We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down over the years - shame.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #31 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Teesside
Level Contributor
102 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Run down over the years - shame.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

We were really looking forward to our return visit to Channings, with memories of gentleman's club style luxury. However, the past few years have taken there toll on this once quality hotel. The staff were helpful, though not sure about staff wearing canvas colourful boots and missing a concierge. We'd had a long drive so had a quick look at the room which looked ok but tatty around the edges and went for a walk on return the neglect became apparent. The bathroom tiles desperately need re grouting, the plug was broken and the knob used for making it go up and down fell off revealing the silicone glue used to stick it back. We were due to go out so just ignored it - though weren't happy. On return when we went to bed there was no light switch to be found on one side - this meant that you couldn't switch on the bathroom light without putting on all of the room lights, not very good at 3am on a toilet run! The mattress was solid, not firm just old and lumpy, like an old straw one. We eventually found the light switch in the morning - behind the headboard where you had to kneel on the bed and reach around. The bed is big! It must have been moved along the wall as it would be awkward to get in the room with it in place. Breakfast was ok but not the standard once seen. Avoid room 53 if you are going, but after recommending this hotel for years I would not do so again. Good staff who said they would sort the problems out for the next guest, however these are obvious problems that any good hotel would not allow to continue.

Room Tip: Do not take room 53
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelmasterTeesside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    653
    379
    118
    36
    18
See reviews for
135
669
54
109
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

A very comfortable hotel with plenty of style. The room was large and very well appointed. The hotel is situated in a quiet and elegant residential road. Parking is available outside the hotel, but costs £1/hr, so they advise moving your car to an unrestricted road some 15 mins walk away after offloading if you do not intend to use it.
Breakfasts are first rate and the bar is a convivial place and the restaurant food is pretty good. The staff are excellent and tell you that the start of Princes Street is only a 10 min walk, but in reality it is a good 15-20 mins uphill (but relatively gentle) all the way.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

Channings is a small hotel situated just a 20 minute walk from Princes street; this hotel has lots of character, as it is a converted Victorian townhouse. We were 4 hours too early upon arrival, & we had been walking in the rain, so we were soaking; however, the helpful receptionist was very welcoming, & told us that our room was already ready & cleaned! We walked through the beautiful lobby to our room via the small, (but nevertheless useful) lift, which was on the second floor. We were pleasantly surprised, as we had paid so little for our room, however, the room was large, spacious, had a large flat screen TV, & a beautiful bathroom with a bath & shower! There was also a huge bay window looking out onto the city ( a stunning view!) The room was also very warm( even though it was freezing outside) and was spotlessly clean (room 44). The breakfast was wonderful as the food portions were huge, and delicious! The waitresses were pleasant, and prompt. We didn't have time to eat in the restaurant, but it looked very nice, & reasonably priced. The next day, we were again helped by the wonderful receptionist who helped us with (lots of) directions, and even provided us with a map. A wonderful stay at Channings hotel, both for accommodation, pricing, & service. Will be returning!

Room Tip: Room 44 (second floor) amazing! Ask for a room with a view over the city (don't stay in the base...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amjreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
A super review for Channings and I am thrilled to read that these guests will be returning - I only hope the weather will be less inclement next time - see you then!

Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Cumbria,
Level Contributor
282 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

An annual treat in Edinburgh pre school carol service is something we look forward to. Channings was recommended to us as somewhere 'special', situated just off Queensferry Road, in converted townhouses, one of which was the home of polar explorer Shackleton.
We booked in good time, a junior suite, reqesting one of the Shackleton themed rooms. We arrived and checked in, given our keys and carried our luggage to our rather tired dingy basement room. Enough... back to reception to ask for what we booked, we were re-allocated to a Shackleton room, which was nice.
The hotel is however dissapointing, the furnishings and decor are tired and depressing with a rather dusty air, breakfast unimpressive. To us there was nothing special about Channings. In future our treats will be at No 1 Princes Street.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank notshort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
Sorry to read that this guest was less than impressed with one of Junior Suites which are, to my mind, fabulous rooms. but I am glad to learn we were able to accommodate them in one of our Shackleton rooms. Please note, that specific room requests are only requests and cannot always be guaranteed - we will always give priority to guests who book directly with us or through our own website.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruichladdich, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

This has to have been the best hotel experience I've had in the uk. We were actually in the basement, with windows to the back and front. It was extremely quiet, a palatial and superbly comfortable bed, and heating that went off when told to! Breakfast was excellent - my requested peppermint tea arrived in a giant pot with 2 bags, and the "hard" fried eggs I asked for were exactly as ordered. (This should not be rocket science, but it's amazing how difficult chefs find it to leave the egg in the pan long enough!). Two excellent nights occasioned by having to leave our island home early to avoid the storms, but I'll be looking for an excuse for a repeat visit. If I could give it another couple of stars I would!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bron52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We stayed here for a few days and found the staff to be very helpful and the room and food good. We would return again. The receptionist went out of their way to arrange taxis and made us feel very welcome

Room Tip: Our room was on the front and had a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Don N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

My husband I have stayed at the Channings Hotel three times. Our first experience back in 2006 was excellent; our second stay in 2012 would be downgraded from excellent to good. However our third experience with Channings Hotel this December 2013 was so horrible that we will never stay there again.

We had booked a five night stay at Channings Hotel, but unfortunately our train from London on December 5, 2013 was prevented from going further north than York due to exceptionally high winds. We called the Channings to let them know we would not be arriving till December 6 since traveling to Scotland by train was impossible until the following day.

When we arrived at Channings Hotel the following day the receptionist greeted us with a very disapproving tone saying “We have been expecting you.” No “Welcome to Channings Hotel again” or “We are happy you arrived”, instead we received a very snarky greeting. Her attitude seemed to imply that we had somehow inconvenienced them by arriving a day late even though we called well ahead of time to let them know due to weather could not make it to Edinburgh. Besides that, Channings Hotel charged us for the full five day booking so it was hardly an inconvenience to them to have an empty room that was being paid for in full. And to top off a very unpleasant front desk experience the receptionist did not ask us if we needed help with our very large suitcases, nor did she point us to the lift. In the past we were always asked if we needed help with our luggage.

Our experience was so bad that my husband considered moving us to another hotel where we would receive better service. The only reason we did not leave immediately is that we didn’t want to be out of pocket for two hotels during our stay in Edinburgh.

Unfortunately, our third Channings experience continued to sour. We decided to eat dinner at the Channings bar on December 5. We took a seat at an empty table and waited at least 10 minutes for a server. The bar was not busy, only four other tables were occupied and mostly with people drinking, not dining. Finally, my husband asked the bartender if we could have menus. Then it was another 10 minutes before a server arrived to take our drink & dinner order. We ordered an appetizer and chicken sandwich to split. Our food took over 50 minutes to arrive and when it finally appeared the bread on the sandwich was stale and barely edible. Not once did the server come back to check on us or ask us if we wanted another drink. Finally a bus boy stopped by and when we asked for the check he gave us the wrong check.

Breakfast service wasn’t any better. We ate breakfast twice in the hotel dining room. Both times we were the only people in the entire room yet we were not offered coffee or tea refills by the very unfriendly servers. And when we asked for a coffee cup refill they seemed put out by our request.

We travel frequently to the U.K. and pride ourselves on being generous tippers and respectful travelers. It really saddens me that the Channings Hotel service, which used to be outstanding, has gone downhill so quickly. We will find another hotel in Edinburgh for our future travels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Buffy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdinburghCollection, General Manager at Channings Hotel, responded to this review, January 4, 2014
I am shocked to hear we may have got things disastrously wrong with thisguest but rest assured we have launched a through investigation into the points raised and I can gurantee that any valid complaints will be addressed in the strongest manner.
Leon Kiteley
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,806 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,251 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#19 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing