We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel - Even better staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #55 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Spennymoor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel - Even better staff”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

When stopping here i found this hotel to be brilliant, the staff couldn't do enough to make our stay amazing, It was my girlfriends birthday so i pre-ordered a bouquet of flowers, box of chocolates and two glasses of champagne on arrival. We did arrive a bit early and the room wast fully ready which is understandable so we went for a walk around the city instead of waiting in the reception. On arriving back at the hotel the room was ready and they concierge knew that I had the things on order and literally ran out of reception and got 2 fresh glasses and the ice cold bubbly to our room before we made it up the lift.

Also when asking for advice on restaurant or places to go they couldn't help us enough with advise on the best restaurants in the city center.

Not only a beautiful Hotel with everything you need but great staff that you get the feeling love working there.

I will be going back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy_rob2639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear andy_rob2639,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to submit your review following your stay at the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I do hope your girlfriend enjoyed her birthday.

I was delighted to note that you enjoyed your stay, particularly the helpfulness of the staff. We do strive so hard to ensure our guests have a memorable stay.

We appreciate such a helpful review, and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future for your birthday treat!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,934 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,326
    1,022
    368
    148
    70
See reviews for
353
1,524
104
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Booked this hotel through Late Rooms about six months in advance, I have used Macdonald hotels before in Manchester and the Lake District, so had no hesitation in using the Edinburgh Macdonald hotel. Hotel was good, and convenient for the Royal Mile and the city. Weekend was very hot, therefore the room was very hot, but not complaining as we do not get enough hot weather in this country. Room was comfortable and very clean. We did not eat in the hotel as we had restaurants in the city booked, so cannot comment on the food. The hotel looked after the safe parking of the car, and returning it when we left. I will certainly use this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenandchristine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear allenandchristine,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. Its encouraging to hear that you like staying with our chain across the UK. I recommend that you join our Macdonald Loyalty club to ensure you are rewarded for your custom. I was really pleased to learn of your enjoyment and especially that you felt the location was convenient for you as we are right in the heart of the old town.

We appreciate the recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back!

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

In July 2012 we booked 2 rooms - 1 double and 1 twin - at the Macdonald Holyrood hotel in Edinburgh for a weekend in July 2013. We booked 12 months in advance as we were visiting for The Open (golf) and knew that hotel rooms would be hard to find in the city over this weekend. After a long drive we were greeted with the news at reception that only 1 room had been reserved and that the hotel was full. I showed the Late Rooms booking confirmation to the reception manager, who acknowledged that I had made no mistake, however he maintained that Late Rooms had communicated to the hotel that just 1 room had been booked. Obviously I don't know who's fault this was, Late Rooms or the hotel, but the point remained that we had only been reserved 1 room. Standing firm I told the reception manager that his suggestion for us to take a room at their sister hotel was unacceptable and not what we had booked, 12 months in advance. Eventually he presented us with keys for a room which I can only assume left another poor guest without a place to stay for the night. Regardless, we now had 2 rooms. Overall the reception manager did his best to help and I can't really criticise him. I was also grateful to him for providing free car parking as recompense for the hassle. However, to book hotel rooms 12 months in advance and then travel a long distance to be told that the room(s) are not available is completely unacceptable. It is highly unlikely that I will book into another Macdonald hotel after this experience.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ARHar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear ARHar,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel following your stay with us.

I was sorry to note your experience upon check in. It would appear having now investigated your feedback that the 3rd party booking agent you booked through only advised us of one room, hence the mix up. The Reception Manager did acknowledge this mistake and did his upmost to have it quickly rectified. I am sorry that this held the check in process up given that you had such a long car journey to get to us and that you had booked 12 months prior.

It is great shame that you feel you would not return due to this booking error, however I can assure you that this oversight was not on our part and that my colleague did everything he could at the time.

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back on a future trip to Scotland to which I would be happy to assist you with.

Kindest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Hotel was great, they looked after our bags from 9am (weren't supposed to check in until 2pm) and took them straight to our room. Lovely room immaculately clean, staff were very chatty and helpful. Breakfast was delicious and plenty on offer for everyone.
Swimming pool and gym were great, steam room and sauna very good. Changing room showers looked a bit tatty but not sure if they were being renovated.
Rooms were quite warm even with air conditioning on but we weren't too worried about this.
Top tip: definitely put a do not disturb sign on your door if you intend to stay in bed later than 9am!

Room Tip: Ask for views overlooking the hills / Scottish parliament!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lasenbizzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Lasenbizzle,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review of the Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. I was really pleased to learn that you found the location, food and staff to your liking!

We appreciate such lovely feedback and look forward to welcoming you back!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We were on a CIE Tour and spent 2 nights here in June, 2013. It was a great time and loved the location. Service was a little slow in the restaurant at breakfast but the food was good, the staff was quite helpful and our room was fine - no problems. (with 25 people coming in at once with luggage, it could be difficult)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sharon908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear Sharon908,

Thank you for your review, I am so glad you have a lovely visit to Edinburgh and that you enjoyed your stay with us. The team will be pleased when I share this with them.

I hope to welcome you back on a future trip to sunny Scotland!

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

put into this hotel as everywhere very busy. I was upgraded to an executive room just as well as the weather was baking and the air condition didn't work. Large room with 4 windows that opened and also had a fan. The other good thing was the free champagne and canapes at 6.00pm in the library. Good gym and a good sized pool to cool down in but the showers in the changing rooms need some refurbishment. Beware of the breakfast surcharges for smoked salmon or kippers.

Room Tip: executive rooms are larger and get free access to the library for free champagne
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarky57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Clarky57,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Hotel following your recent stay.

I was delighted to note that you had such an enjoyable stay, and that you were upgraded to one of feature rooms.

The hotel is about to undergo a phased refurbishment over the next few months to which the pool and changing facilities are a part of. This will give the hotel a fresh new look and feel after successfully operating for 13 years.

We look forward to welcoming you back on a future trip to Edinburgh.

Best wishes
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Quiet, well appointed, with easy access to sights. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. Good breakfast, with plenty of choice and cooked items prepared to order.
In need of some updating, carpets, leisure facilities in particular.
Will stay again.

Helpful?
Thank george s
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MacdonaldHolyrood, General Manager at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Dear George S,

Many thanks for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found the location, staff and food to your liking.

We do hope you will return in the future to experience our newly refurbished property.

Warmest regards
Pamela McAllister
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#62 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#26 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#56 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,092 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#32 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing