We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #35 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent stay.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2006

Picked from this website we were very pleased with our choice.
from check-in to departute the staff vere extremely helpfull and polite. 15 mins from Princes Street The Channings is ideal for everything you want. Excellent choice at breakfast, clean spacious rooms. Free internet access was a bonus, a must in this day and age.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — You wont go far wrong here.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank patrobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    668
    387
    125
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
690
55
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Western Ireland, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

Having read reviews of this hotel, and looked at their website, we booked a superior room, and looked forward to some of the luxury we had read about. Unfortunately our room was disappointingly ordinary, as was the bathroom. There may have been a good view if the tall trees opposite the hotel were cut down! There was only one small radiator but we couldn't get it to work, and no heating in the bathroom. The extractor in the bathroom didn't work either, so the mirror was constantly steamed up.

The food was good, but the restaurant almost empty and therefore lacking in atmosphere on a Friday night.

Channings was OK, but really nothing special, and if our room was superior, I dread to think what a standard room was like.

It was, however, in a great position, a nice quiet road only 10 minutes walk from the City Centre, and the staff were friendly, though not always terribly on the ball!

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank tandsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chevy Chase, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

I arrived at the Edinburg airport and took the express bus downtown. Little did I know that the bus passed a block away from Channings off Queensferry Road and paid the 10 pounds to taxi back to the hotel. At first glance the hotel looked a bit run down and small from the quiet street as I exited the cab. I even asked the cab driver if I was at the right place having had a different impression from the website photographs. My misgivings vanished upon my greeting from the young lady at the desk. The hotel lobby has the look of a living room, perhaps in need of some new carpet but attractive. A quick checkin had me shortly riding the tiny elevator to my second floor room. The hallways are narrow as Channings is three townhouses combined but I was amazed at the size of my room with a bay window framing Tony Blair's university in the distance. It was a great view. The bathroom was equally large, clean and modern and the bed was huge with a wonderful white duvet to dive into after a long days sightseeiing. Breakfast was included in my stay and was served downstairs in the modern light filled resturant. Late night drinks in the bar chatting with guests, mostly Americans, and locals stopping in for a sherry with their labs was relaxing and fun. The staff couldn't have been more attentive and the walk or easy bus, the 19 or 41 get you onto Prince Street in minutes. Finally the free internet access thru the TV in your room is a service that every hotel today should provide yet doesn't. As a world traveler I give Channings four out of five stars. Replace the carpet.

  • Liked — Comfort, quiet, friendly staff
  • Disliked — the carpet
  • Tips/Secrets — buy the day pass on the bus
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank rjmurphyjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, IN
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2006

I don't think that I could put in words how fabulous this place is! The front desk staff were extremely helpful and super nice! The room was huge and the view was great! This hotel is within walking distance of Princes Street and the castle, but far enough away to not have to deal w/street noise. The food in the restaurant was terrific!

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank catlady6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2006

The staff in Channings go out of their way to be helpful and friendly which creates a lovely, welcoming atmosphere about the hotel. The hotel is lovely as well, from the outside courtyard to cosy bar, I would definitely recommend staying here to anyone.

  • Liked — staff
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Elli24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

My husband and I stayed for a long weekend arriving on Friday 8th September. We stayed in room 12 with a jacuzzi bath!

From the minute we arrived until the time we left the staff could not have been more helpful but were never intrusive.

The building itself is beautiful but comfortable and in no way pretentious.

Our room was clean, nicely furnished with the aforementioned bathroom.

All in all we had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel

  • Liked — Spacious, well furnished room
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Tips/Secrets — Bear in mind 10 - 15 min walk to City centre
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank 2265tah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2006

My husband and I spent a long weekend at Channings recently and had an absolutely fantastic time from the minute we entered the front door.

The reception team and porters are some of the friendliest and helpful people we have come across in hotels. Nothing was a problem and ladies some of guys are quite cute!!!!!

We were lucky enough to have booked one of their fantastic new Shackleton rooms on the top floor, like one of the last reviewers we too had the yellow room but we loved it! It has the biggest bathroom I have ever seen, underground heating, wet room shower and a huge bath what more do you want?! Yes the style is slightly different from the rest of the hotel but it is slightly more modern and looks great! Reading the other person's review made me laugh she/he obviously sees themselves as critic/author. We used the info book and found 2 fantastic restaurants, if you like Italian go to La Piazza!!!!

Breakfast portions are a bit on the small side but they have a decent size of buffet that suited me better as I prefer the healthier option in the mornings.

The only real bad thing about our stay was that we had to leave!!!

We will definitely be going back!

  • Liked — The staff
  • Disliked — distance from city centre
  • Tips/Secrets — booking the top florr rooms!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank TouringTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,837 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing