We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base in Edinburgh”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Knight Residence by Mansley
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
1,106 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,648 helpful votes
“Great base in Edinburgh”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and and I and another couple stayed 3 nights at The Knights Residence and found it to be a great base when in Edinburgh. The apartment is in a great position in the city you can walk to the castle, Grassmarket, Princess & Rose streets as well as shops and many restaurants.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and gave plenty of advice on what to do and the many restaurants in the area. The apartments are staffed from 7am until 11pm.
We were in unit 19 on the 5th floor which was quieter as there is night clubs in the area but it was also hot as there is no air conditioning. There is a lift in these apartments.
This was a 2 bedroom unit, very clean and airy with tasteful decor.
The fully equipped kitchen also has a washer and dryer with detergent supplied.
There was a large breakfast welcome pack in the kitchen which included bread, cereal, margarine milk etc.
The bathroom was very clean and a good size with toiletries and a hair dryer supplied. the toilet is in the bathroom.
The bedrooms are compact with basic decor and the beds were comfortable.
The Knight Residence a great place to stay when in Edinburgh.

Room Tip: The rooms on the upper floors are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindakthomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,100
    125
    16
    8
    3
See reviews for
584
292
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We were traveling with small children, and this was an excellent apartment for us. The apartments were large and well-furnished, comfortable temperatures, and private. With its location in Old Town, I was surprised that the building was of new construction with modern utilities. The location was excellent for all sights in Edinburgh. The most extraordinary part was the service. They made every effort to make us feel welcome. We interacted with several members of their staff and all shared that attitude. Kudos to the staff!

This was our most expensive stay on our trip, but was very worth the cost.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

This was the first time we had stayed at a "serviced apartment", and we loved it! We had been driving all around England and Scotland for the past two and a half weeks, staying mostly in four and five star hotels and B&Bs, and we can honestly say that this was one of the best places we stayed. The rooms are large and very clean and comfortable. The amenities that are provided are wonderful and you can tell that someone put a lot of thought into what a customer would need. The kitchen was well stocked and the washer and dryer were very much appreciated. We had another planned on cooking, but we ended up eating in a couple of times when we didn't feel like going to a restaurant. The supermarket around the corner was soooo convenient! The parking is easy and affordable- especially for being right

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank LEA50808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We loved the location of this hotel. We parked our car and walked everywhere. I was also able to get in 5 mile runs around the city. The manager, Chris who was there when we checked in was great. He told us some great sites to see and recommended a few restaurants. The ones we went to were great. We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a washer Dryer in the kitchen. They had a welcome basket with great snacks and breakfast food, there was also bread, milk and juice in our room. Nothing fancy, but great when you are with kids. The furniture was a little dorm like, but comfortable. For the money and location I highly recommend The Knights Residence. My only complaint is they have many different Wifi channels and they change so you have to log on a lot. I think there are 8.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofia X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

The Knight Residence is an ideal place for those who like to be on their own and undisturbed whilst traveling.
We stayed in this hotel for four nights right in the end of August - beginning of September.
Location
The hotel is within the walking distance from Edinborough castle and other major places of interest. If you do not like walking, then Edinburough buses will help. Two stop right outside the hotel. The location is pretty quiet although there are two strip bars next door. We'll, it can be regarded as an advantage. In terms of noise - we were not disturbed during our stay. Only on Friday night strip bar public got noisy but we were so tired that barely noticed it whilst falling asleep. There is a grocery store across the street where we conveniently bought all our provisions
Rooms
We had a comfort room and the room was fitted like a modern apartment, so everything we needed was there. All equipment is kept clean and in order, the rooms are clean.
Service
The staff is very polite and helpful. All our requests were answered.
To draw a line under this review: excellent location, reasonable price, good rooms, good service, and nice and polite staff. We will stay here again when we travel to Edinborough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexey Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

The Knights Residence is not only walking distance to everything, it is a well priced quality stay.

We stayed in the lower floor, 1 bedroom apartment that offered not only a well equipped kitchen, but also a lounge/dining, separate bathroom and bedroom with a little office area.

We were greeted warmly, given very thorough directions on how to access the building (after hours), how to get to the secure parking section and also the closest places to buy groceries if we wished to cook our meal in the kitchen. (Which we did)

The receptionist also carried some of our luggage and gave us a very detailed walk through of our apartment, which was appreciated, and showed us how to use some of the appliances. She was lovely, caring and very attentive to our needs and is an asset to the hotel.

Bedroom - Large comfortable bed, clean and fresh linen. Soft goose/duck down pillows. Large cupboard space with plenty of hanging and shelving. The bedroom also boasts a TV and a small office section.

Bathroom - Huge shower and bath, fantastic shower head but the hot water takes a bit of time coming in, so you are aware of all the water wastage while waiting. Nice toilet and toilet paper. Plenty of eco bath essentials and lovely soft, towels and hand towels.

Kitchen - Fully equipped with fridge, stove, dish washer, washing machine, sink, the works. No need to eat out. Continental breakfast provided as well (Bread, cereals, jams/honey, tea/coffee and milk/butter)

Lounge/Dining - nice, comfortable lounge facing a very large TV. Coffee table and dining table.

On the whole the apartment is of the highest quality. Lovely, modern furniture, comfortable seating and lounge and green aware.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and wished that we could have stayed longer than 1 night. (Maybe next time)

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom comfort apartment in September. The apartment had everything we needed for our 6 night stay. The two bedrooms - one queen and one king (or two twins) - each had a TV, clock, hairdryer and robes. The lounge had two sofas and additional seating along with a TV and CD/DVD players. CD's were in the apartment. DVD's and books were located by reception. The kitchen had absolutely everything you needed to cook a meal or just a snack. It came with a welcome basket including crackers, biscuits, bread, jellies, butter, various cereals, coffee, tea, hot chocolate, juices, milk and more!

The apartment is located in Old Town near the Grassmarket, which has several restaurants, and near all the Old Town sites. The building is a more modern building, so not an older, historic building. The building is also a little off the beaten path in a somewhat "tired" neighborhood. (There were a few "show" bars nearby.) The building was quite secure, and there was no noise.

The entire staff, especially Kevin, was superb. They were helpful and informative. They gave us several suggestions about where to eat, the sites, and various tours. They took care of several bookings for us.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for extended stays.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank somuchtoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
933 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,821 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
West End
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
Sheraton Grand Hotel & Spa
#15 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Knight Residence by Mansley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Knight Residence by Mansley

Property: The Knight Residence by Mansley
Address: 12 Lauriston Street, Edinburgh EH3 9DJ, Scotland (Formerly The Knight Residence Edinburgh by Mansley Serviced Apartments)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 204 Specialty Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Knight Residence by Mansley 5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award winning one, two and three bedroom serviced apartments with private parking in the centre of Edinburgh. Established in the 1960's, Mansley were pioneers of the serviced apartment concept and The Knight Residence has been providing the best of Scottish hospitality to visitors from all over the globe since 1999. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Knight Residence by Mansley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Knight Residence Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Knight Residence
Knight Residence
The Knight Residence By Mansley Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing