We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Ranked #56 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Cumbria
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, good location”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We visited with friends and both of us were pleased with rooms, facilities and customer service. There is also valet parking if you come by car (the car parking attracts an extra charge but it is secure so it was worth it). The hotel is about fifteen minutes from Princess street, and the same for the castle. Lots of pubs and restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eternaloptimist58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,962 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,333
    1,035
    374
    149
    71
See reviews for
355
1,538
106
380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

A wonderful Hotel, attentive staff, tremendous service & the food was exquisite.
Ideally located next to the Royal Mile & the Castle, a great place for tourists.
We had our evening meal there & I gad steak which was perfectly cooked to my taste. We ordered the red wine which was recommended by our waitress which complimented our food.
I will definitely return here, we had a wonderful weekend in a wonderful Hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hazykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The reception person was lovely. It was quite a walk to get there from the station but well worth it.
The local area was good, walking distance to many attractions, a supermarket nearby, Holyrood about 5 minutes away.

The room looked a bit old fashioned but it was very clean, spacious, really nice bathroom, and best of all, a nice pool area. I would definitely stay there again if I have the chance to visit Edinburgh. We didn't have breakfast or dinner at the hotel so can't comment on that.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avs75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
212 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

A modern take on a MacDonald, a new build hotel that is good but a little way out of town. It has all the amenities (pool, gym etc) but lacks character of other MacDonald hotels as it is in a new building down by the University so handy for that.
Rooms were clean and I was lucky to get a room on the front which was a mini-suite - rooms comfortable, bed was ok and generally ok as a business traveller hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y2CLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
127 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We spent 2 nights here while our son moved into his student accommodation which was next to the hotel. We had booked a standard room which, when we entered it, stank of smoke. We called down to reception immediately and were upgraded to a superior room on the executive floor. That was fine but I do think that housekeeping should have noticed the overpowering smell of smoke and we should never have been given that room in the first place. Having said that, both the standard and superior rooms were clean and pleasantly furnished.

Our stay was during the very hot weather during the first week of September and when we rang down to reception to ask how to turn the air conditioning on as we couldn't seem to work it out, we were told that the air conditioning was not working. I feel we should have been told this on check in and perhaps provided with a fan as the room during the night was in fact unbearably hot!

We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment on the food.

We would stay again because of its proximity to my son's accommodation.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chocolateloverlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

This is a backdated review. Our stay was so relaxing that I believe I fell pregnant at that hotel! The room was large and decorations were simple but did the job. The special thing about this hotel is the restaurant. We dined there every night of our stay. The food was superb. The service was excellent. Special thanks to Frank who was the manager at that time. Yes, I still remember his name - goes to show how memorable our stay was. My son is now 2 and a half. Thank you Frank, your team and all at Macdonald Holyrood Hotel. We will return soon.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ButtonNose_ET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edwardsville, IL
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Macdonald's Holyrood Hotel was in a good location for us, so that is why we stayed here. Our room was okay, but nothing special. We had a bed, a table with an office chair, and two armchairs. That was it. The throw on the bed was faded, and somehow, I expected more than this. The bathroom was pretty, all in marble, but the shower was so impractical. The plastic shield that kept the shower water in the tub did not have a seal at the bottom, so all the water leaked out of the tub and dripped onto the wood facade on the front of the tub. Needless to say, the floor also would get wet, so we ended up having to mop up all the water after each shower. The wood facade was in terrible condition from being wet and either needs to be replaced or refinished. Staff was okay, but, again, nothing special here either. Room was hot, and controller for air-conditioning did not seem to work. When the maid came in, she opened a window to cool off room, even though a sign said not to open the window.

Room Tip: Our room faced a side street, so it was quiet. Traffic facing the hotel was heavy, so it made it no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelinglefty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#64 of 148 in Edinburgh
979 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 148 in Edinburgh
963 reviews
Old Town
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
Hilton Edinburgh Carlton
#61 of 148 in Edinburgh
601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Macdonald Holyrood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Macdonald Holyrood Hotel

Property: Macdonald Holyrood Hotel
Address: 81 Holyrood Road, Edinburgh EH8 8AU, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Castle / Royal Mile / High St
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#33 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#56 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Holyrood Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Edinburgh's old town, adjacent to the Scottish Parliament, Macdonald Holyrood Hotel is one of the city's leading hotels which has recently completed a £2.5million investment. Whatever your reason for staying, visiting on business or visiting the fascinating city of Edinburgh, you'll find our bedrooms are some of the most comfortable in town, our Vital Health Club is ideal to unwind in and our brand new Roccas restaurant is stylish and sophisticated, serving the best quality Scottish home comforts with an Italian twist. A meal, afternoon tea or champagne at the bar is certainly not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotel.de, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Macdonald Holyrood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Holyrood Edinburgh
Hotel Macdonald Holyrood
Macdonald Holyrood Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing