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Fortunate enough to stay at the MacDonald as part of a tour group. The room was extremely spacious with huge & very comfortable king size bed, mirrored built in robe which included safe & ironing facilities, comfortable arm chairs, drinking water supplied. Good bathroom with heated towel rail. Pretty good breakfast too! Would definitely recommend this well located hotel.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank Chichilina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Chichilina,

Thank you for offering your review from your recent stay with us here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I hope you enjoyed your tour and that you have some great memories of our wonderful city.

Your feedback is very much apprieactied and I thank you for your kind words regarding breakfast and our rooms being comfortable and spacious. We have recently refurbished 4 floors of our bedrooms giving them a whole new look and feel. It’s great that you found them spacious and comfortable as they are just that!

We do hope to see you on a future trip to Edinburgh and thank you once again.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

My husband treated us to a weekend in Edinburgh for our first wedding anniversary. Even though the hotel was very busy with guest staying due to the common wealth games everything was second to non. Our room was upgraded to a beautiful suite with an amazing view. On the first night we ate at the Rocca restaurant which was 1st class. The hotel gave us a complimentary glass of champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The staff were friendly and gave us some great ideas on how and where to spend our time in Edinburgh. We will definitely be going back and are even looking at bringing our children over Christmas for the festive party nights. Would definitely recommend this hotel and restaurant. First class quality and comfort with genuine happy friendly staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Dear Lauren C,

Thank you for taking the time to offer your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I am so glad that you both enjoyed your overall experience with us and that you found Rocca to be first class for service and food.

It was lovely to hear that you had a nice anniversary and that the team looked after you so well. They will be encouraged that you are looking to come back with the family over Christmas. We have great packages available so please do feel free to contact us directly if you require any information on this.

We look forward to welcoming you all back at the end of the year.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews