We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights for a "girls" weekend. The accommodation was ideal (we had two apartments between 6 of us). Ideal for shopping and near good restaurants. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Well stocked kitchen, with a "starter pack" of bread, milk, cereals, butter, biscuits, coffee, tea and juice. Comfortable beds. Only criticism is that some of the wall paper had been peeled off. However, the apartment was clean, modern and comfortable. This was our second stay here and we would recommend it, especially for families.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barbara J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank you Barbara, we really appreciate that you stayed with us again and took the trouble to write a review. I'm sorry about the torn wallpaper - we do try to repair damage as it occurs but this is not always possible.

We truly appreciate you awarding us five stars.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,338)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 855 of 1,338 reviews

Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

Almost excellent in every way.

To be ultra critical - there were a few creaky floorboards in our apartment and the one above and the wallpaper was pealing slightly in a couple of places. But that's all!

Chris on the front desk was amazingly friendly and helpful.

Great location.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Daveooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KnightResidence, General Manager at The Knight Residence by Mansley, responded to this reviewResponded November 22, 2013

Thank for both your custom and your review. I agree, Chris is a wonderful asset as are all the front desk team. We've got a team of decorators booked in January and will address the torn wallpaper. Thanks for letting us know about the floorboards, we will do our best to address that.

Thanks again for your five star review - it is much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We staying just for one night in Edinburgh but to keep the costs down for a party of 4, we chose The Knight Residence.
The Apartment is clean, modern, very well equipped and everything you need for a stay and breakfast too. I was impressed.
The staff were very friendly and could not do more, I would not hesitate to recommend or to return. It is located in a very convenient spot, close to the Grassmarket, Castle, Royal Mile etc and also provides secure parking at a very reasonable fee.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerCmg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

I am a frequent business and leisure travel. I was staying in Edinburgh for two nights on business and decided to stay at the Knight Residence for proximity to the client site and price. I have stayed in many serviced apartments before primarily in London so am able to do a comparison between those and also if staying in a hotel. I was extremely impressed (no small feat) with the service at The Knight Residence, the staff here are a real asset to the company and should be commended, they are friendly, engaged and what to help. The apartment (City 1 Bed) was excellent, very good standard and amenities. A note I will add is the welcome basket of breakfast/bread etc., was excellent and better than other serviced accommodations I have stayed in. I also really appreciated the DVD library and CD collection in the apartment this added to my stay as I worked late into the night listening to some good music. Would recommend the Knight Residence without hesitation and would stay again. A point to note though it is situated near some strip type bars, I am a single female travelling alone and in no way was this intimidating or vulgar, certainly not on the scale of Soho for example, more like a couple and the area itself is perfect for getting around Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicola444_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We stayed here for a two night Fringe stay in August. Extremely easy check-in (and out!) and great service. Clean, modern and bright one bedroom apartment with all the amenities you need. The Welcome Basket was very much welcomed and contained more than enough for daily breakfast and late night snacks for two hungry Fringe-goers!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back or above the ground floor - can be noisy late at night due to clubs/bars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShonzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We booked this stay (as part of our honeymoon UK trip) through Orbitz so I wasn't aware that the "room" was a full suite apartment! Such a pleasant surprise for the price given it's location to the Royal Mile and many fantastic restaurants! The staff were also wonderful and very helpful in coordinating receiving our luggage, which arrived a day late from the airline. Overall a very wonderful stay. The apartment included a complimentary breakfast basket, which included coffee and dry breakfast options, as well as complementary single use packets for the clothes washer/dryer and dishwasher. The royal mile was just up the hill and we were just around the corner from the Grassmarket strip with tons of great pubs, restaurants, and cafes. We really enjoyed the Fiddlers Arms and Mussel & Steak. Highly highly recommended. We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fancybread35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The Knight Residence offer fantastic apartments with great facilities. The apartments are comfortable with excellent amenities. The kitchen is fully stocked with all necessary equipment, including a welcoming basket of cereals, jams, porridge etc which is great.

We were welcomed by a chap called Christopher who was very, very helpful and very friendly. He had excellent local knowledge and recommended so good places to eat and visit.

It's hard to fault the apartments, though the only thing I would say, if I was being critical, is that its location is not perfect. It is located near to a few strip clubs, though i have to say it never bothered us once as a couple and there were never people being loud or hanging around outside drinking. The other hotels in Edinburgh are more central like Missoni, Balmoral, Caledonian. However, in reality Edinburgh's centre is incredibly easy to walk across so it really isn't an issue unless you have difficulty walking or are simply lazy.

I would wholeheartedly recommend staying here and it is extremely likely that we will return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TheRossman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,067 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Old Town
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 218 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: $122 - $376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing