We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Very Comfortable”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #46 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 30, 2007

We arrived well before check in on a rainy Wednesday morning and were told (with a smile)that our room was not quite ready but that the staff could stow our bags and take them up if we wanted to start our day in Edinburgh. We took a moment to change and were off. On our late afternoon return, we were shown to our "twin" en suite room and given a brief tour on where things were and how they worked. The staff was professional but also friendly and willing to answer our questions. Beds were comfortable, the room was well-appointed, and the bath was almost as large as the bedroom. Lovely hot water and toiletries by Moulton Brown.
We found that getting to breakfast by 9AM was the best way to get a good choice from the buffet, although the servers were happy to take orders for anything from porridge to a full breakfast. There was a good selection of fruits, cold cereal, even yogurt, and the porridge arrived piping hot. We also ate dinner there our first evening, after having a drink in the adjoining bar, which had a neighborhood feel to it. The food choices were excellent, fresh and well prepared.
Everyone we saw, from the housekeeping staff to the concierge and the barman, was friendly, willing to chat and eager to help.
We would definitely stay there on our next trip to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank catsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,331)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,133 - 1,139 of 1,331 reviews

Reviewed May 21, 2007

We stayed in a Superior room for Saturday and Sunday nights for our anniversary. The staff were all really friendly and alert. The room was large, stylish and characterful, with a comfortable bed. The roof skylights meant that you could have a luxurious bath while gazing at the sky. We got a roll-top bath, not a spa bath, which was like a normal bath only prettier and deeper. The shower was lovely too - soft but thoroughly drenching, and the tolietries were Molton Brown. They didn't provide bubble bath, which would have been the icing on the cake.

However, what happened with the breakfasts?! On Sunday morning we had a lie in, as is reasonable on holiday. We were in the breakfast room 5 min before breakfast ended (10.30), but almost none of the buffet was left. There was 1 canape-sized pastry left each, a handful of browning grapes and about 5 slices of salami that were beginning to curl at the edges. Even the tinned prunes had gone! The friendly staff cooked us breakfast, but as a vegetarian the choice was limited to very greasy egg, tomato and potato cake. The next day we came down with half an hour to spare (breakfast ends at 10 on weekdays). This time there were a few croissants left, a couple of spoonfuls of prunes, about 10 slices of salami and about 6 thin slices of (tasty) watermelon. Some people came down just after us, so even less was left for them.

Luckily we got our room booking through a late discount website, so we hadn't paid the full price, but it was still the most expensive place we'd ever stayed in. The rooms do have a certain elegance and comfort that explains price, but the breakfasts were amazingly disappointing - probably the worst we've ever had in any hotel/guesthouse. Surely they should know how many guests they have staying, and provide enough food for everyone?!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank PurpleFox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We stayed at The Channings and our daughter had her wedding there.

We found that the staff could do no wrong, they where thoughtfull, kind, efficient and attentive. The setting was just wonderful. The use of Earnest Shackleton's library for the ceremony just add to the excellence of the venue.

The canapies and wedding breakfast was exceptional with wines to match. The other food there was of extremely high quaility.

We spent 3 nights in the hotel and couldn't have asked for more.

If you're looking for a hotel with atmosphere this is the place.

Thanks to all the staff you were all great.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian_Powolny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2007

We had a standard room which was traditionally furnished with a nice view but I was disappointed with the small bathroom, which had cracked floor tiles. The bed was very comfortable, although it did have two separate duvets. Not a problem. The hot breakfast on the Saturday seemed to have been cooked in advance but the Sunday one was better. Fruit and pastries, however are not replenished so if you arrive after, say 9.30 you just get what's left. If breakfast is included in your rate, fine but otherwise I would go somewhere in town. Location was a little far out for my liking. It is a good 15 min walk to Princes Street and more for any of the sights. It is not somewhere you can nip back to mid day with your shopping and taxi fare is £5+. I would recommend staying here if you can get one of the nice bathrooms I heard of and you can afford frequent taxi fares.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank Blackcat2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2007

We stayed here just after the New Year for my husbands birthday. Edinburgh was great as always. This was the 1st time we stayed in the "new town" area having always stayed around the castle before. The area was great, not too long a walk from Princess Street - about 10-15 minutes. I felt a bit disappointed in the hotel though. The staff were great, helpful & friendly. I had requested an upgrade if possible at the time of booking but wasn't given one. Hotel wasn't busy either.No mention of my request made by the booking in staff. Therefore the room we got was a disappointment. The bed was huge and overpowered the room, the cushions were stained & the bathroom was tiny. After reading reviews about big bathrooms & roll top baths I felt a bit let down. We ate in the bar one night & the meal was great. Service was adequate, slow and it wasn't a busy night either. We might go back but would definitely book a suite. Staff made up for the let down.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Pyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2007

Having arrived at the Point hotel for a well earned break from our own building works to discover they were decorating on the corridor where they were proposing to put us. The duty manager managed to get us alternative accommodation at Channings. What a lucky break for us, from the moment we arrived the staff, without exeption were wonderful.
Particular thanks must go to Marshall who salvaged a potentially awful situation and turned it into something magical.
The room (a suite) was fantastic. The bed very comfortable, one criticism the tv stand was too low for viewing from bed. But the bathroom really had the wow factor.
The food was excellent and the rib eye probably the best we've ever had. Try the grilled goats cheese starter it's seriously good.
We will return and recommend this highly for quality and service

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardanddee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2007

I booked for Valentine's Day directly with the hote lfor my partner and myself, we are from Edinburgh.
I booked an overnight stay in a double room (Number 4) with evening dinner. On the phone the staff were extremely helpful and kind.
On arrival this trend continued. We checked in the evening and I was pleasantly surprised at the excellent standard of our room, it was very grand and clean with a lovely bed, and spotless bathroom, with free Molton brown toiletries. The bath was stand alone and large, with shower over it. There was also a separate shower. There were clean, crisp and freash white towels. There was plenty of drawer and cupord space with hanger if needed. Obviously we didn't need these. There was an E-TV in our room with net access and e-mail client, a buit in jukebox with a vast range of artists, good selection of movies (at a charge), it also had a remote and wireless keyboard, the screen was a tad small but a flat screen none the less.
The veiw from the window was not great because we were not in a front room, but who goes to a hotel to look out the window!
We went for dinner in the main restaurant, it was a limited selection but lovely and worth every penny we had the steak and the portions were very large and of excellent quality.The staff were polite and friendly and very sensitive to needs an wants.
We ordered room service(24 hr), again choice was limited but all tastes catered for. Lovely and well worth the money, again staff service was excellent. We odered a wake up call which we recived on time.
We checked out a noon, no ques quick and friendly service we were asked by various staff if we enjoyed our stay including the manager. We got a complimenty cup of tea/coffee while we waited on our cab home which the girl at the desk offed to call us.
Overall an excellent stay, loved it, would go back! Been recomending it to people since!

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Edinburgh24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,438 reviews
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#22 of 151 in Edinburgh
823 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
587 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#26 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,204 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#28 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $120 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing