We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only downside to the whole experience was a wonky lampshade!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #52 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed November 10, 2012 via mobile

I booked this hotel for one night for my girlfriends birthday. We arrived before the scheduled check in time and were shown straight to our room. The room was cosy and stylish with more than enough room for 2 untidy people. The free additional gym, steam room, sauna and swimming pool are a sweet touch. The breakfast was second to none, 5 minute casual walk from the train station, the only downside of the entire experience was a slightly wonky lampshade!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Biss5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,387 - 2,393 of 3,104 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2012

Situated close to Holyrood House this hotel was ideally situated and not too far from the town centre and railway station. Breakfast was very good - one of the few hotels to give you crispy bacon when you ask for it. Room excellent - only downside was parking wasn't included in rate and was very expensive.
Would definitely use again if visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Arriving on an emergency visit. I booked this via last minute.com. On arrival the service was excellent, with a marvellous concierge named Tony, what a super star. The room was very spacious and well presented. The hotel is old, and a little tired in areas but still comfortable. Getting to the hospital vis the centre of the city is a nightmare!! They are tram building and it has ruined the access to the city. Day two decided to have the breakfast, costly at £15.50 pp but there was a fab array of choice, and the service was excellent. Expensive, but worth it. We used the pool facility, although it was crowded with a baby swimming group. Temperature was lovely and changing rooms a little cramped but usable. Staff cheerful and helpful. Where it fell apart was the evening meal. Menu more suited to a steakhouse and bar. Very disappointing. The service was poor, food cold, not a good experience. Hard to believe it was the same place that we had had breakfast in. However, I have to say that when I voiced my disappointment to the manager, she quickly put things right which was a pleasant surprise, will I go back? Yes, because they actually cared that things should be to a standard of their four stars. Points of interest, it is a two minute walk to the Scottish Parliament House, and same for the discovery centre.

Room Tip: There are no wet rooms, but if you let the hotel know in advance if you use a wheelchair they will e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judyparry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I have stayed here before but this time I was less impressed. My husband was pleased that we were on the 6th floor as it has access to the library room which is a comfortable addition. The check in was slow but the service was very good otherwise. The room was clean but could have been more comfortable. The pillows were poor, the armchairs need to be retired in other words a wee bit TLC needs to be given here.
I know that nowadays TVs are put on the wall on a bracket but does it have to be without an eye for design and off the level.

This is a premier location and a high standard hotel but this visit didn't match my expectations so come on Macdonald Holyrood this is Scotlands capital and visitors come from all over the world so we need to impress.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulineGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here for a short break. Hotel in excellent location. Very close to all tourist attractions and royal mile. Also handy for princess street. Very close to train station and also handy if travelling by bus. Staff extremely helpful and courteous. We had a twim room which was at the back of the hotel. Very quiet room and very spacious. Bathroom was of good size. Cannot comment on food in the hotel as we ate out. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I stayed here the first weekend in November 2012 for a Stag do. I arranged it myself and booked the hotel via expedia. It was excellent value, the service was great and some of the lads made use of the pool. Although this hotel is right in the centre of the 'party' part of town its easily walkable and very near the Parliament end of the Royal Mile. Would definitely go back with the wife.

ps Drinks at the bar are expensive.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Japeski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I arrived to check in on Friday and was met by a very enthusiastic and friendly member of staff. The lady was full of conversation which was nice.

The room was to be a double, I was disappointed to be greeted by a twin room 'double'. Yes it was two beds shoved together. I can not say neatly zipped together because they were not. The bed separated almost as soon as we sat down on them. The sheets were not big enough to cover the full 'double' bed. The separation of the beds became more apparent as we slept. I rolled over at one point to find my other half and lost my arm down the centre of the bed. Hmm...

The bed clothes; what can I say about them... Tired and had an ammonia smell. It was like they had been treated for something or with something. My other half described it as almost 'stale sweat'. It was not nice and even a tin of body spray didn't mask it.

The general appearance of the room was very tired. The shower leaked so badly that it pooled all over the floor and seeped into the towels etc.

At check in I discovered that I stupidly hadn't booked breakfast; silly error. The hotel lady offered to add it to our bill. It was declined, as at £15.50 per head for a continental spread with a small hot plate was not really worth it. There is a perfectly nice organic eaterie a few yards up the road.

Still on the food theme... Dinner would have been nice in the hotel but that would only be possible if you loved meat, lots of meat. A Steak Grill as a place to eat does not really appeal to everyone. I do eat meat and like a steak but more choice please!!

Check out; staff seemed to be a tad agitated. The only thing that was uttered was 'room number ONLY', as the chap checked us out. Not even a 'did you enjoy your stay?'. What a difference a couple of days makes eh? The lady at check in was friendly and smiled; the chap at check out gave the impression that he couldn't wait to get rid. Poor.

I think as the four word title says, this hotel is in a good location but the bedroom and stairwells are very tired.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppet81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
3,734 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Ten Hill Place, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
The Scotsman Hotel
The Scotsman Hotel
#83 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,452 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#29 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $111 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing