We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Steilacoom,WA
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Only one night”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2007

I had to reassure my husband as we approached the Knight
Residence by taxi from the train station. The neighborhood looks a bit suspect, but other reviews had cautioned about being put off. They were right. We were on foot our entire stay and never felt unsafe. This place is indeed ideal. The spacious apts are a nice change. The washer/dryer was great, but it does take awhile to get things dry. The guys at the desk are wonderfully helpful. It was an easy walk to everything.

We were sorry this was only for one night!

  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank patio53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,070
    120
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
565
285
19
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2007

Myself and my boyfriend went over for the last Harry Potter book. When we got to Edinburgh we got a bus to the town and then a taxi straight to the Knights Residence. Met the concierge who gave us a tour of our apartment. He was a lovely man and extremely helpful. When he left we were looking at everything and we couldnt find fault with anything. Even in the kitchen there was a welcome basket of food. Milk, cereal, coffee, tea, bread, orange juice, biscuits etc. Everything you could want for breakfast and snacks during the day. The apartment comes with DVD player, video player, TV and radio which is piped through to the bathroom so you can listen to relaxing music while in the bath. There is a DVD library collection on the ground floor of the building and you can take any movie you want to watch. The apartment is excellently located. The castle you can see from the apartment window (well we could from our one). At night when the castle was lit up its looked amazing and quite magical. The place was spotless. Downstairs there was a coffee/tea/hot chocolate making machine. We didnt want for anything whilst we stayed there and the temptation to go back soon is nearly too much. A definite thumbs up for this place and to the staff that worked there.

  • Liked — The location, the staff and the welcome basket was a lovely touch.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Specialk-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darenth, Kent
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2007

WOW. After bad holiday experiences worldwide - this has restored my confidence in a good stay.
Brilliant helpful staff, beautifully designed, modern, comfortable and luxurious apartment - huge too! Great for kids and conveniently located. What a gem.

  • Liked — Completely stress free - nothing was a problem at all
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank TheBourneResidence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
171 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2007

We visited Edinburgh Scotland in August 2007 and stayed at The Knight Residence. This place is a great value for the money. The apartments are brand new with beautiful kitchens. The best part is you are just a couple of blocks from Edinburgh Castle. All the sites in Edinburgh are within walking distance from the hotel. There are also two grocery stores about a block away. They provide a welcome breakfast basket with everything you will need for breakfast on your first morning. Free parking is also provided which is a real plus in the city. Their web site has driving directions if you rent a car at the airport like we did. This was the best value we experienced during our two weeks of travel throughout Scotland. Every other place we stayed at cost twice what we paid here. I highly recommend this as a place to stay while visiting Edinburgh. Lastly, the two guys that work at the front desk were WONDERFUL. They are there to help you all the time and do their best to provide you with any information you might need on how to drive somewhere.

  • Liked — Location, size and having a kitchen
  • Disliked — Bathroom-but it was the best we experienced in Scotland
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Ana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2007

I spent a weekend at the Knight Residence with my wife and parents and loved it. It allowed the 4 of us to spend more time together as we had a superior 2 bedroom room. I had chosen the hotel on the basis of the tripadvisor reviews...and they were all true. Service was excellent and polite. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the location was great. Management has put in a lot of thought of making your stay comfortable (movies, CDs, menus, even got a welcome food basket with bread, milk, cereals, biscuits etc). The bathroom door creaked but was fixed immediately after we notified them. If I had to be super critical, the only thing I would change was the tap in the bathroom - hot and cold water came out of two different nozzles which wasnt ideal (the shower was excellent though). Overall, definitely enjoyed our time there and would highly recommend it as they deserve it. On a side note would recommend David Bann for dinner (my mum is veg) and Spoon for lunch.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank SuperDosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2007

What a great place to stay on holiday! My wife, 1 year old daughter and I stayed in the Knight residence for three nights in late July 07. Where to start? The friendliness and professionalism of the staff is second to none. They are clearly used to operating to a very high standard.

On arrival, we were given a key fob to gain access to the secure car park. Our apartment was on the fourth floor facing the street. The view of the castle is spectacular (with the added bonus of fireworks in preparation for the military tattoo). All the rooms were clean, with our pre-ordered shopping from Tesco already in the refrigerator for us. The bedroom had a cot assembled for our daughter with a little teddy and gift pack for her. The apartment is excellent when you have young kids as they can go to bed early in the bedroom while the adults have the main room to relax in. There is plenty of room for kids to explore and play. The soundproofing between apartments must be pretty good because there were other kids on our floor and we never heard them.

The welcome pack provides cereals, bread, biscuits and milk. It easily lasted us up to departure. The kitchen has everything you could need (especially with a small child): refrigirator, dishwasher, washing machine/dryer, kettle, toaster, electric oven and microwave. The apartment was serviced daily and was always in immaculate condition when we returned. There is a widescreen TV with satellite and DVD player in the living room. There is a large and up to date collection of DVDs for rental at reception for £2. We watched Casino Royale so the selection is being updated regularly.

The apartments are in a great location with Prince's Street about 10 minutes walk away. I would definitely recommend exploring Edinburgh by foot as much as possible as the streets can be a bit confusing unless you have sat nav. As for the strip clubs nearby, there were two quite close to the apartments but caused us no concerns. In the three nights we were there, we did not see or hear any trouble outside the clubs. There are security staff at the doors of the clubs and the outsides of the clubs are fairly discreet. It would be crazy to let something as inoccuous as this put you off the Knight Residence.

The only negative we encountered in our stay was when we drove to Edinburgh Zoo and returned to find our parking spot gone. A contractor had parked there while doing some work in the building. Once we brought it to the attention of the concierge, the van was quickly moved. It was a minor inconvenience and took nothing away from our fantastic stay. Well worth the money!

  • Liked — The feeling of having your own space rather than just a room in a hotel.
  • Disliked — No ramp for pushchair at front door.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Meally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2007

Wonderful location in the city. The service is exceptional and the rooms are clean and modern. I felt very comfortable there. We had a wonderful view of Edinburgh Castle (soon to disappear from sight with the building going up next door). Close to grocery stores and Starbucks. Local artists displaying their work in the facility (available for sale) is a nice touch.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank saunderspl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 215 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing