We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay”
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #41 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Everything about this hotel made me want to return with my partner: warm welcome, stylish and comfortable interiors and spotlessly clean. My stay was very comfortable, and if you want a relaxed hotel with lots of character and professionally run then I would recommend this unreservedly.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,326)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

758 - 764 of 1,326 reviews

Reviewed April 25, 2013

As frequent travellers we have stayed in many hotels across the UK and this is a great example of what a hotel represents, friendly, accommodating, clean, location perfect, comfortable surroundings and very helpful in everyway. The bed and pillows made sleeping like a baby easy. The view across the gardens are beautiful, the sound of birds tweeting is charming (not Twitter). Would recommend this hotel to anybody that is visiting Edinburgh on business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2013

The hotel is nice and quiet and furnished to a very high standard with antique furniture. We had a four poster bed which was very spacious and gave a very good night's sleep. Proper sound insulation from outside as well even although we were on the ground floor. The bathroom was large and the bath was more like a swimming pool. A very relaxing hotel about 15 minutes walk from central Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank streviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed here for two nights - very comfortable and well-run hotel in a quiet area of Edinburgh. Handy enough for a walk into the city. Staff are very helpful and efficient, and really make you feel welcome. We had a 'Shackleton suite' - on top floor with a roomy bathroom , very well-appointed. Enjoyed the views across the rooftops. staff at reception deserve special mention for their attention and courtesy.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMScotlandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

My 10-year-old daughter and I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and loved it! This hotel has old-fashioned charm and beauty. Clearly the management knows what staying in a hotel should be like, right down to the "personalized" welcome note we received at our room upon arrival. We loved the decor, curtains, soft bedding, and the over-sized bathroom (biggest I've seen in a hotel in a long time), complete with full-sized bathtub. The hotel is a little bit of walk from the center of town (about 10 minutes or so) and took us a while to find, but its location lends itself to being quieter and away from the city congestion. Every taxi driver knew where it was, so that wasn't a problem. The lobby was very comfortable and even had a chess set (enjoyed by my daughter), and the hotel staff was very helpful with all of our requests. The breakfast buffet was included and had all the usual items - cereals, fruits, toast, and hot meals to order. We were more than pleased and would highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DRBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Stayed here with my 19 year old daughter for two nights just before Easter. Small hotel situated in residential area about 15 minutes walk to Princes Street - we walked it a couple of times but on one of the days we got a bus at the end of the street - daily bus ticket (£3.50 each) which covers unlimited travel on Lothian buses. Room was probably one of the largest we've ever stayed in and the bathroom was massive. Complimentary toiletries gorgeous and breakfast also top class. We ate in the hotel on one of the nights and the food was also wonderful and very reasonable. When we arrived home we realised that my daughter had left her mobile phone charger in the bedroom. When I phoned the hotel they were able to confirm they had it and promptly posted it back to me for a small charge. Would definitely stay here again next time we are in Edinburgh!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jonra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

A well kept secret indeed, five star accommodation and food in my view, and I have stayed in many hotels all over the world good bad and indifferent

Boutique style luxury fluffy towels and comfy beds friendly staff and great food

Highly recommended to all for business or pleasure

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marjsim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,418 reviews
West End
The Bonham Hotel
The Bonham Hotel
#48 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,385 reviews
Old Town
Holyrood apartHOTEL
Holyrood apartHOTEL
#79 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,311 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
New Town
The Howard
The Howard
#12 of 151 in Edinburgh
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#27 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: $87 - $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Priceline, Splitty, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing