We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Channings Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$266
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$280
$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grassmarket Hotel(Edinburgh)
$106
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$89
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$731
$569
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$247
$206
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$178
$168
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$99
$93
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
$147
$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Reviews (1,332)
Filter reviews
1,332 results
Traveler rating
700
432
139
40
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
700
432
139
40
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrea quiet residential arearoll top bathlovely hotelminute walkprinces streetsuperior roomhuge bathroomstreet parkingfull scottish breakfastwest endtop floorbreakfast was deliciousfirst morningbreakfast roomlovely roomhaggis
Filter
Updating list...
791 - 796 of 1,332 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Stayed in a superior room at the front of the hotel and agree with other reviewers that it is worth paying extra or ensuring you get a front facing room for the best views. Having read other reviews we were expecting great things and we were not disappointed. Very comfortable accommodation, superb staff and in the main excellent food. The hotel is some way from the centre of the city but only about a 15 minutes walk. Would we stay again? Absolutely. So why not 5 stars? In our case we had a battle with the toilet in our room ( no. 24) which was not resolved during our stay. Commendably the hotel has signed up to a green initiative limiting their use of water. However this means that the flush in the toilet uses so little water it simply doesn't work. Don't know if other rooms are the same, beware! Also our room had no central light so was pretty dark in the evenings. Restaurant meal was great ( but note that the restaurant is closed on Sunday and Monday) but bar food and breakfast was variable. Some dishes were superb others very average. Despite these niggles we would stay at Channings again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Rooms facing north at the front of the hotel have the best views and you should insist on one of these if planning a stay. The road is very quiet so noise is not a problem.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We recently spent the weekend at the Channings, Edinburgh. Although I had visited Edinburgh many times, I had never been to that area, or heard of the hotel, I was pleasantly surprised by both. The hotel is excellently run, the staff are friendly, the bedroom (Nimrod) spacious and the bathroom huge. A small criticism would be that the floor of the bathroom was too warm.
The bar was nice, reasonably priced (for Edinburgh) and populated by locals - which is always a good sign.
The buffet/cooked Scottish breakfast was excellent, and just the thing you need before exploring Edinburgh. Incidentally, the black pudding was THE best I've ever had!!
Just a word of warning!! If you take afternoon tea, don't book a table for dinner until much later as it it is excellently varied and filling.
The hotel is situated in a quiet and residential area and is only a ten minute walk from the the main Edinburgh tourist attractions. Unfortunately, there are few local pubs or eateries that are within less than five minutes walk. So unless the weather is fine, or you are particularly inclined to venture elsewhere, the hotel is your local refuge.
However, that should not detract from the hotel and what it provides. We will definitely be back!!

Room Tip: If possible, get a room facing over the gardens at the front of the hotel.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights with friends at the end of a golfing/sightseeing vacation. It is in a very nice, quiet part of Edinburgh but because of this, it was not within walking distance to anyplace we wanted to go. The rooms were stylish and very clean. The staff was helpful but not particularly friendly. In the middle of our second night the fire alarm went off twice. Both times we had to evacuate into the street in our pajamas, grabbing our passports and other important belongings. While it wasn't the fault of the hotel staff, it would have been nice to have received an apology the next morning. The little bar downstairs was very Edinburgh-like. It was one of our favorite parts of our stay. We would stay here again if the location was close to the tourist areas. We will be back in Edinburgh with our kids this summer and have chosen to stay closer to the old part of the city. If you don't care about being a little removed from the Royal Mile area, then I would definitely recommend this hotel with hopes of no fire alarm issues.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveljunkies87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Went here as part of Christmas present,it was definitely Downton Abbeyesque - classy, clean and very comfortable. Staff were very nice. Dinner and breakfast were very good, a bit more choice for vegetarians might be an idea. Loved the homely lounge areas.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedgelopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Good stuff:
- Located in a quiet residential area, like staying in a private home
- The furniture is Downton Abbey-style
- I borrowed an adapter for charging my phone for free
- Over-friendly staff

Not so good stuff:
- My shower took ages to get hot
-The breakfast was OK, but not fantastic (maybe because I stayed there Saturday-Sunday?)
- No minibar

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mynameispaprika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews