We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #37 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Braganca, Portugal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed July 13, 2006

We spent 4 nights at Channings...and what 4 nights!!!
From check-in to check-out there were no negative points to be found.
The service is outstanding: check-in, breakfast, dinner, bar and housekeeping...
everything was flawless.
If you want to go out for dinner, think twice...
stay in and Fiona will take care of you. The kitchen is one of the best we have experienced so far.
Myself and my partner work in top hotels in London and for us this was the perfect break in Edinburgh.
THANKS CHANNINGS!!!

Helpful?
7 Thank LeLibero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    400
    126
    36
    19
See reviews for
140
700
58
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 27, 2006

Felt I just HAD to write in about and tell all about the fantastic time my mother and I had at Channings early this month. We decided to come here for a shopping trip and picked here because of the reviews on this site, we figured so many people couldn't be wrong - and they most certainly weren't.

Loved it as soon as I arrived. Our porter Richard was very charming and immaculately presented. My mother said he was the nicest young man she had encountered in many a year and even offered to take him home! He respectfully declined. We also encountered another Richard on our trip - a manager - who was equally charming. If you come across them I promise you are in for a treat. First class.

Room was great, lovely view, extremely clean and comfortable and had a great entertainment system. The beds were superb but so high off the ground! They looked so neat and tidy it was a shame to mess them up.

Food at night was second to none but the service wasn't what we expected after such excellence in the lounges but I suppose you can't win them all. They were not unpleasant just a bit short with us and the bar tender seemed uninterested in talking with my mother.

Fortunately, it will not put us off returning. Will reccomend and will be back

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2006

Stayed 2 nights.Taxi frem airport to Hotel - much quicker than a bus or coach.
Room was not ready as we arrived early however friendly staff held our bags whilst we went off exploring Edinburgh.
First night room overlooked Edinburgh skyline, but the room was not as great as expected / assumed from site.
Second night had one of the superior rooms on th top floor (same price), alot better - bigger rooms and massive bathroom - get one of these rooms if you can.
With any luck the hotel will re-fit the other rooms to the same standard.
Flat screen tv, big bed, large shower... only thing missing was a fridge - I do hate those little milk cartons they never taste great and you always get one thats gone off!

Anyhow, first night ate in the hotel - menu limited, good quality food, presented well, good service but small portions - you wont get fat here.
It would not cost the cook much more to add some veg to the plate. Anyhow overall good.

Cooked breakfast was good - however again portions were v small. Service in morning not so attentive (different staff). Stick to the contentinal if you are on room only.

Second night the guy at reception arranged a table at The Tower that overlooks the castle & taxi to get us there - well worth it for a meal, if rather expensive.

Next day went to the museum (same building as The Tower - go there its free and worth lookign around, then goto the very top floor for the views.

Overall: good hotel, and good service (I dont often say that). Will return.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Horace101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 18, 2006

Me and my boyfriend spent 2 nights in this hotel and it was amazing! In a beautiful Georgian building, well furnished and the bathroom is something else. Highly reccomend this hotel, the staff are extremely helpful - special thank you to Scott who kindly told us the best places to eat and drink - we booked at the places he reccomended and they were a fantastic choice!!!

Would definitely go back!

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2006

I have stayed at this traditional hotel on two separate occasions and both times were greeted by very friendly staff who make it a very enjoyable place to stay. It is located in an upmarket quiet residential part of the city and after a 15 minute walk over the Dean Bridge, you can be in Princes Street. The location is therefore ideal for those who want a good nights sleep but still wish to be in easy reach of everything Edinburgh has to offer. The rooms are comfortable and well appointed and have individual styling with everything you should need. Give it a try I'm sure you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WhatsItLike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2006

We spent four nights at Channings. We certainly had a prime room - well-decorated and spacious with a view over chimney pots and gardens and Fettes College (reputed to be a model for Hogwarts and alma mater of Tony Blair). We were there on an Internet special for about $230 a night with the fourth night free. The hotel is a short walk to a bus stop which goes right along to Princes Street and Waverly Station. About 20 minutes walking gets you to the closer (castle) end of Princes Street. We walked 10 minutes in another direction to Stockbridge, a "village" with excellent and reasonable restaurants and an eclectic array of charity-owned thrift and second-hand shops and original boutiques.
The staff at Channings was very friendly and very helpful and the breakfast was excellent. I wish we could have stayed much longer!

Helpful?
7 Thank atlantaresident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2006

We stayed at this hotel for one night in May. The staff were very friendly, helpful & went out of there way to make sure your stay was memorable from the moment we walked in.

We stopped in the Quest room & it was fantastic! Both the bedroom & bathroom very extremely big with attic windows which had a fantastic view over Edinburgh. They were spotlessly clean & the decor superb. The bathroom had a walk in power shower along with a freestanding bath big enough for 3!

Fantastic staff, fantastic view, fantastic room, would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone, get yourself there!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CHRISVODKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,877 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#14 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#12 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#24 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing