We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treat yourself!! Stay at the Channings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Treat yourself!! Stay at the Channings!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2006

We stayed a glorious 7 days at The Channings for our wedding in Edinburgh! Everything about this hotel is perfect from the very helpful staff to the hearty breakfast included in the room charge, to the huge luxurious bathrooms in the attic rooms! Even the location is wonderful since it's very quiet and a short (10-15 minutes) walk to Prices Street and the Royal Mile. But it's the staff that makes The Channings the best hotel in Edinburgh! Treat yourself and book a room here, and make sure to request an attic room. You won't be disappointed!

  • Liked — The luxurious bathrooms!
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Book an attic room
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Buffy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    387
    125
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
691
55
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2006

Arrived in Edinburgh for one night of our honeymoon and stayed at Channings. When we booked we mentioned it was our honeymoon and we were put in to one of the newly refurbished rooms. After a bit of local tourist information from the chap who showed us to our room we found the room to be a good size and the bathroom frankly enormous with one of the most fantastic showers I have ever had the good fortune to get wet in!! The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble for them. An excellent place to stay.

  • Liked — The shower
  • Disliked — The hefty tray charge for breakfast in the room
  • Tips/Secrets — Ask for one of the newly decorated Endeavour rooms
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

Our group had three rooms at the Channings and all were extremely comfortable and clean. We ate in the bar twice and found the food to be quite satisfying even though the menu was rather short.. The service was quite efficient and friendly and the dogs were nice to visit with. Our room number was one and it was a pleasant room overlooking the street with the four poster bed. It did sag in the middle, but we were so tired from sightseeing that it didn't matter. A large bathroom was nice. The only complaint about the room was that they had meetings or a wedding in the public rooms nearly everyday and we would have to walk upstairs, down the hallway and back downstairs to reception. Not a problem, but inconvenient. All in all, we really enjoyed the quiet atmosphere of the Channings and recommend it.

  • Liked — Quiet atmosphere
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessie11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

Picked from this website we were very pleased with our choice.
from check-in to departute the staff vere extremely helpfull and polite. 15 mins from Princes Street The Channings is ideal for everything you want. Excellent choice at breakfast, clean spacious rooms. Free internet access was a bonus, a must in this day and age.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You wont go far wrong here.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank patrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Having read reviews of this hotel, and looked at their website, we booked a superior room, and looked forward to some of the luxury we had read about. Unfortunately our room was disappointingly ordinary, as was the bathroom. There may have been a good view if the tall trees opposite the hotel were cut down! There was only one small radiator but we couldn't get it to work, and no heating in the bathroom. The extractor in the bathroom didn't work either, so the mirror was constantly steamed up.

The food was good, but the restaurant almost empty and therefore lacking in atmosphere on a Friday night.

Channings was OK, but really nothing special, and if our room was superior, I dread to think what a standard room was like.

It was, however, in a great position, a nice quiet road only 10 minutes walk from the City Centre, and the staff were friendly, though not always terribly on the ball!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tandsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

I arrived at the Edinburg airport and took the express bus downtown. Little did I know that the bus passed a block away from Channings off Queensferry Road and paid the 10 pounds to taxi back to the hotel. At first glance the hotel looked a bit run down and small from the quiet street as I exited the cab. I even asked the cab driver if I was at the right place having had a different impression from the website photographs. My misgivings vanished upon my greeting from the young lady at the desk. The hotel lobby has the look of a living room, perhaps in need of some new carpet but attractive. A quick checkin had me shortly riding the tiny elevator to my second floor room. The hallways are narrow as Channings is three townhouses combined but I was amazed at the size of my room with a bay window framing Tony Blair's university in the distance. It was a great view. The bathroom was equally large, clean and modern and the bed was huge with a wonderful white duvet to dive into after a long days sightseeiing. Breakfast was included in my stay and was served downstairs in the modern light filled resturant. Late night drinks in the bar chatting with guests, mostly Americans, and locals stopping in for a sherry with their labs was relaxing and fun. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and the walk or easy bus, the 19 or 41 get you onto Prince Street in minutes. Finally the free internet access thru the TV in your room is a service that every hotel today should provide yet doesn't. As a world traveler I give Channings four out of five stars. Replace the carpet.

  • Liked — Comfort, quiet, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — buy the day pass on the bus
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rjmurphyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

I don't think that I could put in words how fabulous this place is! The front desk staff were extremely helpful and super nice! The room was huge and the view was great! This hotel is within walking distance of Princes Street and the castle, but far enough away to not have to deal w/street noise. The food in the restaurant was terrific!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#40 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,838 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing