We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Service, location and atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Channings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Channings Hotel
Ranked #36 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica, Ca.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Service, location and atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2012

Channing's is a full service hotel just outside of the centre of Edinburgh.
At first I thought it would feel isolated but when I saw all the road works construction in town I was relieved to be in a quiet residential area.
The service was lovely. I called the hotel prior to arrival and spoke with Jamie who answered all my questions. When we arrived we were greeted warmly and shown to our room.
The hotel feels more like a guest house with rooms off the main foyer and upstairs. There's a lovely back garden and dining room. The room we had was #4 just off the foyer. It was simple but comfortable for two guys to share. The bathroom was quite large with separate tub and shower. Bed was pretty solid with nice pillows and down duvet.
We took taxis and walked to and from the New and Old Town areas. Luckily the weather was nice for our 3day visit so we did lots of walking. Channing's is also a stones throw from the Botanical gardens which is a nice visit.
The staff was great. Jamie was not only easy on the eye but, helped us plan every aspect of our visit from taxi and restaurant bookings to sight seeing. He couldn't have been more helpful.
The breakfast was included and was very nice. There were buffet items as well as made to order..
The salt porridge was particularly satisfying.. Not much of a meat eater but the pork sausage and bacon plates looked very hearty. They also had a vegetarian version of the traditional breakfast.
The common areas were very well appointed and comfortable..the only negative was a technical aspect. The wifi was very inconsistent. But when you consider how solid they built walls back in the day it's easy to see why a wireless system would have isues. Our connection worked best in the washroom for some reason.

Room Tip: If you book with a travel web site.. Take a moment to call the hotel and ask for a room looking out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ramondodelmundo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,087 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    343
    109
    34
    18
See reviews for
120
589
53
103
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sudbury, Suffolk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

A tranquil location but minutes away from central Edinburgh, the staff were supremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble at any time of day or night.

We were a party of four staying for two nights to attend a wedding at the Botanical Garden - we couldn't have booked a more lovely hotel - the rooms were beautifully clean and had charming bathrooms with proper "lie in and wallow" baths and a powerful shower.

We had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed our full scottish breakfasts, we recommend this Hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Samantha N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2012

My fourth visit and just as good now as four years ago. This time I arrived very late due to delayed flights, but the night porter was lovely and showed me to my room...a gorgeous big double on the ground floor with huge bed, 2 wonderful armchairs, tv, terrific bathroom. I slept like a log.

Breakfast on both mornings was substantial and served fresh to order. The buffet section is great; cereals, fruit, baked goods, cheese and cold cuts. Or you can order cooked items from the excellent menu. I had the full Scottish on both days and it was superb. Really set me up for the day, then re-invigorated me the next day after my marathon!

Channings is in a row of Victorian terraced houses, which have been joined together in a very sympathetic manner. The main building was once the home of the great explorer/adventurer Ernest Shackleton and there are historical notes all over. It feels very much like a country house in the city and you are a valued guest, who just happens to be paying a bill at the end.

It's a short walk into the city centre, far enough that you are away from the bustle but close enough to reach everything.

I thoroughly recommend this lovely friendly hotel and will definitely be back next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Best VFM hotel I have stayed in for a long time. Friendly and helpful staff, within 10 minutes walk from the city centre, but set in a very tranquil and classy neighbourhood. Breakfast was also very nice and the staff were friendly and professional. Next time my girlfriend and I are in town, no other hotel will be taken into consideration!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EcosseGlobetrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

In our six weeks of travel in Europe, this was be far and away our best experience with hotels. We stayed there for three days in June 2012. They really pulled out all the stops to make it a pleasant experience. First the place is lovely, some rooms on the smallish side but all tastefully decorated and clean, plus several (three to four) public rooms on the first floor for customers to enjoy. The staff are very attentive - the concierge went out of his way to sit down and give us lots of his time to make sure we hit the best sites in town and the staff at the reception desk were always welcoming and helpful - even when we had inconvenient schedule changes. We had booked two consecutive nights but later decided we wanted one night there, one night somewhere else (so we could go on a tour) and then another night at Channings. Many hotels would have made this difficult but it was no problem with the Channing staff. When we returned for our last night, they had even given us an upgrade to a better room at no additional charge. Plus they had moved our luggage into the new room and placed our laundry (which we had sent out) in the closet. The view of the Edinburgh Castle was extraordinary. Though the hotel wasn't all that close to downtown Edinburg sites, it was still accessible by bus and taxi and walking (if you're up for a 30 minute to one hour walk). I would unequivocably recommend this hotel to anyone travelling in the Edinburgh area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ClearVoice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EDINBURGH
Level Contributor
159 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2012

We eat here on Sunday we had the sunder lunch meal very nice three course meal great food presentation and friendly service.

Would we go back yes.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iain R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

we stayed at the excellent channings hotel for a three night stay, we arrived a little early,but the friendly staff made us welcome, we were given an upgraded room so we ended up on the top floor in a suite (number 66) which was fantastic in size and comfort, the view from the window was beautiful, the walk into the city takes about fifteen minutes which is handy to walk off the large breakfast you are given cannot praise this hotel enough.

Room Tip: room 66 large and well laid out
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank saun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#12 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#39 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,674 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#19 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kildonan Lodge Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#32 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channings Hotel

Property: Channings Hotel
Address: 12-16 South Learmonth Gardens, Edinburgh EH4 1EZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#15 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Channings Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Channings in Edinburgh is an informal, relaxed hotel with a very friendly approach. It occupies five Edwardian townhouses in Stockbridge, one of Edinburgh's most popular 'urban villages'. Channings is a wonderfully quirky property which feels a bit like a Scottish country home, full of charming Victorian paintings, prints, books, furniture and memorabilia reflecting the history of previous tenant Sir Ernest Shackleton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Channings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Channings Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing