We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“7th Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #53 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights 18-20th December for the 7th year in a row around the same dates.
This year the restaurant had finally had a refurb and it could not have been done better.
We have always dined here for 1 of our evenings and the food this year was as good as it has ever been.10/10 for everything. We would especially like to say that the young Swedish waiter ( so sorry we forget his name) was excellent with his service standards and friendliness.

Breakfast is of a high quality with everything you could possibly want. Never had to wait for a table and the food was delivered promptly.

The rooms are due for a refurb next year and this will be the icing on the cake to what is already a fantastic hotel. The staff are wonderful, and the location could not be more ideal being about 2 minutes walk to the royal mile.

Can't wait to return next year.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilkesk&P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear wilkesk&p,

Thank you so much for your glowing review from your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was delighted to learn of your enjoyment and that the team along with Marcus in particular looked after you so well! We are very proud of our new Rocca Bar & Restaurant, its certainly receiving great feedback from our regular guests.

It was a pleasure to hear about your positive experience and I really appreciate you taking the time to share your views of the hotel.

We look forward to seeing you in the New Year for your 8th visit, and thank you for your continual custom.

Best wishes for 2014
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,019)
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,016 - 2,022 of 3,021 reviews

Reviewed December 22, 2013

This hotel was very nice, though was being refurbished when we visited, but there was a discount so that wasn't so bad.

The hotel is quite traditional and well presented and the staff are very polite and friendly. Nice pool and sauna and steam room also.

Breakfast was a bit confusing as you had to ask for eggs because these were cooked first, but this wasn't made very clear and so by the time they came the rest was cold. Also would have preffered freshly squeezed juice. Thus breakfast was so so.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have access to library which serves free canapes at 6pm (at least it did for us).
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jelnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 27, 2013

Dear Mr jelnet,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us here at the Macdonald Hotel.

We have since completed the refurbishment of the Bar, Lounge and Restaurant area. This gives the hotel entrance a whole new look and feel. I do hope you will return to see this as it really is a fantastic transformation.

I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.

Best regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

We got a good deal on this room, but as I lay here for the second night unable to sleep due to this torturous mattress, I regret the decision to stay here. The mattress has to be at least 30 years old. I'm pretty sure my grandmother had the same mattress.

The restaurant, however, is excellent and highly recommended. The wife got mussels and they were delicious, plentiful, and reasonably priced.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JacobDarby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 22, 2013

Dear JacobDarby

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, we very much appreciate your feedback.

Its most disappointing that you were not able to sleep due to the mattress, we normally received such good feedback that they are very comfortable. We are about to undergo a full bedroom refurbishment in January to which they will all be replaced.

I am glad you found the food and a price at Rocca to your liking, we do hope you will come back at stay in our new rooms to enjoy the overall experience.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

Rocca, the new restaurant at Macdonalds Holyrood has changed the face of the hotel. Quiet sophisticated dining . The steaks are first class as is the service. Have returned three times and have not been disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClanHendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2013

Dear ClanHendy,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our new Rocca Restaurant here at the Macdonald Holyrood hotel.

I am so pleased you enjoyed your overall dining experience with us, the team will be encouraged by your glowing review.

Here at the hotel we are very pleased with the fantastic transformation. Our bedroom refurbishment will commence in January that will tie in nicely with the lobby giving the hotel a whole new look and feel.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and thank you for your continual custom.

Kindest Regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2013

Having experienced a few niggles on a previous visit, I decided to return for a short overnight stop on business. This time round the welcome was excellent but, unfortunately, there was refurbishment work ongoing in the lobby area.

It's likely related but room service was limited to sandwiches and snacks which was disappointing at the end of a long day. Worse still, the next day the breakfast room was full when I arrived, with many guests waiting for tables. Perhaps less of an issue if you're on a leisure break, but I didn't have the luxury of time to hang around for 15mins or so for a table.

Overall, a disappointing experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AberdeenEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Hillbilly_8,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to review the hotel.

I am very disappointed to learn of your disappointment given that it was your second stay with us.

I would like to assure you that your experience is not at all reflective of the usually high standards and quality that we pride ourselves upon delivering at the Holyrood. As you have touched upon the Hotel was undergoing refurbishment work and was benefitting from our on-going commitment to invest in our Hotels so that we may provide the best experience and facilities to our guests. As a result of this work we were offering Breakfast and Dinner in an alternative area. Whilst we were endeavouring to deliver the same high standard were are very limited to space in the temporary dining room. I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations during your visit.

I would be delighted to discuss your stay with you directly and would welcome any further feedback you may be able to provide. I can be contacted on opsmgr.holyrood@macdonald-hotels.co.uk. I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back and experience our fabulous new product and enjoy that should have been memorable for all the right reasons.

Kind Regards
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We stayed at the Holyrood for a weekend break. This has been our 5th trip to the city but the 1st time in the Macdonald. We were able to check in before 11am having telephoned the previous day. The staff were excellent very friendly and helpful.
The room was great, spacious and clean with a generous sized bathroom.

I'm pleased to report that the refurbishment to the bar and restaurant mentioned in previous reviews is now complete. It has been finished to a very high standard.
Breakfast was very good with a cold buffet and full English options.
On the Friday night we dined in the Restaurant (Rocco). It was fantastic, the mussels were up amongst the best we have had and the scallops and steak divine.
All in all an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillbilly_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 13, 2013

Dear Hillbilly_8,

Thank you for submitting a review of your experience following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I enjoyed reading your review and appreciate the helpful details regarding Rocca. It is lovely to receive feedback of this nature and the team are always encouraged by it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2013

My wife and I recently travelled to Edinburgh for a weekend break and choose the Macdonalds Holyrood Hotel for accommodation and a base of operations. We were very pleased with the Hotel choice. The Room was spacious, well laid out, Clean and the Bathroom was lovely with an excellent Bath/Shower.

Upon arrival the Staff were very good at the front desk right from the off. There is currently work being carried out to improve the normal breakfast area so in future this will be good but this was explained to us upon check-in so we didn't go to Breakfast each morning with high hopes due to the temporary setup.

The breakfast was not great but as mentioned we were told of the work being carried out so I do not want it to reflect on this review as it would be unfair on the Hotel and Staff.

The Location was perfect. The Hotel sits in close proximity to the start of walks up Arthur's Seat which is worth doing, Areas such as Royal Mile, Grassmarket are all a short walk away. Edinburgh is not exactly the cheapest place but I was pleased with the Rates I got from Macdonalds for the Quality provided.

We will be staying here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GibJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2013

Dear Gib Jones,

Many thanks for taking your time to review your recent stay here at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel.

I was delighted to note that you and your wife had such an enjoyable stay, especially our location and your room lived up to your expectations. As you touched upon we were at the time undergoing a full refurnished to our restaurant and bar area which is now fully operational and doing very well. Our Macdonald signature breakfast is back to its best!

It is great to know that the team were courteous and helpful and that you will return - we look forward to welcoming you.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#69 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,017 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 150 in Edinburgh
4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#64 of 150 in Edinburgh
752 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#31 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $128 - $434 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing